Whispering Winds: Unveiled by Tiffany Garnett

on

34941901I received a free copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. This in no way affected my opinions of this book. This is a YA Fantasy novel and is the first book in the Whispering Winds series.

I quite liked this book, but it hasn’t left the biggest impression on me. I can remember some things when I think about it, but I can’t remember, for example, the name of the main character’s sister without checking (which is bad). Admittedly it’s been about a week since I read this book during which I read about 10 other books to cloud my memory, but this tells me that the characters themselves didn’t leave the biggest impression on me. As a general rule though I am not a massive fan of books set in high school largely because of the characters those books tend to have, so I guess these were never going to be my favourite characters in the world.

However, on the other hand, I do remember the characterisations of the sister and many of the other side characters, so perhaps the names didn’t stick as I don’t love them, but the characters themselves were quite interesting. In any case, Breanna and her sister were, I found, a little bit young for my tastes and a little bit stereotypical. As a teenager myself I suppose it would be a rich to say that I found them a tad immature, but I did. Breanna was moody and her sister was prissy, but somehow badass. The only character I thought was really excellently written was Tae, but you’ll have to find out about him for yourself. I do hope his story gets explored more in subsequent books.

The world which Tiffany Garnett has begun to build in this book also seems to be promising, but it could go either way for me at this point. I felt like there wasn’t enough world-building in this book for me to decide whether I liked the magic system/fantasy aspect or not. I just really don’t know enough about it to say either way.

Another thing which I really liked with this book was the pacing (which I have been struggling with a lot in books recently) and I also found the general plot to be quite engaging.

I gave this book 2 stars because characters are the most important part of a book in terms of my enjoyment, but when I had just finished reading the book I gave it 4 stars because of the aforementioned plot and pacing. Therefore, if you like books set in high school I don’t think you’ll mind the characters and if you like fantasy, you should definitely check out this book because the plot is very enjoyable.

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

