Inside Out Book Tag

Title.png

Now, as much as I do like Disney I did not go and see this film. However, the wonderful Orang-Utan Librarian tagged me to this (and unlike her I’m not wasting an entire year 😉 ) so I thought I would answer these questions! I’m not sure who has done it, but I will tag the top couple of people in my Reader so I tag: Deanna @A Novel Glimpse, Cristina @My Tiny Obsessions and Nicole @Away in Neverland. Obviously if you’ve already done it or don’t want to do it you don’t have to and if you haven’t done it but want to, feel free to do so and leave me a link so I can read it!


Name a book that brings you JOY.

Screen Shot 2017-02-21 at 19.55.11.png

Despite this being the first question, I actually answered it last because I wasn’t sure what to say. A lot of books bring me happiness or laughter. A lot of them bring me sadness (and those are often my favourites). In fact, most of my favourites don’t bring me joy because hey are simply to cruel to my heart. It took a lot of thinking, but I finally settled on the first Harry Potter book: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J. K. Rowling. No one dies, the nostalgia is all there and there is a wonderful Christmas celebration. This book brings back cozy feelings and memories of a much younger Keira, so I would say that is the closest to joy that a book brings me. Joy is just such a full, final word. Scenes bring me joy, books a more jumbled mess of emotions.


Name a book that makes you SAD.

screen-shot-2017-02-21-at-19-59-07

This book made me both happy and sad, to be sure, but I’m still going to go with a recent favourite and say A List of Cages by Robin Roe. That book is absolutely incredible. One of the sentences I used to describe it in my Goodreads thoughts/review was:  ‘…your brain hurts and weeps and struggles with life and you’re in love.’ I was actually so touched because the author responded to the automatic tweet Goodreads sent about me finishing and rating the book thanking me for a beautiful review. It was a pretty mind-boggling experience.


Name a book that makes you ANGRY.

screen-shot-2017-02-21-at-20-04-17

Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas. Don’t get me wrong- I LOVE THAT BOOK. But yes, I was and still am angry for the ending that has destroyed my life. It even managed to narrowly beat the ending of ACOMAF. And yes, the fanart is of Maeve.


Name a book that DISGUSTS you.

Screen Shot 2017-02-21 at 20.09.38.png

Room by Emma Donoghue. I only read the first 50 pages so I’m not sure if I’m entirely qualified to attribute such a serious emotion towards it, but I did review it when I read it and had some issues with the way religion was dealt with and so I never finished it. I’m not going to link to that review because it is from quite awhile ago and isn’t the most eloquently expressed or explained and I’m still disgusted by the aspect I read, but perhaps that is a slightly strong word to give to it especially seeing as I didn’t finish it. Oh well, that’s the best I could think of and the one which immediately comes to mind. Maybe I should do the unpopular opinions book tag again… Let me know if you would want to see that!


Name a book that brings you FEAR.

screen-shot-2017-02-21-at-20-12-50

Silver by Chris Wooding. This was the first and last horror book I read and was almost definitely the wrong choice for me. It was YA and not supposed to be that scary, but when you are intensely scared of wasps and bees, have arachnophobia and are jumpy around creepy crawly things, a book about mutated superbugs is probably not the best choice. It gave me all the nightmares. Yes, ordinarily I would have picked a bug or a spider for the picture on this graphic, but I’m just too scared, so an egg with a frightened face will have to do.


Happy reading! Do you have any strange or serious fears? Let me know if you would be interested in seeing another unpopular opinions tag (or indeed if you have any other posts or recommendations you would like to see)! Happy reading, Keira x.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Kitty says:

    Yes do the unpopular opinions tag!
    I also have this irrational fear of spiders :/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      It really is a bother!

      Like

Leave a Reply

