July Wrap Up

Hello everyone! I had a really successful reading month this month and I ended up reading 24 books (which I have not done in a long time). I also ended up hitting 100 books read this year on the last day of the month which is also super exciting! I gave 7 books 5 stars, 10 books 4 stars, 4 books 3 stars and 3 books 2 stars.

There are no spoilers in any of this wrap up and all of the summaries included are taken from Goodreads and are for the first book in the series regardless of which book I actually read.


  • If We Had No Winter by D. L. Pitchford
  • Whispering Winds: Unveiled by Tiffany Garnett
  • Angelbound by Christina Bauer
  • Scala by Christina Bauer
  • The Buried Symbol by Jeffrey L. Kohanek
  • Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare
  • The Nest by Cynthia d’Apprix Sweeney

*NOTE: I removed the book Acca by Christina Bauer from my TBR for this month as there was a significant delay in my receiving the review copy.

I almost finished my TBR list this month! I’m kind of reading The Nest really slowly, though, so I’m not too mad about not finishing it!


A Promise of Fire & Breath of Fire by Amanda Bouchet

Screen Shot 2017-07-28 at 11.12.03These were both rereads. I gave both books 5 stars the first time and my review has not changed, in fact I might even like the books more the second time I read them. These are the first two books in the Kingmaker Chronicles; the third book comes out in January 2018 and honestly it can’t come soon enough. These are new adult fantasy novels. Cat and Griffin are definitely one of my new favourite couples and the whole cast in this series is incredible. I really hope we get to see more of the side characters in the next book.

Catalia “Cat” Fisa is a powerful clairvoyant known as the Kingmaker. This smart-mouthed soothsayer has no interest in her powers and would much rather fly under the radar, far from the clutches of her homicidal mother. But when an ambitious warlord captures her, she may not have a choice…

Griffin is intent on bringing peace to his newly conquered realm in the magic-deprived south. When he discovers Cat is the Kingmaker, he abducts her. But Cat will do everything in her power to avoid her dangerous destiny and battle her captor at every turn. Although up for the battle, Griffin would prefer for Cat to help his people willingly, and he’s ready to do whatever it takes to coax her…even if that means falling in love with her.


If We Had No Winter by D. L. Pitchford

34813532.jpgThis is the first book in the Billie Dixon series. I was contacted by the author to receive a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. I gave this book 4 stars and really liked Xavier, one of the main characters. I have already posted a review of this book if you would like to find out more of my thoughts, which you can find here. This is a new adult contemporary novel. The summary emphasises the family element of this story, but there is an element of friendship and romance as well to make a well-rounded novel.

College freshman Billie Dixon has always found solace in calculations and her secret drawings, hiding from the more difficult parts of life—her mother’s alcoholism, her inability to connect, and of course, her estranged father. That is, until she arrives at Bradford College in Vermont, where the Math Department Head is her father.

After a semester of avoiding him, her father insists she join him for the winter holidays to rekindle their relationship, and Billie is at a loss. While she tries to uphold the status quo, her father refuses to be pushed to the sidelines and forgotten. Just as she realizes she doesn’t want to lose him, her meek and shy father kicks her out of his home during an argument. Can Billie swallow her pride and make amends with her father or will she lose him forever?


Angelbound & Scala by Christina Bauer

Screen Shot 2017-07-28 at 11.26.31These are the first two books in the Angelbound Origins series. I received a free copy of the audiobook in exchange for an honest review through YA Bound Book Tours. I gave both books 4 stars, which can be broken down into 4 stars for the story for both of them and 3 and 3.5 stars respectively for the enjoyability of the audiobook. I have already posted a review for Angelbound if you wish to know more of my thoughts, which you can find here. My review for Scala will be coming in the next couple of weeks. These are YA fantasy books.

Eighteen year old Myla Lewis is a girl who loves two things: kicking ass and kicking ass. She’s not your every day quasi-demon, half-demon and half-human, girl. For the past five years, Myla has lived for the days she gets to fight in Purgatory’s arena. When souls want a trial by combat for their right to enter heaven or hell, they go up against her, and she hasn’t lost a battle yet.

