January Wrap Up

Hello everyone! After careful deliberation, I have decided to talk less about the books I’m reading in my Wrap Up as I was basically repeating whatever I was saying on Goodreads, so if you want to see my brief thoughts on all of the books I read, feel free to follow me because I would love to chat with you there!


best-of-category

This month I actually DNF’d one of the books on my TBR after having spent 1.5 years on it and finally deciding it wasn’t worth it. That is The Original Folk and Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm and although I am now not saying anything about the books in my Wrap Up besides my favourite book of the month, I do want to clarify that the only reason I DNF’d this book is because the style of book really isn’t suited to me. Again, if you want to see my slightly-more detailed thoughts, follow me on Goodreads!

Apart from that, I read every single book on my TBR! I think this is the first time since the beginning of my blog and my making TBRs that I have ever actually fully completed one- and I finished it on the 22nd no less! (Well, I read all but one of the books in the first week, so it did take me awhile to get around to that last one.) This whole ‘only put books you really have to read on your TBR thing’ seems to be working out, so I will definitely be continuing with that in the coming months. All in all, I read 21 books this month.


best-of-category-1

screen-shot-2017-01-29-at-18-49-51

  • Loveblood by M. J. O’Shea. Mature YA Werewolf Romance. This was on my TBR as the ‘Books To Reread in 2017’ book off of my year-long TBR. I ended up giving it 3.5 stars, the same as the last time I read the book; it isn’t incredible, but is definitely a fun quick read if I ever need a pick me up or am feeling slumpy.
  • The Yellow Wall-Paper by Charlotte Perkins Gilman. After having enjoyed Herland by the same author I picked this as my January Challenge Book for the 2017 Reading Challenge being hosted by Jackie and I (you can still join as they aren’t really set for specific months). The ‘January Challenge’ was to read a book dealing with a common mental or social disorder/difficulty. This edition contained three classic short stories (all of which fit the bill): The Yellow Wallpaper, The Rocking Chair and Old Water. I loved all of the stories, although The Rocking Chair was probably my favourite, and gave this book 5 stars.
  • The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson. Another classic! This one was required reading for my English Literature GCSE and I read it during a lesson in which we were supposed to be reading a variety of Gothic literature to better understand common themes (I’ve read some before, so I decided to just read the book). Although I am glad I read it all at once rather than spreading it out over months with my class like I did with Lord of the Flies last term, this book was really quite boring most of the time and I gave it 3 stars. This would be considered a Novella due to its length.

screen-shot-2017-01-29-at-18-50-03

  • Newt’s Emerald by Garth Nix. YA Fantasy Regency Romance. Set in one of my favourite time periods to read about, so brownie points for that! 4.5 stars.
  • Throne of Lies by Sara Secora. YA Fantasy. Book 1 in the Amethysta series. This was also on my TBR this month and is a review copy that I received from the author and YA Bound Book Tours. I gave it 4 stars and you can find my review here.
  • Soar by Alyssa Rose Ivy. NA Paranormal Romance. Book 1 in the Empire Chronicles. Free to download on Kindle. I will say that although this series isn’t bad, I much prefer the original Crescent Chronicles (the series that comes before this one). I gave this book 3 stars.

screen-shot-2017-01-29-at-18-50-15

  • Search by Alyssa Rose Ivy. NA Paranormal Romance. Book 2 in the Empire Chronicles. I gave this book 2.5 stars and enjoyed it less than the first one.
  • The Black Prism by Brent Weeks. Adult Fantasy. Book 1 in the Lightbringer Chronicles. I absolutely loved this book and I think this will become one of my new favourite Adult Fantasy series and authors. I gave it 5 stars.
  • The Reader on the 6.27 by Jean-Paul Didierlaurent. Adult Contemporary. I love reading about people with jobs you don’t necessarily think about (like how the main character in this book works in a book-pulping factory). 4.5 stars.

