If You Like This… Read This | Recommendation and Tag

Title-2

Hello everyone! Today I will be combining a recommendations post with a tag- the wonderful Orang-utan Librarian tagged me in the ‘Books to Read in Pairs Tag’ and so I have decided to do it as more of a recommendations type of tag as it is very similar to the If You Like This… You Might Like This style of recommendation. In the ‘Books to Read in Pairs Tag’ you basically pick between 5 and 10 pairs of books that you think go well together and share them with people! I tag the first two people in my reader: Cristina and Ctia as well as anyone else who would like to do this tag!


Copy of Best of Category-8

Screen Shot 2017-04-10 at 12.31.28

Everyone knows Harry Potter… that kind of doesn’t need any explanation. Charlie Bone is aimed at a similar target audience and during a time where my reading was very limited because I got bored with easy books but scared of older books, these were basically constantly on rotation.

Both of these stories are fun, Middle Grade books about a kid who thought he was ordinary suddenly getting magic and going to a magic boarding school… although Charlie’s is across town and he comes home on the weekends. They are fun, reasonably long series that won’t take long and are a great break for adult/teen readers or a wonderful adventure for younger readers.


Copy of Best of Category-9Screen Shot 2017-04-10 at 12.33.56

Both of these YA Fantasy books take historic empires and corrupt rulers and bring them to a new audience… in a completely new way. And I Darken is based on the story of Vlad the Impaler, except Vlad is now a girl called Lada. Legacy of Kings is based on Alexander the Great. Alexander is still a boy. Both are fast-paced, interesting and slightly violent beginnings to series.


Copy of Best of Category-10Screen Shot 2017-04-10 at 12.36.29

Okay beyond the obviously similar colourings in these two covers, these are both about transgender teenagers, dealing with similar yet different issues and just generally being very good, fun and important reads.


Copy of Best of Category-13Screen Shot 2017-04-10 at 12.37.15

The magic systems in these books, although quite different, do remind me a bit of each other and they are both great, GIGANORMOUS high fantasy adult novels.


Copy of Best of Category-14Screen Shot 2017-04-10 at 12.37.50

I have personally never read Arabian Nights, but according to my mother it is incredibly boring… and she reads a lot of boring books. These retellings however weren’t boring at all!


I really enjoy doing recommendation posts, but I never know what kind of recommendations people would be interested in, so please leave me some ideas down below! Happy reading, Keira x.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. I love these type of post, great recommendations !, Thanks ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Thank you and anytime 🙂

      Like

  2. Oh I love how you did this post!! Plus it’s made me want to pick up so many books- especially and I darken and black prism- which I’ve heard so many good things about!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Hehe, that makes me feel so accomplished 🙂 Thank you ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hehe you’re welcome!! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  3. namitha says:

    I’ve always wanted to read ‘The Wrath and The Dawn’ and ‘A Thousand Nights’ but I don’t know why I still haven’t picked it up…but since I’ve read Caraval I’ve been in a mood to pick up a fantasy novel…maybe I should give it a go!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      They’re quite different takes on the tale- A Thousand Nights is more lyrical and philosophical and hard-hitting; The Wrath and the Dawn is more romantic (and the sequel more action) but they’re both good! I keep meaning to read Caraval… it’s on my shelf waiting to be read 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