But as she starts her senior year at Purgatory High, the arena fights aren’t enough to keep her spirits up anymore. When the demons start to act weird, even for demons, and the King of the Demons, Armageddon, shows up at Myla’s school, she knows that things are changing and it’s not looking good for the quasi-demons. Myla starts to question everything, and doesn’t like the answers she finds. What happened seventeen years ago that turned the quasi-demons into slave labor? Why was her mom always so sad? And why won’t anyone tell her who her father is?

Things heat up when Myla meets Lincoln, the High Prince of the Thrax, a super sexy half-human and half-angel demon hunter. But what’s a quasi-demon girl to do when she falls for a demon hunter? It’s a good thing that Myla’s not afraid of breaking a few rules. With a love worth fighting for, Myla’s going to shake up Purgatory.


Inside Out and Back Again by Thanhha Lai

8537327.jpgBack when I was about 9 or so every girl in my class at school was reading this book, but I never did. Partially because I didn’t want to read what everyone else was reading (I went through some rebellious years from about 9-12), partially because the cover was pink and I hated pink and partially because it was never in the school library. I swear this book had like three reservations at all times.

Anyway, I picked it up this month (obviously) and I really, really liked it. I gave it 4 stars, but I did feel like it didn’t make me as emotional as I expected and there was definitely a degree of distance between me and the story the whole time I was reading it. This is a middle grade contemporary novel based off the experiences of the author as a Vietnamese refugee and written in verse.

For all the ten years of her life, Hà has only known Saigon: the thrills of its markets, the joy of its traditions, and the warmth of her friends close by. But now the Vietnam War has reached her home. Hà and her family are forced to flee as Saigon falls, and they board a ship headed toward hope. In America, Hà discovers the foreign world of Alabama: the coldness of its strangers, the dullness of its food . . . and the strength of her very own family.


When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

28458598This is a standalone YA contemporary novel. I pre-ordered this book but didn’t get to read it immediately when it arrived. Luckily it didn’t have to sit on my shelves for too long! I gave this book 4 stars and if I still did half stars (sometimes I hate myself for being strict with my rating) it would probably have been 4.5 stars. This book made me incredibly, incredibly happy whilst I was reading it: my face actually hurt from smiling so much! I have a review for this book, which you can find here if you wish to know more of my thoughts. Don’t go into this book expecting something incredible and world-changing, but if you want to smile a lot then this is your book.

Dimple Shah has it all figured out. With graduation behind her, she’s more than ready for a break from her family, from Mamma’s inexplicable obsession with her finding the “Ideal Indian Husband.” Ugh. Dimple knows they must respect her principles on some level, though. If they truly believed she needed a husband right now, they wouldn’t have paid for her to attend a summer program for aspiring web developers…right?

Rishi Patel is a hopeless romantic. So when his parents tell him that his future wife will be attending the same summer program as him—wherein he’ll have to woo her—he’s totally on board. Because as silly as it sounds to most people in his life, Rishi wants to be arranged, believes in the power of tradition, stability, and being a part of something much bigger than himself.

Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.


The Buried Symbol by Jeffrey L. Kohanek

29910761This is the first book in the Runes of Issalia series. I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review courtesy of YA Bound Book Tours. I gave this book 2 stars, although it was a very complicated 2 stars that actually started out at 4 stars, went down to 3 stars when I decided I was being too generous with my ratings and giving too many books 4 stars and then went down to 2 when I evaluated why I didn’t like the book as much and realised I didn’t really care about the romance and had virtually no deep connection with most of the characters. However, the plot was engaging. If you want to know my full thoughts on this book, I have already posted my review which you can find hereThis is a YA Fantasy novel.

Without a rune marking his role in society, Brock is doomed to an existence below the lowest rung of the social ladder. Unwilling to accept his fate, the teen risks his life to obtain a fake rune that marks him as a member of the Empire’s ruling class. He then embarks on a quest to join an institution where the Empire’s future leaders are trained.