screen-shot-2017-01-29-at-18-50-23

  • The Mirror and the Maze by Renée Ahdieh. This is a short story and book 1.5 in the Wrath and the Dawn duology. YA Fantasy; 3.5 stars. It is free to download on Kindle.
  • Elfin by Quinn Loftis. YA Fantasy, Book 1 in the Elfin trilogy. This was a reread for me and I definitely enjoyed it more when I was younger (I used to reread it all the time when I was about 13) and gave it only 3 stars this time.
  • Wings by Aprilynne Pike. Book 1 in the Wings/Laurel series; YA Fantasy. This was also a reread and I ended up giving it 3.5 stars.

screen-shot-2017-01-29-at-18-50-31

  • Till Death and Beyond by Lyn C. Johanson. Book 1 in the Witch Worlds series; NA/Adult Fantasy. I received a review copy of this book from the author and YA Bound Book Tours. I gave it 3 stars and you can read my review here.
  • Ein ganzes halbes Jahr von Jojo Moyes. Adult Contemporary. Also known as Me Before You in English. I had been reading this book since November for my German tutor. I cried a lot and gave it 4.5 stars.
  • Secrets of Artemis by C. K. Brooke. YA Fantasy. Book 1 in the Teen Goddess series. I received a review copy of this book from the author and YA Bound Book Tours. I gave it 4 stars and my review will be going up in the middle of February. I will simply say that it is not what I expected at all, but in a good way!

screen-shot-2017-01-29-at-18-50-40

  • The Mysterious Howling by Maryrose Wood. This book ticked a book off of both my Rereads TBR and my 2017 Challenge TBR for ‘a book recommended to me by a librarian’ as I first read this back when I was about 9 and it was introduced to me by my wonderful Primary School Librarian Ms. Rose who was an absolute legend. It is a Middle Grade Historical Fiction/Mystery/Magical Realism mash up and I gave it 4 stars.
  • Shadows of the Forest by Emma Michaels. YA Fantasy. I received a review copy of this book from the author and YA Bound Book Tours. I gave this book 4 stars and you can read my review here. I cried. A lot.
  • The Velocipede Races by Emily June Street. YA Fantasy/AU. This was also a reread for me and, just as before, I ended up giving it 5 stars.

screen-shot-2017-01-30-at-17-46-50

  • Spindle by E. K. Johnston. YA Fantasy. This is the companion sequel to A Thousand Nights and is a re-imagining of Sleeping Beauty done really, really well with some beautiful prose. 4.5 stars.
  • Legacy of the Mind by H. R. Moore. YA Fantasy. Book 1 in the Legacy trilogy. I received a review copy of this book from the author and YA Bound Book Tours. I ended up absolutely loving this book and giving it 4.5 stars. I can’t wait to share my thoughts with you in late February!
  • The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart. Middle Grade Mystery. Book 1 in the Mysterious Benedict series. This was one of my favourite books when I was in 4th grade and I loved it just as much now (also- I’m impressed with myself for remembering some of the small details, although I did forget some major ones). 5 stars.

And that’s all. Let me know what you think about this new style of wrap up! Do you like it or did you prefer my old style? I like both, so it really is about what you would rather see! If you want to see some of my favourite quotes and moments from books I read then read my post here; I will be doing one every month hopefully! Happy reading, Keira x.


4 Comments Add yours

  1. Tiana says:

    It looks like you read a lot of great books this past month! Which one would you recommend most?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Hmm, well that depends. If you like classics then definitely The Yellow Wall-Paper; if you like middle grade/contemporary/mystery then The Mysterious Benedict Society and if you like fantasy either The Black Prism, Spindle or Newt’s Emerald (depending on if you like Adult High Fantasy, fairytale retellings or YA Historical Fantasy respectively).

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Tiana says:

        Honestly I like all those things! I’m definitely not a picky reader, thanks for the recommendations!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Keira says:

          Anytime 😀

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

