February Wrap Up

Title-1.png

Hello everyone! Today I will be talking about all of my reading in the month of February! Last month I didn’t talk about my progress on my New Years Resolutions, but I do want to briefly do that this month, so that is something that will be happening first!


best-of-category

Okay, so this segment could get pretty long; if you want to skip it, I totally understand- it’s more of a way for me to keep in check than anything else!

Starting with my non-blogging/reading goals… there is basically no point me writing these down as I was not consistent with sticking to them and mostly failed. Although my room was tidy during my holiday. I guess that could count for something.

Now for the blogging goals:

  1. Mark half stars down. It occasionally pains me to do this, but I have been doing so and it’s satisfying to see a slightly more accurate breakdown of my book enjoyment in my Goodreads shelf stats.
  2. Schedule more posts and post 3+ times per week. I didn’t do this well for most of the month, but the past week and a half or so I have posted basically every day, so hopefully I can keep that up!
  3. Do more discussions and reviews.
  4. Make reviews more about Goodreads and enjoy writing them more. I definitely dread writing reviews a lot less and a not-so-mini review (which I do on Goodreads and in Wrap Ups for all books) got a really massive compliment from the author, which made me feel very special.
  5. Be a more active member in the community. Like the posting thing, I didn’t do this particularly well the whole month, but I did over the past week and a bit.
  6. Make my TBRs truly the books I have to read. I have accomplished the past few months and I’m really liking it!

And finally, the reading goals:

  1. My Goodreads goal of 120 books.  21 books ahead of schedule!
  2. My two yearly TBRs (2017 Challenge and Books I Want to Reread). Ahead with these as well!
  3. Finish reading books before starting new ones. I’ve done pretty well with this one!
  4. Read every book I pre-order. I read one of two pre-orders this month, which isn’t bad, but there are still like 9 to read because of last month too…
  5. Get my TBR under control. Yeah, no. Hopefully I buy less books next month and I need to stop requesting so many 😀 I keep saying I will and then I never do.

best-of-category-1

My TBR for this month was incredibly short (it started out as three books but something came up so I had to cancel some review copies). The Ashes and the Sparks was also a review copy, however I DNF’d that book just before something came up so I didn’t review it. It wasn’t a bad book, I was just very confused and probably in a bad mindset to be reading it. However, I wasn’t not enjoying it, so I recommend checking out this promo post I did if you want to know more!

  • Pull by Anne Riley
  • The Ashes and the Sparks by Mary Victoria Johnson

best-of-category-2

Screen Shot 2017-02-03 at 07.55.15.png

  • Pull by Anne Riley. This was my February book for the 2017 Challenge- ‘Pick a book without the letter ‘e’ in the title.’ I ended up really enjoying it and giving it 4 stars- I just wish I got more of the story or what would happen next because it is quite short and a stand-alone.
  • On the Edge by Ilona Andrews. Ilona Andrews is probably my favourite adult/NA paranormal romance author- their books are just so wonderful and fast-paced! I stayed up until 1 ‘o’ clock to finish this book and I’m not complaining at all. This is the first book in the Edge series and I gave it 4.5 stars.
  • Surrender by Pamela Clare. I do love myself some good historical romance especially steamy ones about Scottish Highlanders (thank you Outlander, for starting that particular interest). There were some things that didn’t add up or I felt could have been more developed, but the romance itself was excellent and I really liked all of the characters. This is the first book in the MacKinnon’s Rangers series. I ended up giving this 4 out of 5 stars.

screen-shot-2017-02-10-at-08-02-25

  • Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. Wow. Just wow. This is book 1 in the YA Fantasy duology Six of Crows. (Please, no spoilers for the Grisha trilogy as I haven’t read it yet). Nina and Matthias are my favourite people ever. Just perfection. And whoever said there wasn’t romance in this book was lying. Just saying. 5 stars. This completed the 2017 Challenge category ‘a book recommended to you by someone in the book club’.
  • Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas. This was a reread for me and I actually loved the book even more this time around, although the ending left me slightly less destroyed. 5 massive, huge stars. This was on my re-read TBR for the year.
  • Cry Wolf by Patricia Briggs. Fun and romantic with enough action to balance it out! A great new ‘guilty pleasure’ series (the quotation marks are necessary because I’m not actually guilty about them, but they still serve the purpose of giving me a break from harder, more time-consuming and draining books). This book 1 in the Adult Fantasy/Romance series Alpha and Omega. 4 stars.