As a student of the Academy, he soon uncovers a chain of secrets kept hidden for centuries, secrets that expose cracks in the foundation of Empire society. Among his discoveries is a powerful magic, long buried and forgotten.

Brock’s compassion and sense of justice are seeds that sprout tight friendships and a blossoming romance. An unwillingness to be bullied earns him a dangerous enemy, becoming a feud that escalates to a climactic showdown.


Storm Warrior by Dani Harper

17397922This is the first book in the Grim series and I got it off the Prime library, so I didn’t pay for the book. I ended up giving this book 2 stars. It’s an adult/new adult paranormal/fantasy romance. I enjoyed the usage of Welsh mythology a lot, but the romance was just okay and I didn’t have any particularly strong feelings about this book. The perfect sound to describe it would be “meh”. I’m glad I didn’t spend money on it, but it was enjoyable enough to read.

Enslaved for millennia by the masters of the Welsh faery realm, the fierce Celtic warrior Rhys is doomed to wander the earth forever. But when a brave beauty unwittingly breaks the enchantment, he is drawn into a strange new world…and an all-consuming desire.

Sensible Morgan doesn’t believe in magic—until a mysterious being saves her from a fate worse than death, and life as she knows it changes forever. Now the man of her dreams has become flesh and blood, igniting a spark in Morgan’s soul which science cannot explain. But even a love that transcends time may not be strong enough to withstand the power of an ancient curse.


Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

22299763This is the second book in the Six of Crows duology which is set in the Grishaverse. The first book is Six of Crows. I’m pretty sure when this was over I just started screaming in my head (and maybe a bit out loud) about how much I hated Leigh Bardugo. I gave this book 5 stars. Yeah. Leigh Bardugo has killed my heart and ripped out my eyes and burned the remainders whilst somehow keeping me alive. Ouch. This is a YA fantasy novel.

Criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker has been offered wealth beyond his wildest dreams. But to claim it, he’ll have to pull off a seemingly impossible heist:

– Break into the notorious Ice Court
(a military stronghold that has never been breached)
– Retrieve a hostage
(who could unleash magical havoc on the world)
– Survive long enough to collect his reward
(and spend it)

Kaz needs a crew desperate enough to take on this suicide mission and dangerous enough to get the job done – and he knows exactly who: six of the deadliest outcasts the city has to offer. Together, they just might be unstoppable – if they don’t kill each other first.


A Search for Bliss by Charles Franklin

35617380.jpgThis is a prequel short story to the Anistemi series which I received a copy of in exchange for an honest review, which you can find hereI gave the book 4 stars and learned that it is incredibly hard to rate and review a prequel short story. Not even a novella. I did it though and the story served its purpose well: I am now interested in reading the actual first book. This is an adult fantasy novel.

In a secluded, post-apocalyptic city, a guardian is laid to rest. Upon his death, his pupil is named as his successor, but Arik Martin does not believe he is ready.

When a girl is taken by bloodthirsty killers in the hills, Arik must suppress his rage at his mentor’s death and lead a rescue party.

Can he save the girl and bring her home? Or will his recklessness result in more lives lost?


Star Witch by Helen Harper

35123171This is the second book in the Lazy Girl’s Guide to Magic series and is a new adult fantasy. The first book is Slouch Witch. I would recommend it for people who like the kind of Kate Daniels-esque world with a little bit more light-hearted humour and a more relaxed feeling. I love the romance as well. I gave this book 4 stars.

Let’s get one thing straight – Ivy Wilde is not a heroine. In fact, she’s probably the last witch in the world who you’d call if you needed a magical helping hand, regardless of her actual abilities. If it were down to Ivy, she’d spend all day every day on her sofa where she could watch TV, munch junk food and talk to her feline familiar to her heart’s content.

