Audible Library

on

Hello everyone! The other day I bought quite a few audiobooks and now that I have quite a few books I thought I would share what I have with you!


AngelboundScala & Acca by Christina Bauer

Screen Shot 2017-08-08 at 12.12.15

The only problem with having more than two books in a series is I can’t do my normal formatting because 3 pictures together can’t be taken out of the centre position! Oh well. These are the first 3 books in the Angelbound Origins series, which is a YA Fantasy series. I received all three of these books as audiobook review copies courtesy of YA Bound Book Tours and the author. You can find my review for the first book here and I have reviews coming for the second and third books later this month.

I gave all three of these books 4 stars and I really enjoy the story. There is a good romance and the actual plot line is really engaging. I believe there will be 6 books in this series and often I find that 6-book series tend to feel stretched out, but I am still liking this series enough after 3 books to continue with the others even though I will have to buy them.

Eighteen year old Myla Lewis is a girl who loves two things: kicking ass and kicking ass. She’s not your every day quasi-demon, half-demon and half-human, girl. For the past five years, Myla has lived for the days she gets to fight in Purgatory’s arena. When souls want a trial by combat for their right to enter heaven or hell, they go up against her, and she hasn’t lost a battle yet.

But as she starts her senior year at Purgatory High, the arena fights aren’t enough to keep her spirits up anymore. When the demons start to act weird, even for demons, and the King of the Demons, Armageddon, shows up at Myla’s school, she knows that things are changing and it’s not looking good for the quasi-demons. Myla starts to question everything, and doesn’t like the answers she finds. What happened seventeen years ago that turned the quasi-demons into slave labor? Why was her mom always so sad? And why won’t anyone tell her who her father is?

Things heat up when Myla meets Lincoln, the High Prince of the Thrax, a super sexy half-human and half-angel demon hunter. But what’s a quasi-demon girl to do when she falls for a demon hunter? It’s a good thing that Myla’s not afraid of breaking a few rules. With a love worth fighting for, Myla’s going to shake up Purgatory.


IMG_3340Twelve Kings by Bradley Beaulieu

This is the first books in the Song of the Shattered Sands series, which is an Adult Fantasy series. I have yet to read this book. I own the paperback edition as well and I read the first 50 pages, but it’s rather dense so it was taking quite awhile and I ended up putting it down, so I think I’m going to try to listen to the audiobook, as that might go more smoothly.

Sharakhai, the great city of the desert, center of commerce and culture, has been ruled from time immemorial by twelve kings—cruel, ruthless, powerful, and immortal. With their army of Silver Spears, their elite company of Blade Maidens, and their holy defenders, the terrifying asirim, the Kings uphold their positions as undisputed, invincible lords of the desert. There is no hope of freedom for any under their rule.

Or so it seems, until Çeda, a brave young woman from the west end slums, defies the Kings’ laws by going outside on the holy night of Beht Zha’ir. What she learns that night sets her on a path that winds through both the terrible truths of the Kings’ mysterious history and the hidden riddles of her own heritage. Together, these secrets could finally break the iron grip of the Kings’ power…if the nigh-omnipotent Kings don’t find her first.


 IMG_3341Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

his is a book that I have technically refunded because I ended up reading the majority of the book (like all but 50 pages) as a paperback, but as I had it downloaded on my phone I still have it so I am including it on here.

This is the first book in the Dark Artifices series, which comes a few years after the Mortal Instruments series in the Shadowhunters world. This is a YA Fantasy. I ended up really enjoying this book when I read it and found myself surprised to give it 5 stars. It was iffy at the beginning as to whether I would like it as there is a fair amount of relationship drama as Cassandra Clare is fond of including in her books (which I am not a fan of) but so far it hasn’t been too much for me and I hope that in the sequel it does not develop to become a problem.

In a secret world where half-angel warriors are sworn to fight demons, parabatai is a sacred word.

parabatai is your partner in battle. A parabatai is your best friend. Parabatai can be everything to each other—but they can never fall in love.

