The Ashes and the Sparks by Mary Victoria Johnson | Book Trailer

aats

Hello everyone! I originally received a review copy of this book courtesy of YA Bound Book Tours, but I got 10% in and stuff came up so I wasn’t able to continue with it. The 10% I read was slightly confusing at times, but still very interesting and there was a lot of folklore which was really cool, so I definitely recommend checking out the book trailer below and seeing if you feel interested!


the-ashes-and-the-sparks

Welcome to the age of airships. It is a world powered by steam and innovation, ruled by an elusive empress at its heart.

Seventeen year-old Jorun is not part of this world. Hers is one of hidden tunnel networks and lights that dance across night skies, on that has remained separate from the rest of society for over a thousand years. This all changes when a boy appears from nowhere, raving about invaders from a faraway land. Purely by chance, Jorun soon finds herself in the middle of a struggle unlike anything she could have ever dreamed of, and must come to the realization that only she can stop an impending war.

(summary from GoodReads)

mvj

Hi! I’m Mary Victoria Johnson, author of fantastical Young Adult fiction. I wrote my first novel when I was fourteen, and I haven’t stopped since! Now eighteen, my bibliography includes BOUNDARY, the first part ofthe Other Horizons Trilogy (Lodestone Books, 2015) and THE ASHES AND THE SPARKS (Fire and Ice YA, 2016). I was born in Cambridgeshire in the UK, and I now live on Vancouver Island where I study Creative Writing at the University of Victoria.


Happy reading, Keira x.

hi
Thanks to YA Bound Book Tours for making this post possible, as well as the author.
One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