However, when a bureaucratic disaster ends up with Ivy as the victim of a case of mistaken identity, she’s yanked very unwillingly into Arcane Branch, the investigative department of the Hermetic Order of the Golden Dawn. Her problems are quadrupled when a valuable object is stolen right from under the Order’s noses. It doesn’t exactly help that she’s been magically bound to Adeptus Exemptus Raphael Winter. He might have piercing sapphire eyes and a body which a cover model would be proud of but, as far as Ivy’s concerned, he’s a walking advertisement for the joyless perils of too much witch-work.

And if he makes her go to the gym again, she’s definitely going to turn him into a frog.


Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

25494343This is the first book in the Dark Artifices series, which is a YA fantasy series. It is set in the Shadowhunter universe and takes place years after City of Heavenly Fire. I gave the book 5 stars, although I was very wary the whole time that the relationship drama would be made too juvenile or ridiculous or annoying (I’m very bad with relationship drama in books- I like my couples to be pretty much rock solid with a few issues and fighting the rest of the world, not themselves). This is a pretty long book (698 pages) and it has a long ass summary to match it, too.

In a kingdom by the sea…

In a secret world where half-angel warriors are sworn to fight demons, parabatai is a sacred word.

parabatai is your partner in battle. A parabatai is your best friend. Parabatai can be everything to each other—but they can never fall in love.

Emma Carstairs is a warrior, a Shadowhunter, and the best in her generation. She lives for battle. Shoulder to shoulder with her parabatai, Julian Blackthorn, she patrols the streets of Los Angeles, where vampires party on the Sunset Strip, and faeries—the most powerful of supernatural creatures—teeter on the edge of open war with Shadowhunters. When the bodies of humans and faeries turn up murdered in the same way Emma’s parents were when she was a child, an uneasy alliance is formed. This is Emma’s chance for revenge—and Julian’s chance to get back his brother Mark, who is being held prisoner by the faerie Courts. All Emma, Mark, and Julian have to do is solve the murders within two weeks…and before the murderer targets them.

Their search takes Emma from sea caves full of sorcery to a dark lottery where death is dispensed. And each clue she unravels uncovers more secrets. What has Julian been hiding from her all these years? Why does Shadowhunter Law forbid parabatai to fall in love? Who really killed her parents—and can she bear to know the truth?


25 to Wife by J. C. Robinson

35555926I received an e-copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. I had previously read the author’s debut novel One Year Left which I only rate 2 stars, but still really enjoyed. (Confused? I did a review explaining it here…. shameless self-promo ;).) Anyway, I said then that I would really like the chance to read another one of his books, so I jumped on the offer to get a copy of this book as well. I ended up giving this one 3 stars and it actually draws parallels with another New Adult romance novel which I read and loved this month, so I think I have a thing for stories where the main male character is a genuinely nice, good guy who happens to be on parole. Anyway, I really liked it! My review should be coming some time in the next couple of weeks.

Recently released from prison, Paul works a dead-end job with little hope for his future. But then, he meets a girl that has the potential to change his world.

Kelsey is a twenty-something Pre-K teacher that goes through the motions of dealing with unruly kids and unworthy guys. Then, she meets Paul and their two seemingly incompatible worlds collide.

The two are perfect for each other, even if their situations are anything but.


Whispering Winds: Unveiled by Tiffany Garnett

34941901This is also a book I received for review from the author. It is a YA fantasy novel and the first book in the Whispering Winds series. My main issue was with the characters in this book, which just didn’t appeal to me. However, that is because I just generally don’t like reading about the types of characters that are the main character and her sister. Other people would, of course. I don’t really like books set in high schools either. I gave this book 2 stars, though, which is not a negative rating for me and I didn’t DNF it because I found the plot enjoyable. If you would like to know my thoughts on this book in more detail, you can find my review here.

Healing is a power that fifteen-year-old, Brenna Finlayson, has fought long and hard to subdue.  When a harebrained idea suddenly occurs to her, she risks losing everything by revealing herself to the one person she fears losing the most.

