April Wrap Up

Hello everyone! I didn’t read insane amounts this month and I reread a lot of books (plus a lot of Urban Fantasy- Romance type books) but I read a decent amount and quite a few really good books; I actually enjoyed everything I read this month even though one of them got 2 stars. As for my TBR…


  • If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo
  • One Year Left by J. C. Robinson
  • The Icarus Show by Sally Chrisite
  • Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J. K. Rowling
  • Rubinrot by Kerstin Gier

Yup, I read them all and although I have done that nearly every month so far this year, this is the first time since January I accomplished that without removing quite a few books for whatever reason or DNFing anything! Now to the books I read and some of my thoughts!


Screen Shot 2017-04-29 at 14.03.12

  • If I Was You Girl by Meredith Russo. This is a YA Contemporary novel about Ashley, a girl who just recently underwent gender reassignment therapy and has moved to live with her dad to try and start a fresh life. It’s sweet, exciting, sometimes angering (for all the right reasons) and although I could have been a tad more emotional about the story, it was really good and highly enjoyable.
  • Burn for Me by Ilona Andrews. Book 1 in the Hidden Legacy series… the next book comes out sometime in the next couple of months and I already sneakily pre-ordered it. The story follows a detective, Nevada, in a magical alternate version of our world, who is forced to hunt down a dangerous pyromaniac. In the process she meets Connor (or “Mad Rogan”) who is after the same guy and stuff goes down. This is an NA Urban Fantasy with a nice helping of smouldering, sarcastic wit and romance. (If you have read my April Book Haul post and are wondering why that synopsis sounds familiar, well I copy-pasted it. No point rewriting it when I know just as much about the story! This book was fun, I really enjoyed the romance and it was generally really, really good. Highly addictive.
  • Magic Bleeds by Ilona Andrews. This is book #4 in the Kate Daniels series. The series follows a paranormal investigator-mercenary-detective through her many cases and her life in a “post-shift” world where waves of magic and technology disrupt life. This was a reread. Curran. Curran. Curran. That is mostly what I have to say about all the Kate Daniels books from this point. That and badassery, Saiman and Roland. None of that will make any sense unless you’ve read the books, but I can’t really explain my thoughts, certainly not without spoiling all of the previous books.
  • Magic Slays by Ilona Andrews. This is book #5 in the Kate Daniels series. These books are New Adult Urban Fantasy.
  • Magic Rises by Ilona Andrews. Book #6 in the Kate Daniels series.Screen Shot 2017-04-29 at 13.05.14
  • A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas. This was obviously a reread. This is the second book in the ACOTAR series and whilst I would be surprised if you hadn’t heard of this book I would summarise it like this: Fae. Bloodshed. Hot romance. Friendship. Politics. Abuse. INCREDIBLE-NESS BEYOND WORDS. Yup, that pretty much covers everything. It is a NA High Fantasy.
  • Rubinrot by Kerstin Gier. This is the first book in the Edelstein-Trilogie. In English, it is called Ruby Red and the series is called the “Precious Stone” Trilogy. I read this for my German tutor. It is a YA Fantasy about time travel with (what seems to be) a heavy dollop of romance-in-the-making.
  • The Icarus Show by Sally Christie. This is a YA contemporary novel about two boys who are about 11 or 12. I know, that would normally make it Middle Grade, but it is being marketed as YA, understandably, for the themes of suicide and depression and the nuances which a younger reader of 9-11 probably would not fully appreciate. This being said, the artistic quality, the subtly and the beautiful progression of relationships, morals and general world-views in this book make it a book suitable and relatable for people of all ages- indeed I pictured the boys around my own age until they said what school year they were in!
  • One Year Left by J. C. Robinson. I was contacted by the author and offered a chance to review this book and I said yes! It’s about a boy, Will, who moves to Portland in order to hopefully find a purpose in his ‘last year’ and the romance that blossoms between him and his new roommate, Kristen. This is a NA Contemporary novel. I actually really liked this book, even though I only gave it two stars. I cannot possibly begin to explain that here, but I did a full review you are intrigued.
  • Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J. K. Rowling. Okay, I’m definitely not explaining the plot of this book. It was a reread and I will admit that this one of my least favourite books in the series and that, seeing as I practically know it word-for-word I tend to skip some of the chapters which are really important and interesting the first couple of times you read it, but are a tad more boring after the 20th time. This was off of my “Books to Reread in 2017” list.

Screen Shot 2017-04-29 at 13.05.23

  • Bayou Moon by Ilona Andrews. This is the second book in the Edge series (the first book is On the Edge) which is set in between our world and the fully magical world and basically, stuff happens and there is great romance. I didn’t like the beginning of this book as much as the first, but after about 50% it picked up the pace and I ended up really enjoying the second half!

That one lone book is really annoying me, but I am highly unlikely to finish another book before the beginning of May even though I am part way through some, so enjoy some really awkwardly placed and random butterflies 😉

What was your favourite book you read this month? Aside from rereads, The Icarus Show was probably my favourite book this month! Happy reading, Keira x.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Your reading month was AMAZING! Seriously 😀 I’m re-reading acomaf at the moment in prep for acowar I’m so scared of Maas finally giving us a last book but super excited too.
    My fave book of the month was Sleeping Giants it’s just such an amazing sci-fi and I loved the different format it was told in XD Hope you have an amazing May!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      I love it when books have interesting formats.
      Hehe, it was a pretty decent month, but not the best ever 🙂 ACOWAR COMES OUT TODAY…. AHHHHH! It will be sad to see this arc end, but we are getting more books from the world and I have faith in Sarah that she will pull it off in a good way. Thank you; I hope you have a great May as well!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