Emma Carstairs is a warrior, a Shadowhunter, and the best in her generation. She lives for battle. Shoulder to shoulder with her parabatai, Julian Blackthorn, she patrols the streets of Los Angeles, where vampires party on the Sunset Strip, and faeries—the most powerful of supernatural creatures—teeter on the edge of open war with Shadowhunters. When the bodies of humans and faeries turn up murdered in the same way Emma’s parents were when she was a child, an uneasy alliance is formed. This is Emma’s chance for revenge—and Julian’s chance to get back his brother Mark, who is being held prisoner by the faerie Courts. All Emma, Mark, and Julian have to do is solve the murders within two weeks…and before the murderer targets them.

Their search takes Emma from sea caves full of sorcery to a dark lottery where death is dispensed. And each clue she unravels uncovers more secrets. What has Julian been hiding from her all these years? Why does Shadowhunter Law forbid parabatai to fall in love? Who really killed her parents—and can she bear to know the truth?

 


 IMG_3343Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

This is another book which I ended up returning because I mostly read the physical copy, but I still have it on my phone.

This is the first book in the Nevernight series and the second book, Godsgrave, comes out soon. This is a New Adult Fantasy. I really loved this book and gave it 5 stars and I actually got my bookish IRL friend (Omera) to read it as well. She really enjoyed it too, although she agreed with me that the pace is quite slow because of the writing style.

In a land where three suns almost never set, a fledgling killer joins a school of assassins, seeking vengeance against the powers who destroyed her family.

Daughter of an executed traitor, Mia Corvere is barely able to escape her father’s failed rebellion with her life. Alone and friendless, she hides in a city built from the bones of a dead god, hunted by the Senate and her father’s former comrades. But her gift for speaking with the shadows leads her to the door of a retired killer, and a future she never imagined.

Now, Mia is apprenticed to the deadliest flock of assassins in the entire Republic—the Red Church. If she bests her fellow students in contests of steel, poison and the subtle arts, she’ll be inducted among the Blades of the Lady of Blessed Murder, and one step closer to the vengeance she desires. But a killer is loose within the Church’s halls, the bloody secrets of Mia’s past return to haunt her, and a plot to bring down the entire congregation is unfolding in the shadows she so loves.

Will she even survive to initiation, let alone have her revenge?


IMG_3344The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee

This is a YA historical fiction novel which basically everyone was listening to during the BookTube-a-thon and I had to wait until I got some credits to get it. It’s supposed to be absolutely hilarious so I’m really looking forward to reading it. I really like the voice of the narrator as well.

I originally thought this looked interesting, read the synopsis and thought there might be too much drama, but everyone reading it and raving about it made me think I would probably really enjoy it so I ended up getting it.

Henry “Monty” Montague was born and bred to be a gentleman, but he was never one to be tamed. The finest boarding schools in England and the constant disapproval of his father haven’t been able to curb any of his roguish passions—not for gambling halls, late nights spent with a bottle of spirits, or waking up in the arms of women or men.

But as Monty embarks on his Grand Tour of Europe, his quest for a life filled with pleasure and vice is in danger of coming to an end. Not only does his father expect him to take over the family’s estate upon his return, but Monty is also nursing an impossible crush on his best friend and traveling companion, Percy.

Still it isn’t in Monty’s nature to give up. Even with his younger sister, Felicity, in tow, he vows to make this yearlong escapade one last hedonistic hurrah and flirt with Percy from Paris to Rome. But when one of Monty’s reckless decisions turns their trip abroad into a harrowing manhunt that spans across Europe, it calls into question everything he knows, including his relationship with the boy he adores.


IMG_3345A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

This is the second book in the ACOTAR series, which is a NA Fantasy series. The first book in the series is A Court of Thorns and Roses. This is a New Adult Fantasy novel.

This was my first ever audiobook on audible and I bought it when I wasn’t feeling well and wanted to reread this book whilst I felt very worn down and tired. I really enjoyed listening to it, although listening to the sex scenes was a little awkward and not something I am in a hurry to repeat, but it was still very much enjoyable and of course I love this story and gave it 5 stars.