Brenna’s spontaneous unveiling brings about the revealing of other truths.  She, and her twin sister, Keely, have destinies to fulfill.  Destinies that require them to fight. maybe even kill. As an innate healer, violence is the last thing Brenna wants.

In an attempt to live a normal, peaceful life, Brenna rejects her heritage, choosing a different path.  But the path she chooses doesn’t bring her the normalcy she was hoping for.


Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J. K. Rowling

22844208This was a reread (I think this probably makes the 27th time I’ve read this book or something ridiculously crazy like that). 5 stars, obviously. This is my favourite book in the whole series with the exception of Goblet of Fire. My only thought after reading this is always, always, always “Why do all the good characters have to die?”. It feels strange to put a summary for Harry Potter but I mean, I did one for all of the other books, so for the sakes of continuity and aesthetics, here it is.

Harry Potter’s life is miserable. His parents are dead and he’s stuck with his heartless relatives, who force him to live in a tiny closet under the stairs. But his fortune changes when he receives a letter that tells him the truth about himself: he’s a wizard. A mysterious visitor rescues him from his relatives and takes him to his new home, Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry.

After a lifetime of bottling up his magical powers, Harry finally feels like a normal kid. But even within the Wizarding community, he is special. He is the boy who lived: the only person to have ever survived a killing curse inflicted by the evil Lord Voldemort, who launched a brutal takeover of the Wizarding world, only to vanish after failing to kill Harry.

Though Harry’s first year at Hogwarts is the best of his life, not everything is perfect. There is a dangerous secret object hidden within the castle walls, and Harry believes it’s his responsibility to prevent it from falling into evil hands. But doing so will bring him into contact with forces more terrifying than he ever could have imagined.


Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire

25526296Now this is a really, really good book and definitely right up my alley. A hint of crazy, beautiful and unique worlds and a lot of serious whimsy. Magical realism or fantasy… either way, I loved it. The cast was varied and I honestly can’t wait to see more of these different worlds. A lot of people complained that there was too much emphasis on these different worlds and not enough action, but I did not mind that at all. I actually listened to the audiobook to read this book and it was quite a good one. Not particularly special in terms of production, but the narrator was good. Definitely recommend this to absolutely everyone. 5 stars (duh).

Eleanor West’s Home for Wayward Children
No Solicitations
No Visitors
No Quests

Children have always disappeared under the right conditions; slipping through the shadows under a bed or at the back of a wardrobe, tumbling down rabbit holes and into old wells, and emerging somewhere… else.

But magical lands have little need for used-up miracle children.

Nancy tumbled once, but now she’s back. The things she’s experienced… they change a person. The children under Miss West’s care understand all too well. And each of them is seeking a way back to their own fantasy world.

But Nancy’s arrival marks a change at the Home. There’s a darkness just around each corner, and when tragedy strikes, it’s up to Nancy and her new-found schoolmates to get to the heart of the matter.

No matter the cost.


Saga Vol. 1 by Fiona Staples & Brian K. Vaughan

15704307This is my first time reading something that could be classified as a comic. I’ve read graphic novels before, but apart from the way you read it, they’re really not that much alike. I found that it is very hard to rate comics though, because you get such a small amount of the story. Luckily the spider-lady in this comic was sufficiently not spider-like that she didn’t cause my arachnophobia to act up too much and I really liked the main couple and the general direction the story is going. I gave it 4 stars and will definitely be continuing at some point in the future.

When two soldiers from opposite sides of a never-ending galactic war fall in love, they risk everything to bring a fragile new life into a dangerous old universe.


The Butterfly Project by Emma Scott

33519394Earlier I mentioned that I read two books which were new adult romances featuring a male lead who was on parole… well this was the other one! In this case though, the female lead is a graphic novelist. I really, really loved the journey that these characters took and their romance was beautiful. I almost wish there had been less sex or that the sex had been used more pointedly, but it didn’t bother me too much, I just felt like it was unnecessary at some points. I gave the book 4 stars.

