Unpopular Opinions Book Tag 3.0

title

Hello everyone! Welcome to the THIRD installment of my unpopular opinions. The first one I did in October of 2015, but the second one was posted on the 28th February last year (which was totally unplanned- I just decided to switch this and my Wrap Up around to give me more time) so it has been exactly a year since I did this tag! I have my previous two tags open in another tab, so hopefully these should be all new answers! I won’t be tagging anyone, but if you would like to do it, feel free to do so and give me a link so I can check it out!


a popular book or series that everyone loved except for you.

screen-shot-2017-02-27-at-16-35-09

Charlotte’s Web by E. B. White. So many people loved this book as children, including my mum, but I just never liked it!


a popular book or series everybody hates except for you.

screen-shot-2017-02-27-at-16-35-16

This was actually really hard. In the end, I’m going to go with Twilight by Stephenie Meyer, except I no longer love it. Like a lot of people, I really enjoyed it when I was younger and although there aspects I still like, Bella’s one dimensional and constant requests to become a vampire really irritate me. Like, what’s so bad about being human! Plus it was annoying. However, in the 10th Anniversary Edition, Meyer rewrote the first book (Twilight) with nearly all of the characters in the opposite gender and it was written as a stand-alone, which worked SO MUCH BETTER and I actually really, really enjoyed.


an OTP you don’t like.

screen-shot-2017-02-27-at-16-36-06

It’s not to much that I don’t like this OTP as I do, but I do prefer the other one in this book and that is Will + Tessa from The Infernal Devices. Now, I liked it, but I was always rooting for Jem that tiny bit more.


a popular book genre you hardly reach for.

screen-shot-2017-02-27-at-16-43-48

Horror. I just really don’t like to be scared and as soon as bugs are introduced I have to get the hell out. There are a lot of (and I mean a lot of) spiders in horror.


a popular or beloved character you don’t like.

screen-shot-2017-02-27-at-16-44-35

I think I’m going to go with Tris from Divergent by Veronica Roth. I don’t hate her or anything, but I don’t really like her either. She annoys me a bit occasionally, but mostly I am emotionless towards her. I’m much more invested in Christina than her (although I’m not particularly invested in any of the character’s stories).


a popular author you can’t seem to get into.

screen-shot-2017-02-27-at-16-48-39

Charles Dickens. Sorry, nope. You know one reason his writing is so full and has so many unnecessarily long paragraphs and descriptions? He wrote for a magazine and got paid my word count. Yeah.


a popular book trope you’re tired of seeing.

screen-shot-2017-02-27-at-16-52-37

A character being black or gay or disabled or whatever simply to make a point about that. I mean sure, books that raise awareness of the issues these people face are good, but can’t we have some books where the main character is black just because they happen to have a higher level of melanin in the skin. Gay because they happen to find the same gender attractive. Muslim because they want to be. We’re at the stage in a lot of society where we don’t need to learn more, we need to normalise as well. These are regular people as much as white, cisgender, straight people are.


a popular series you have no interest in reading.

screen-shot-2017-02-27-at-16-56-01

Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth. Beyond what people have said about it being problematic, I just really don’t particularly care and don’t feel the urge to pick up the book.


a movie/TV show you like more than the book?

Screen Shot 2017-02-27 at 16.59.02.png

Shadowhunters Season 2. I’m not a massive fan of the The Mortal Instruments series apart from the first book and whilst the first season isn’t great, I do like the second one more than the books. Neither is amazing though. Much prefer the Infernal Devices… now that is something I want a TV show for! From the pictures you can also probably see my Malec bias.


What are your unpopular opinions? Please remember that this isn’t trying to offend anyone- if you love anything I didn’t then that’s great and I’m so glad someone enjoyed it! Happy reading, Keira x.

One Comment Add yours

  1. I really don’t enjoy hitchhikers guide. Ive tried it twice. Oh and the only one star I’ve ever given was sirens of titan by Vonnegut 😓

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