Feyre’s survival rests upon her ability to hunt and kill – the forest where she lives is a cold, bleak place in the long winter months. So when she spots a deer in the forest being pursued by a wolf, she cannot resist fighting it for the flesh. But to do so, she must kill the predator and killing something so precious comes at a price …

Dragged to a magical kingdom for the murder of a faerie, Feyre discovers that her captor, his face obscured by a jewelled mask, is hiding far more than his piercing green eyes would suggest. Feyre’s presence at the court is closely guarded, and as she begins to learn why, her feelings for him turn from hostility to passion and the faerie lands become an even more dangerous place. Feyre must fight to break an ancient curse, or she will lose him forever.


 IMG_3346Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco

I started listening to the sample of this because I’d heard Sasha from abookutopia raving about it so much recently, but I didn’t really have any intentions of getting it. I ended up being so intrigued by the sample that I just had to get it, so I really hope that I end up enjoying it as it’s not the kind of thing I read very often. This is a YA Historical Fiction novel.

Seventeen-year-old Audrey Rose Wadsworth was born a lord’s daughter, with a life of wealth and privilege stretched out before her. But between the social teas and silk dress fittings, she leads a forbidden secret life.

Against her stern father’s wishes and society’s expectations, Audrey often slips away to her uncle’s laboratory to study the gruesome practice of forensic medicine. When her work on a string of savagely killed corpses drags Audrey into the investigation of a serial murderer, her search for answers brings her close to her own sheltered world.


 Screen Shot 2017-08-08 at 12.12.00Every Heart a Doorway Down Among the Sticks and Bones by Seanan McGuire 

These are the first two books in the Wayward Children series, which is a YA fantasy series with a kind of magical realism feeling.

I have read the first book, but not the second. The first one can be read as a standalone, but the others really should be read after the first one. I absolutely loved the first book and gave it 5 stars, so I’m hoping I like the rest of the series as well.

Eleanor West’s Home for Wayward Children
No Solicitations
No Visitors
No Quests

Children have always disappeared under the right conditions; slipping through the shadows under a bed or at the back of a wardrobe, tumbling down rabbit holes and into old wells, and emerging somewhere… else.

But magical lands have little need for used-up miracle children.

Nancy tumbled once, but now she’s back. The things she’s experienced… they change a person. The children under Miss West’s care understand all too well. And each of them is seeking a way back to their own fantasy world.

But Nancy’s arrival marks a change at the Home. There’s a darkness just around each corner, and when tragedy strikes, it’s up to Nancy and her new-found schoolmates to get to the heart of the matter.

No matter the cost.


IMG_3349Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

This is definitely a well-known book. The first time I read this book I read it as a physical copy, but I decided that I wanted to reread it as an audiobook, so that’s what I am doing at the moment. This is a YA Fantasy novel.

Simon Snow is the worst Chosen One who’s ever been chosen.

That’s what his roommate, Baz, says. And Baz might be evil and a vampire and a complete git, but he’s probably right.

Half the time, Simon can’t even make his wand work, and the other half, he starts something on fire. His mentor’s avoiding him, his girlfriend broke up with him, and there’s a magic-eating monster running around, wearing Simon’s face. Baz would be having a field day with all this, if he were here — it’s their last year at the Watford School of Magicks, and Simon’s infuriating nemesis didn’t even bother to show up.


Do you have any recommendations for particular excellent audiobooks? Do you prefer audiobooks or regular books? Happy listening, Keira x.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Nel says:

    Twelve Kings and Nevernight look super interesting. I might have to add those to my TBR. I prefer physical and ebooks to audiobooks. I have a problem with there being a disconnect in what the narrators sound like and what I imagined in my head, lol. I tried an audiobook once and it just didn’t take.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Nevernight was really good, although it is quite slow going. I definitely recommend it! I tend to prefer physical books/ebooks too, but I use audiobooks to give myself a bit of a break. I can’t easily reread favourites using them though, because I definitely agree with the difference between the narrator and what I imagined. I’m also really picky and I will only buy an audiobook if I liked the narrator’s voice in the audio sample.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

