Laughter is the best medicine | Book Recs

Hello everyone! Today I thought I would recommend a few books that are guaranteed to make you laugh, or if not laugh at least smile enough to hurt! I’ve tried to do one from each of the main genres that I read, but I couldn’t include one for Historical Fiction, even though it was a Historical Fiction book which inspired this post! Everybody is raving about The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue and I am waiting for my audible credit to come in on the 11th of the month so that I don’t have to pay £25 to listen to it. I don’t think I’ve ever read a funny Historical Fiction book and one has never gotten this popular before, so I hope I’m going to love it. In any case, here are a few recommendations! I have done by best to include a variety of types of book as well as target audiences.


When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

28458598This is a YA contemporary novel which is quite popular at the moment in the blogger verse, but I really wanted to include it anyway because out of all of the contemporary books on my shelves, this one really made me smile. A lot. I tend to prefer reading desperately sad or at least melancholy contemporary books, but this was not that. I did a review about this book here where I discussed how much it made me happy.

Dimple Shah has it all figured out. With graduation behind her, she’s more than ready for a break from her family, from Mamma’s inexplicable obsession with her finding the “Ideal Indian Husband.” Ugh. Dimple knows they must respect her principles on some level, though. If they truly believed she needed a husband right now, they wouldn’t have paid for her to attend a summer program for aspiring web developers…right?

Rishi Patel is a hopeless romantic. So when his parents tell him that his future wife will be attending the same summer program as him—wherein he’ll have to woo her—he’s totally on board. Because as silly as it sounds to most people in his life, Rishi wants to be arranged, believes in the power of tradition, stability, and being a part of something much bigger than himself.

Modern Romance by Aziz Ansari & Eric Klinenberg

28939133The synopsis of this book is very long and convoluted, but basically this book is about how romance has changed in the modern world. Aziz Ansari is a comedian so he makes the book very enjoyable and funny to read. I read this book partially with a book club last year and then on my own because I can never read Non-Fiction books quickly and I thoroughly enjoyed myself.

A hilarious, thoughtful, and in-depth exploration of the pleasures and perils of modern romance from one of this generation’s most popular and sharpest comedic voices.


The Enchanted Wood by Enid Blyton

17491These books were one of the many loves of my childhood. They are definitely in the children’s age range rather than middle grade, but I personally still read them now. In fact, I realised when I was writing this that I couldn’t find them on my shelf, so I now need to go and see if my sister has my copy somewhere. Anyway, these are magical and funny and absolutely perfect. This is the first book in the Faraway Tree series and there are three books in all.

Joe, Beth and Franny move to the country and find an Enchanted Wood right on their doorstep. In the magic Faraway Tree live the magical characters that soon become their new friends – Moon-Face, Silky the fairy, and Saucepan Man. Together they visit the strange lands (the Roundabout Land, the Land of Ice and Snow, Toyland and the Land of Take What You Want) atop the tree and have the most exciting adventures – and narrow escapes.


Illuminae by Jay Kristoff & Amie Kaufman

25877135This is a really popular Sci-Fi series, but perhaps less known for being funny than The Martian so I still feel justified in recommending it. I don’t really read enough Sci-Fi to know any other funny books because I tend not to read funny books for some reason. In any case, the main characters in both Illuminae and Gemina have very snarky, amusing but heart-felt interactions with each other which will, at times, make you laugh even if they’re all about to die.

This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do.

This afternoon, her planet was invaded.

The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to fight their way onto an evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit.

But their problems are just getting started. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet’s AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what’s really going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it’s clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she swore she’d never speak to again.


Much Ado About Nothing by William Shakespeare

617533This is a comedy and I rarely find comedies funny (ironic, I know), but this one was and that is entirely because of Beatrice and Benedick and the fact that their mean, nasty humour is exactly my cup of tea. This is not wholesome amusement but pure sardonic wit and it works perfectly. Beware though, if you are anything like me, Hero will almost certainly annoy you… but it’s worth it, I promise.

Much Ado About Nothing is a comedic play by William Shakespeare about misunderstandings, love and deception. Benedick, Claudio and Don Pedro arrive at Leonato’s house in Messina. Beatrice and Benedick bicker with each other and Claudio, a soldier, falls in love with Leonato’s daughter, Hero.


That’s all! Unfortunately I didn’t have a NA book to choose, but I included a Children’s, two adult books and two YA books so I think that most people should be able to find something they will like in here! Some of these are definitely more well-known, but you should read them anyway.

Do you want more posts like this? I really like doing recommendations, but I never know what people would like recommendations for so please, please let me know what you would be interested in seeing and I will see what I can do! Often times, requests for recommendations make me read more and seek about books I think might fit and I often end up finding some new favourites that way.

Do you have any funny books to recommend me? Happy reading, Keira x.

 

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Nel says:

    I haven’t read a book by Aziz Ansari but I love his stand up and his show Master of None!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Well we’re complete opposites, because I hadn’t heard of him before this book and I’ve never seen any of him comedy show 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Nel says:

        Oh my goodness Keira! You have to watch Master of None! It’s a Netflix Original and it’s soooooooooooo good! He was a regular on Parks and Recreation for a while too but Master of None is written and produced by him.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Keira says:

          Sighs when you don’t have Netflix ;(

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Nel says:

            You’re killing me. Utitlize the first month free and binge it hahahaha

            Liked by 1 person

  2. This is awesome! I love reading book recs so I’m glad you like writing them! I also loved When Dimple Met Rishi and Illuminae, although I haven’t read any of the other ones.
    As for book rec suggestions, I would say book-to-movie adaptations (for obvious reasons) and historical fiction, because I have liked some that I’ve read, but I never know where to start with them! A lot of the time I just feel like they’re dusty and old-feeling.
    As for a funny historical fiction, I would definitely recommend My Lady Jane! It’s hilarious and such a fun read; I can’t wait to see another collab with those three authors. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Ah yes I completely forgot about My Lady Jane! I’ll add that to my TBR shortly and I’ll definitely be doing a Historical Fiction recs probably September time because reading HF in autumn is the actual best.

      I really like reading book recs too and I wish there were more of them out there! Whenever I look for any they tend to be major magazines that come up rather than blogs which makes me sad sometimes. Thank you for the lovely long comment and the suggestions!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Awesome! That’s a fantastic idea! 🙂
        I totally agree! I often wish there was a way to just search through blogs and not the entire internet.
        Absolutely, anytime! XD

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Illuminae and Rose tainted are two of my faves ❤ awesome post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Thank you! What is Rose Tainted?

      Like

Leave a Reply