At age fourteen, Zelda Rossi witnessed the unthinkable, and has spent the last ten years hardening her heart against the guilt and grief. She channels her pain into her art: a dystopian graphic novel where vigilantes travel back in time to stop heinous crimes—like child abduction—before they happen. Zelda pitches her graphic novel to several big-time comic book publishers in New York City, only to have her hopes crash and burn. Circumstances leave her stranded in an unfamiliar city, and in an embarrassing moment of weakness, she meets a guarded young man with a past he’d do anything to change…

Beckett Copeland spent two years in prison for armed robbery, and is now struggling to keep his head above water. A bike messenger by day, he speeds around New York City, riding fast and hard but going nowhere, his criminal record holding him back almost as much as the guilt of his crime.

Zelda and Beckett form a grudging alliance of survival, and in between their stubborn clash of wills, they slowly begin to provide each other with the warmth of forgiveness, healing, and maybe even love. But when Zelda and Beckett come face to face with their pasts, they must choose to hold on to the guilt and regret that bind them, or let go and open their hearts for a shot at happiness.


Wildire by Ilona Andrews

27422533Can I first say how much I hate these covers. Most of the Ilona Andrews covers are bad and the ones that aren’t are only okay (like the Innkeeper series) and they tend to make the books look like cheesy romances, which is just so not the case. I mean, at least Rogan (the guy) has a shirt on in this one…. sigh. Oh well, it’s not the author’s fault that the cover artist is clueless. Yes, they have romances (and boy am I ever a fan of them) but they are urban fantasy with, like, monsters and life-threatening magic to be stopped. Give them better covers, someone, please!!! And like, this is the best cover in this series by a long way… at least the background is good this time. *insert more sighing here*

Anyway, now that unimportant rant is out of the way… this is the third book in the Hidden Legacy series and was supposed to be the last one, but the epilogue basically raised a ton more questions and the book doesn’t resolve the overarching storyline just some of the minor ones, so there will be a fourth one. This is partially me refusing to accept anything else and partially the truth. Ilona Andrews has said that there will be a fourth book, but they don’t yet know if it will be published by Avon like the first three or self-published. I’m almost hoping for self-published because then we might get better covers seeing as Ilona hates these ones… she even made a joke about Rogan finally getting a shirt! The first book in the series is Burn for Me.

Anywayyyyy, I gave this book 3 stars. Now there is a difference between an Ilona Andrews 3 stars and an anyone else 3 stars, so realistically it is more like 4 stars. My only issue was that the ending felt really rushed like they were trying to finish it in this book, decided against it really late and then never paced it more? I don’t really know, but it annoyed me a bit because it meant we got less special moments between characters (and that is not an innuendo). But apart from that, I really, really liked the book. Like a lot.

Nevada Baylor is faced with the most challenging case of her detective career—a suicide mission to bring in a suspect in a volatile case. Nevada isn’t sure she has the chops. Her quarry is a Prime, the highest rank of magic user, who can set anyone and anything on fire.

Then she’s kidnapped by Connor “Mad” Rogan—a darkly tempting billionaire with equally devastating powers. Torn between wanting to run or surrender to their overwhelming attraction, Nevada must join forces with Rogan to stay alive.

Rogan’s after the same target, so he needs Nevada. But she’s getting under his skin, making him care about someone other than himself for a change. And, as Rogan has learned, love can be as perilous as death, especially in the magic world.


Magic Shifts & Magic Binds by Ilona Andrews

Screen Shot 2017-08-01 at 11.53.30These are books #8 and #9 in the Kate Daniels series. The first book in the series is Magic Bites. I gave Magic Shifts 4 stars, like the rest of the series, and Magic Binds 5 stars. I’m really liking the development in the characters and Kate’s family is becoming really interesting and complex. I really don’t want to say more than that because it would be way too spoilery. I can’t wait for the next book (probably the final one) which comes out in May next year! I’m so proud of myself for finally catching up with this series as well. It’s been a long time coming.

