February Book Haul

title

Well, I ended up acquiring 24 books this month, which is 9 less than last month. I still think it’s way too many books, but it should be even less next month. Most of them were review copies or Kindle books, though, so I’m not that mad about it.


screen-shot-2017-02-03-at-07-59-23

  • On the Edge by Ilona Andrews. Book 1 in the NA Fantasy series The Edge. About a girl living in a community where there is only a little magic who manages to ‘flash white’, setting her apart from the others and what happens when a certain blueblood comes to visit from the Weird.
  • The Last Empress by C. K. Brooke. A prequel novella to the YA Fantasy series Jordinia. The main series is about a girl who was taken away as a baby so that she would not be executed when the royal family fell and a competition to bring her back to her uncle. This book is available for free if you sign up to C. K. Brooke’s newsletter (more information in this post).
  • Traitor to the Throne by Alwyn Hamilton. Book 2 in the YA Fantasy series Rebel of the Sands. The first book is about a girl who lives in a desert where mystical things happen and women are oppressed. Rather than be forced into an abusive life she doesn’t want, Amani finds a way to escape, partially due to her sharpshooting skills, and encounters the kind of politics she had only heard of.

screen-shot-2017-02-03-at-19-07-08

  • Surrender by Pamela Clare. Book 1 in the NA Historical Fiction series MacKinnon’s Rangers. The first book is about Annie, falsely convicted of being a thief by her Uncle to hide his terrible misdeeds and sent to the New World as an indenture. When she escapes because the French killed her master and mistress, she almost gets killed and raped when Iain MacKinnon steps in.
  • An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir. Book 1 in the YA Fantasy series An Ember in the Ashes; I honestly can’t believe it has taken me this long to finally get my hands on this book. All I know is that one of the main characters is a slave, the other is a soldier and that it is supposed to be phenomenal!
  • Non-Heir by Rachel E. Carter. Book 0.5 in the YA Fantasy series The Black Mage. I received this (and the first book last month) for free by signing up for the author’s newsletter. This is a novella. The Black Mage is partially set in a magic school and is recommended for lovers of Throne of Glass.

Screen Shot 2017-02-08 at 22.14.30.png

  • Wires and Nerve by Marissa Meyer. This is the first book in the Graphic Novel series that takes place after the events of Winter, the final book in the YA Sci-Fi series the Lunar Chronicles. I pre-ordered this book, but Amazon didn’t get it in so it came a week late. It follows Iko, Cinder’s android.
  • The Black Lotus by Claire Warner. This is the first book in the paranormal-historical romance series Night Flower. It is set in 1752 and follows a young debutante, Melissa and a troublesome, immortal man, Justin Lestrade. I received a review copy of this book from YA Bound Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.
  • Blood Orchid by Claire Warner. This is the second book in the afore-mentioned Night Flower series. I also received a review copy of this book from YA Bound Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.

Screen Shot 2017-02-09 at 17.37.28.png

  • Home by Eleni McKnight. I received a review copy of this book from YA Bound Book Tours in exchange for an honest review. Home is about a girl living in a dystopian world that reminds me a bit of The Handmaid’s Tale- or at least what little I know of the story as I have yet to actually read it the classic.
  • Cry Wolf by Patricia Briggs. I needed some good PNR and so this happened… This is the first book in the Alpha & Omega series.
  • DarkIsle: The Final Battle by D. A. Nelson. It’s been years since I read the second book in the series, so it really was time I finally bought conclusion to the Middle Grade Fantasy series DarkIsle

screen-shot-2017-02-15-at-14-11-51

  • A List of Cages by Robin Roe. Finally! I’m so glad I have this book in my hands.
  • Untamed by Pamela Clare. This is the NA Historical Romance sequel to Surrender which I also bought and read this month.
  • Eric by Shaun Tan. This is a Children’s mini picture book about a foreign exchange student who decided to live in the pantry.

screen-shot-2017-02-19-at-12-34-28

  • Hold Back the Stars by Katie Khan. This is kind of a crossover between Adult and YA based on Goodreads shelving, kind of NA I suppose. The characters are 25-27 so I’m just going to go with NA. It’s also a Sci-Fi romance. And the cover is gorgeous.
  • Heir to the Sky by Amanda Sun. This sounds so interesting, but there are some mixed reviews so I’m interested to see what I think. This is YA Fantasy.
  • Soulless by Gail Carriger. A Steampunk adult romance, a series, shapeshifters and kickass protagonists. What more could you want! Book 1 in the Parasol Protectorate series.

screen-shot-2017-02-20-at-19-47-31

  • Changeless by Gail Carriger. Book 2 of the aforementioned Parasol Protectorate series.
  • Future Leaders of Nowhere by Emily O’Beirne. YA Contemporary set in a summer camp. Review copy.
  • Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon. I finally got round to getting this YA Contemporary after seeing the movie trailer!

Screen Shot 2017-02-26 at 08.44.00.png

  • We Are Okay by Nina LaCour. Okay, so my pre-order came in late, but at least I got this new release eventually!
  • Winter by Marissa Meyer. This is the final book in the Lunar Chronicles series. I still haven’t bought or read Stars Above, but when I read this book I read it on my Kindle, so I finally got the paperback to go with the other books on my shelves!
  • Das peinlichste Jahr meines Lebens von Mark Lowery. Like the last German book I read, this is also translated from English and I really don’t need a new one, but this was picked by my German tutor, so it’s required reading 😉 It sounds hilarious though.

Are there any books here that I absolutely have to get to if I haven’t already? Happy reading, Keira x.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. bookreviews5blog says:

    24 books! That’s so many😱

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      It really is! I’m lucky I didn’t have to pay for some!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

