May Book Haul

on

Hello everyone! Sorry I have been so absent. I had a mad spike in the amount of studying I have been doing and then I went on holiday to visit some old friends. Posting will continue to be sporadic until after my exams at the end of June so please bare with me!

I ignored my book buying restriction a little bit this month, although I did to try to at least read the books I acquired. I’m okay with this, as I’m going to view it as more of a guideline to make me think about how many books I’m buying.

Now onto the actually interesting bit!


Screen Shot 2017-04-30 at 23.21.26.png

  • Alight by Emma L. Adams is urban fantasy novel (pretty clean NA) about a dragon shifter living in a world where practically everyone despises her kind. One day her little sister gets kidnapped and she, along with her friends and an unlikely (and somewhat reluctant) ally plan to get her back. This is the first book in the Legacy of Flames series.
  • The Giver by Lois Lowry is a YA dystopian novel that I read in 7th Grade for school. I absolutely loved it- it was the first book that I read for school which I adored- and so I wanted to get myself a copy of it. It is a story about a boy who is chosen to learn about the history of the world through memories, in a world with no colour, no war and no love.
  • Magic of Blood and Sea by Cassandra Rose Clarke is a YA Fantasy novel with pirates, arranged marriages, assassins and curses! Sounds like a lot of pretty amazing things to me. This is a bind-up of the first two books in the Assassin’s Curse series.
  • A Promise of Fire by Amanda Bouchet is an Adult Fantasy novel about a girl living in the magic-poor south of her world. Griffin has conquered the realm and is determined to bring peace to it, which he can only do with the help of Cat, the Kingmaker. Except Cat would rather ignore her powers. Griffin won’t let that happen… so he kidnaps her. This is the first book in the Kingmaker Chronicles.
  • The Golem and the Djinni by Helene Wecker is described as being Fantasy with a Magical Realism feel and being perfect for fans of The Night Circus with an equally beautiful and lyrical style of prose. The book is set in 1899 and the basic premise, I believe is a golem and djinni becoming unlikely friends, trying to blend in with immigrant neighbours and then being terrified into returning to their separate worlds (whatever that means) before being brought together again by a “powerful menace” threatening their lives. This is the first book in a series by the same name.

Screen Shot 2017-05-15 at 07.14.24.png

  • A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas is the third book in the ACOTAR series and the last in the original trilogy. It came out this month. I pre-ordered it so I have gorgeous map of Prythian now and… I’m not giving you a summary because it is the third book plus you have probably heard of it… if you haven’t: please look up “A Court of Thorns and Roses” and then please read it. Thank you!
  • Whispering Winds: Unveiled by Tiffany Garnett is a YA Fantasy novel. I was contacted by the author to review this book, so it should be read pretty soon.
  • Breath of Fire by Amanda Bouchet. This is the second book in The Kingmaker Chronicles which I mentioned earlier… I finished the first one and immediately needed the second.
  • The Immortal Trinity: Inheritance by Momchil Yoskov is a Sci-Fi novel. I was contacted by the author to review this book, so it should be read pretty soon.
  • Light Box by K. J. Orr is a collection of short stories about “lives in transition” which I bought when visiting a nearby town with my family for my mum’s birthday.

Screen Shot 2017-05-30 at 10.26.29

  • The Buried Symbol by Jeffrey L. Kohanek is a YA Fantasy Novel about a boy who fakes a rune to give him a higher position in society. I received a review copy of this book courtesy of YA Bound Book Tours and the author.
  • If We Had No Winter by D. L. Pitchford is a NA Contemporary novel. I was contacted by the author to review this book.
  • Magic Breaks by Ilona Andrews is the 7th book in the Kate Daniels series. It’s New Adult Fantasy about a mercenary turned other things.
  • White Hot by Ilona Andrews is the 2nd book in the Hidden Legacy series, which is a NA Fantasy about an investigator.

Happy reading, Keira x.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Nel says:

    I need to read Amanda Bouchet and I need to get on reading the Hidden Legacy books by the Andrews. Loving your book list here! Look forward to you’re reviews!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Thank you! Amanda Bouchet’s books are great!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