screen-shot-2017-02-12-at-23-31-42

  • Wires and Nerve by Marissa Meyer & Doug Holgate. 4.5 stars. I loved it! I’m so glad we get to be back in this world again, although I will say that Wolf and Kai don’t really look how I imagined! This is Book 1 in the Wires and Nerve series of Graphic Novels, a sequel series to the Lunar Chronicles.
  • DarkIsle: The Final Battle by D. A. Nelson. 3.5 stars. This is the final book in the DarkIsle trilogy. Some things were confusing and Morag seemed much older than I remembered her, but it also seemed like not much time had passed since the second book in the series. That being said, it was magical, fun and very exciting!
  • A List of Cages by Robin Roe. 5 stars. This is one of those books where you don’t feel. You just read. You devour the words until they hardly mean anything to you and you’re no longer really reading. You turn pages and black letters squirm in front of your eyes and then you finish it. You turn the last side. Close the book. And start to cry. No matter that you couldn’t tell someone what the last sentence was or what any sentence was- you didn’t just read that book, you lived that book. And the numbness with which you read it breaks and you’re a mess. Maybe not externally, just a few tears. But your brain hurts and weeps and struggles with life and you’re in love. The book where you have to read the acknowledgements because you need to know something about the author of this brilliant story- about the creator of this life you just lead for a few hours. Now that my gushing is slightly over- the friendships, the realness, the family, the love, the writing; everything about this book was perfect. So perfect, so heart-breaking so morally uplifting and tragic. There are not words to describe it. But everyone- everyone- should read this book. I think, although it has only been 5 minutes since I turned that last page, that this book has changed my life. I normally don’t paste the entirety of what I wrote on Goodreads into my Wrap Ups, but I needed to say this. This is a stand-alone YA Contemporary novel and an absolute masterpiece.

screen-shot-2017-02-14-at-21-33-48

  • The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. 4.5 stars. I had a great time rereading this epic adventure! This was on my reread TBR for the year.
  • Untamed by Pamela Clare. 4 stars. I really enjoyed reading more about the MacKinnon brothers and I may even have enjoyed this book a tad more than the first one!
  • Rolling Blackouts by Sarah Glidden. 4 stars. The narrative was occasionally very confusing, but overall I thought it was an important book and the artwork was gorgeous and very much to my tastes. This completes the 2017 Challenge category ‘a book not told exclusively in prose’.

screen-shot-2017-02-16-at-10-04-49

  • Eric by Shaun Tan. 3.5 stars. Rather peculiar, very short, sweet, told in pictures with only a few sentences every couple of pages. It would definitely make a good book to discuss with children about differences in culture, giving thanks and underlying meaning in pictures.
  • The Girl in the Mask by Marie-Louise Jensen. 4 stars. Mr. Charleton is amazing. I love him. I will admit that the ending was a tad disappointing because I wanted something else to happen, but it was unpredictable and fun. This book was on my re-read TBR for the year.
  • Smuggler’s Kiss by Marie-Louise Jensen. 3.5 stars. I think I like the ending to this one more than The Girl in the Mask but it also seems less realistic, so that ruins it a bit. Interesting world of smuggling, some good character development that could have seemed a bit overly-dramatic were it not for the social class Isabelle comes from. This was also a reread.

screen-shot-2017-02-23-at-23-45-38

  • Soulless by Gail Carriger. Book 1 in the Steampunk Romance Adult series The Parasol Protectorate. 4.5 stars. Well I stayed up until 2 in the morning reading this, so you can definitely say I enjoyed it. I believe there may have been a couple inconsistencies (but that may just have been my 2-o-clock-brain) but in general I loved the plot, the mystery and the romance! Definitely a win.
  • Changeless by Gail Carriger. Book 2 in the Steampunk Romance Adult series The Parasol Protectorate. 3. 5 stars. I liked the first one more, but this was still really good. I must say that I am angry at the ending, but it will probably set up the next book quite nicely so if things are executed well in the sequel then I suppose I can forgive it. This story didn’t have quite as much direction as the first one. However, I do love some of the new characters and the eccentric vampire friend whose name I cannot spell is as wonderful as ever.
  • Drums of Autumn by Diana Gabaldon. Book 4 in the Adult Fantasy/Historical Fiction series Outlander. The second half of this book would easily get 4.5 stars (a few too many dramatic misunderstandings for 5 stars), but the first half is really 2.5 or 3 stars. It was slow and boring and quite frankly, Bree and Roger saved this book for me. So yes, I will read the next book and I did enjoy this book, but Claire and Jamie had their time. Now I want Bree and Roger (I really need to find their ship name) to have the spotlight. Fingers crossed. But really, the entire plot of this book could have been solved with one adult conversation.

What was your favourite book that you read this month? Mine was probably A List of Cages (not including my reread of Empire of Storms, which is almost tied with it). Happy reading, Keira x.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I have six of crows just waiting for me but I decided I’d read the other trilogy first but I haven’t gotten around to it yet. D:

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      It’s incredible! I wish I hadn’t waited as long as I did 😱

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