When the magic is up, rogue mages cast their spells and monsters appear, while guns refuse to fire and cars fail to start. But then technology returns, and the magic recedes as unpredictably as it arose, leaving all kinds of paranormal problems in its wake.

Kate Daniels is a down-on-her-luck mercenary who makes her living cleaning up these magical problems. But when Kate’s guardian is murdered, her quest for justice draws her into a power struggle between two strong factions within Atlanta’s magic circles.

The Masters of the Dead, necromancers who can control vampires, and the Pack, a paramilitary clan of shapechangers, blame each other for a series of bizarre killings—and the death of Kate’s guardian may be part of the same mystery. Pressured by both sides to find the killer, Kate realizes she’s way out of her league—but she wouldn’t have it any other way…


Fate's Edge & Steel's Edge by Ilona Andrews

Screen Shot 2017-08-01 at 11.53.41These are the third and fourth books in the Edge series. The first book in the lseries is On the Edge. Reading these books also means that I’ve read every novel (not including short stories etc.) that Ilona Andrews have published so far. The Edge series is definitely my least favourite series by them and I gave both of these books 3 stars. I actually like following the development and stories of the kids (George and Jack) more than the actual main characters. The main couple change each book and the other characters become side characters, which often makes me like the couples less than I otherwise would, but I like many of the characters by themselves. I will say that the actual stories in these two books were very interesting in terms of the action.

In The Broken, people shop at Walmart, and magic only lives in fairy tales; in The Weird, aristocrats still rule and the strength of your magic controls your fate; and The Edge is the borderland where anything can happen…

Rose Drayton and her two young brothers live in the Edge and are among the most gifted of the people there. In Rose’s case, her abilities are so powerful that men from the Edge and the Weird want to marry her. So When Declan Camarine – a blueblood noble from one of the Weird’s most powerful families – shows up she tells him what she’s told all the others: Go away!

But Declan offers Rose a challenge – Give him three tasks, and if he completes them, she will belong to him; if he fails, he’ll leave and never return. Coming up with must-fail plans is soon the least of Rose’s concerns: first, Declan is becoming a little too appealing; second the boys actually like him; and then the terrible magic-stealing hounds come…and it looks like working together is the only way to stop them and save The Edge.


Yep, definitely went on a bit of an Ilona Andrews kick there. Now, we also had the BookTube-a-thon this month and instead of doing a full wrap up, I’m just going to talk briefly about it here. I completed all the reading challenges and I read 7 full books, many of which weren’t actually on my TBR. I also started two books which I didn’t finish during the read-a-thon and DNF’d one book as well. I ended up reading Saga Vol. 1 outside and actually really enjoyed the experience (shocker I know). My total page count for the week was 2639 (yeah a lot of those books were short) and I will admit that I spent most of my time writing this post, reviews or watching TV. Sorry, not sorry.


Okay people, I have a really important question to ask now! Do you prefer wrap ups like this where I give summaries and details about what I liked, or do you prefer my old style where I just gave the cover and my rating. Or something in between?

Also, this post is over 5.5k words… if you read all the way to the end I think you deserve a lot of chocolate. If you comment “chocolate covered strawberries” I will send you chocolate pictures 😛 (chocolate gets messy if you post it).

What did you read this month? Feel free to link your wrap ups down below or a review you did for me to read!

Happy reading, Keira x.

 

21 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow congrats! You completed all challenges and read many more books. I was thinking on participating but I didn’t want to pressure me on reading more with work in the way. There are many books i haven’t heard of here that now are on my TBR 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Thank you! I was really proud of my reading this month, to be completely honest.

      I myself didn’t decide to participate until the day before, but I thought “it’s my first week of the summer holidays and my friends are all away this week, so I might as well” but yeah, if I had school or work commitments at the time there is no way I would have done it, so I definitely get why you wouldn’t participate.

