Lots of Historical Fiction and a Looooong Book | WWW Wednesday

title

Hello everyone! Today I will (obviously) be doing a WWW Wednesday. I did miss last week (oops) but I’m not going to include books that would have gone in it or we would be here forever! WWW Wednesday is hosted by Sam @Taking on a World of Words.


#1: What book(s) have you recently finished?

screen-shot-2017-02-22-at-07-46-54

Last Thursday I finished Smuggler’s Kiss by Marie-Louise Jensen, a YA Historical Fiction about a girl whose Father returns to England and decides that she has run too wild and takes her to bath to find a husband, at which point she unwittingly gets caught up in politics and wittingly gets involved with highway thieves as she tries her best to defy her father. It was a reread for me and I ended up giving it 3.5 stars!

Screen Shot 2017-02-22 at 07.46.46.png

Then, on Saturday, I started reading Soulless by Gail Carriger at about 11pm. I ended up staying up until 1am to finish the book (unfortunately that isn’t an uncommon a time for me to sleep, but usually it’s not because of reading). When I woke up about 6 hours later I immediately downloaded the next book in the Parasol Protectorate series, Changeless, and had finished it before midday. I gave the first book, Soulless, 4.5 stars and the second book, Changeless, 3.5 stars. I found them funny and witty and loved the romance (especially in the first one), but the ending of the second annoyed me- hopefully I still enjoy the third- and I thought it had less direction than the first book although it was still good. The Parasol Protectorate series is an Adult Steampunk Paranormal Romance Mystery mixture of genres with some very headstrong, and some more frivolous but amusing, characters.


#2: What book(s) are you currently reading?

Screen Shot 2017-02-22 at 08.00.38.png

For the past couple of days I have been reading Drums of Autumn by Diana Gabaldon. Whilst I do like the Outlander series, this book is definitely not my favourite. It’s a bit slow with not much purpose so far (I’m at 43%) which when paired with the description-heavy style of writing makes it quite hard to get through. I am actually enjoying the occasional Roger and Brianna parts more than the Claire and Jamie bits, which is unusual. They are a welcome break from the normal part of the book, even if some of Roger’s actions (one specifically) annoys me slightly at the moment: I have hope yet! I also think that the book might pick up the pace in the second half at which point I will enjoy it more. Drums of Autumn is the 4th book in the Outlander series, which is a mixture of Historical Fiction and Fantasy for adults.


#3: What book(s) are you planning on reading next?

screen-shot-2017-02-22-at-08-12-02

The keyword here is planning, because who knows what I will actually decide when I finally finish the book I’m reading, but for now I’m going to say either Jessica Haggerthwaite: Witch Dispatcher by Emma Barnes or The Watchmaker of Filigree Street by Natasha Pulley. Both books happen to be quite short and I’m probably most excited about The Watchmaker, but Jessica Haggerthwaite is shorter and should be quite funny, so I might read that one to give my brain a bit of a break.


What are you reading at the moment? Let me know! Happy reading, Keira x.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. I found Drums of Autumn harder to get into after Voyager because that book was amazing in my opinion. I started reading The Fiery Cross back in October and put it down after about 25%, I read it a little at a time between books but I haven’t been making much progress with it. I heard it gets really good but right now it’s so slow.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Voyager was definitely really good! I’ll probably wait awhile after finishing this one until reading the next one but I hope I have more luck than you! Good luck in finishing it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m determined to finish it by the summer. I’m hoping once I get to the more exciting stuff I won’t be able to put it down!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I applaud you for reading that Outlander book. I want to read them, but I’m always put off by the length of all of them!
    My WWW Wednesday.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Reading them on my Kindle definitely helps because its harder to see how big it is! The first book wasn’t as long though and went much quicker than this one is 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

