We Went To Sea and Cities Too | March Wrap Up

Title.png

Hello everyone! I ended up reading much less this month than in previous months. This is partially due to the discovery of some new TV shows, partially due to a bit of a reading slump and largely because I had exams (one of which I studied for 15 hours for) in the last two weeks of the month, which is always fun. Anyway, let’s get on with it!


best-of-category

I am going to continue writing about these because I am REALLY bad at sticking to them, so maybe this will help. Also, if you don’t give a monkey’s arse (which I wouldn’t either), the books are after these lists, so feel free to skip them 😉

To begin with, my blogging goals:

  1. Mark half stars down. Yep!
  2. Schedule more posts and post 3+ times per week. Yeah, I’m taking a break from this one. I’m going on a ‘hiatus’ meaning that I am only posting when I feel like it (which still hopefully be reasonably regular).
  3. Do more discussions and reviews. I haven’t done any discussions and although I have done some reviews they have all been for review copies that I received. Therefore, as part of my hiatus, although I still accept and/or consider books for review if contacted personally by the author/publisher, I am not signing up for any blog tours or applying for any review copies for the foreseeable future.
  4. Make reviews more about Goodreads and enjoy writing them more. I have decided to scrap part of this. I have found that making reviews about Goodreads has a lot of limitations, whereas my past three reviews or so have all been slightly different and I have really quite enjoyed making them, so I will continue to try out lots of different styles and mix it up, optimising it for my blog and then perhaps summarising for Goodreads.
  5. Be a more active member of the community. I do this whenever I post, but the rest of the time I don’t, so I would like to make it a more regular thing.
  6. Make my TBRs truly the books I have to read. I had a bit of difficulty with this month’s TBR, but that’s okay and it will be changing and better going forward.

And now, the reading goals:

  1. My GoodReads goal of 120 books. I am 16 books ahead of schedule- 5 less than last month because I didn’t read nearly as much.
  2. My two yearly TBRs (2017 Challenge and Books I Want to Reread). I didn’t read either of these off my TBR this month, unfortunately, but I read multiple in past months so I believe I am still on track so long as I remember to put them in at a later date.
  3. Finish reading books before starting new ones. This is such a tempting rule to break when there are so many books I want to read and reading the German book that I’m reading at the moment and trying not to read other things is probably a reason I am reading less, because even though I am enjoying the book, it is still a bit of a chore because reading in German requires so much more attention and effort.
  4. Read every book I pre-order. Yeah, nope. But I have pre-ordered less books, which is good!
  5. Get my TBR under control. I bought less books this month and have stopped requesting them. I also got rid of quite a few, but I don’t yet know my new total. Also, I read less books this month soooo it’s kind of getting there, I suppose?

best-of-category-1

My TBR for this month changed quite a lot, as any books that were to be reviewed from the 30th onwards were removed about a week ago and some others were added as well! Plus one of my school books was changed. That being said, I still only read half of the remaining books on my TBR, which is less than I would have liked, but okay in the grand scheme of things.

  • Home by Eleni McKnight
  • Myths of Mish by Katie Hamstead
  • The Fever Tree by Jennifer McVeigh
  • The Perfect Tear by Connie Lansberg
  • Isabella’s Last Request by Laura Lawrence

best-of-category-2

Wrap Up-1.png

Yeah, so I only read 9 books this month, which might seem like a reasonable amount, but compared to the 20+ books I read in January and February, it is pretty lackluster- especially considering that half of them were Paranormal or Historical NA Romance, which take about 2 hours to read each and are my “guilty pleasure” reads. Add the three books I read to review and I only actually read 2 non “get me out of a slump” or “I need a break” books that I actually  chose for myself with no other deadlines or pressure!


Best of Category

My favourite book this month was Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo (I’m not sure whether I preferred the first or the second book, to be completely honest). I still definitely prefer Six of Crows but the power and machinations of the politics and moral struggles in Shadow and Bone make it still very enjoyable and I do give it 5 stars, although that may change to a 4 star in the future.

I reviewed the following books this month, if you wish to read more of my thoughts about them, please feel free to click on the title and do so!

I did three different types of review for each of these- a list, a pictorial representation and a graphic! Please let me know what you think 🙂


What is your favourite book that you read this month? Which book did you end up hating or liking less than you thought you would? Happy reading, Keira x.

P.S. Let me know if you like having the New Years Resolutions there or if you think they make the post excessively long and/or boring- I can’t make my mind up.

Leave a Reply