      I feel bad for your TBR 😉 I’m glad you found some more books to read, it’s always such a satisfying feeling!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Nel says:

    I’m so jealous of your book haul. I wish I had time to read that much. I really need to check out the Amanda Bouchet books. It’s funny that you rated Magic Binds 5 stars. I rated it 4 cause I thought the end was way too rushed. I still can’t wait for the next one though cause I believe it’s the last? I like reading what you thought of each book especially since I’ve read some of the books on the list and it’s nice to have another opinion.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      I swear I usually don’t read this much, but I finished my exams in June so I had now work outside of regular school and then I did a week of working in town with an hour commute each way… the time really adds up!

      Definitely, definitely read the Amanda Bouchet books! The romance in those books is as good as IA and the actual plot is really interesting too. I am currently forcing one of my IRL friends to read the first book and she is really liking it. If you do read it, let me know what you think. Also, I really want more people to read it so that people with artistic talent can start making fan art because I really, really want fan art for them.

      I can’t believe Kate Daniels is coming to an end! But they did say they might write some books following some other characters, which would be cool. Do you think Barnabas and Christopher are going to be a thing, because I really got those vibes in Magic Binds.

      I’m glad people like the much longer post (I wasn’t sure if people would like slogging through 5k words, although I guess I don’t usually read this much) because it sure took a long time write, but I definitely like being able to actually discuss opinions on books without having to do a whole review for them because I don’t have time or creativity for that!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Nel says:

        I will! Soon as I finish this ARC and the other two Innkeeper books, I think Amanda Bouchet will be next on my list for sure. I can’t believe it’s coming to an end either. My Charley Davidson books are also ending! I hope these author have some epic new series planned.
        Definitely got the same vibe about Barnabas and Christopher and I think it’s absolutely, freaking adorable!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Keira says:

          Yay!! There is also going to be at least one if not more books in the Innkeeper series. There’s something about it here: http://innkeeper.ilona-andrews.com/2017/06/10/innkeeper-will-continue/

          It actually is so cute! What would their ship name be though? Also, I get all sorts of proud feelings at Christopher learning how to fly again and learning about Deimos etc.!

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Nel says:

            Oh awesome! I hope they keep the Hidden Legacy series going too.
            That’s a very good question. I’m going to think about that. I was so proud of that too! I lifted the book and was like YES! Ilona and Gordon are never allowed to stop writing, haha

            Liked by 1 person

            1. Keira says:

              I don’t know what I would do if they stopped, to be honest. I only discovered them less than a year ago or something and I’ve already read like 19 books by them 😀

              Liked by 1 person

            2. Nel says:

              Haha! Same here! Their books are so awesome and addicting.

              Liked by 1 person

            3. Keira says:

              The only ship name I can come up with is Barnstopher which is horrible 😀 Barnabas is just a weird name.

              Liked by 1 person

            4. Nel says:

              Maybe Christobas? That almost sounds like crystal ball though. I don’t know how I feel about that. Maybe Barnopher without the sto? Haha

              Liked by 1 person

            5. Keira says:

              Ah you’re way better than me at this! Barnopher sounds kinda like barnacles, but I like Christobas.

              Liked by 1 person

            6. Keira says:

              Or Cabas?

              Liked by 1 person

            7. Nel says:

              I like Cabas! Short and sweet.

              Liked by 1 person

            8. Keira says:

              It kind of fits them.

              Liked by 1 person

            9. Nel says:

              I agree. I guess we’ll see soon. They’re good at keeping what they’re doing to themselves to build our anticipation.

              Liked by 1 person

  3. Omg you’ve read a lot! Congrats!. I hope you’ve a great August too 😊❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Amazing wrap up! I’m so looking forward to a promise of fire and crooked kingdom. When Dimple met rishi was great!! I had an opportunity to read storm warrior recently- I’m glad I didn’t now!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      A Promise of Fire is soo good. Yeah, Storm Warrior was just a bit meh. Very meh.

      Like

      1. Ah that’s great! Yeah I worried about that- glad I didn’t bother now

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

