Truthwitch Book Tag

Hello everyone! Windwitch by Susan Dennard, the sequel to Truthwitch, came out this week and as I have wanted to do this tag for awhile, I thought that this would be the perfect opportunity! PLEASE bare in mind that I have not yet read Windwitch, so NO SPOILERS!! I also have a review for Truthwitch if you are interested in what I thought.


Ohrin Mountains- What is your favourite fictional land?

23399192

Her grief for both of them was flavored with guilt the way salt flavors the sea; she could taste it in the tears.

Rook by Sharon Cameron. I love sci-fi/alternate universes that mirror the 17/1800s and this book actually inspired me to model different places in the sci-fi novel I am working on after historical places! I loved this book so much that I actually opted to study it in school when we had to compare modern literature to a classic piece!


Safiya and Iseult’s Friendship- Who is your favourite dynamic duo?

ignite-me

“Water that never moves.” I say to him. “It’s fine for a little while. You can drink from it and it’ll sustain you. But if it sits too long it goes bad. It grows stale. It becomes toxic.” I shake my head. “I need waves. I need waterfalls. I want rushing currents.”

Kenji and Juliette from Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi automatically sprang to mind when I thought about this one! Their friendship is just so hilarious- mostly because of Kenji’s appearance.


Merik- Which character is the ultimate hunk?

rhys

//quote from A Court of Thorns and Roses: Spoiler FREE//

Rhysand stared at me for long enough that I faced him.
“Be glad of your human heart, Feyre. Pity those who don’t feel anything at all.”

Rhysand (A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas). If you have read the book you know. If you have only read ACOTAR you might know already, but you will know. Rhysand is the ultimate book boyfriend.


Kullen- Who is your favourite sidekick?

ron

“Don’t talk to me.”
“Why not?”
“Because I want to fix that in my memory for ever. Draco Malfoy, the amazing bouncing ferret…”

Kullen was my absolute favourite character in Truthwitch and if this wasn’t the Truthwitch book tag, he would be my answer for this one. However, as it is the Truthwitch book tag, I’m going to go for Ron Weasley!


Aeduan- Who is your favourite mysterious or villainous character?

illuminae-pages4

“Miracles are statistical improbabilities. And fate is an illusion humanity uses to comfort itself in the dark. There are no absolutes in life, save death.”

AIDAN (Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff). He’s just so perfect.


Aether- A book that you can’t stop thinking about?

vintage-childrens-classics-night-circus

“I am tired of trying to hold things together that cannot be held. Trying to control what cannot be controlled. I am tired of denying myself what I want for fear of breaking things I cannot fix. They will break no matter what we do.”

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. I have crawled through the internet for recommendations based on my love of this book. Luckily, it appears many others have done the same and there were plenty of articles to choose from!


Air- A book that you had low expectations for that completely blew you away?

18166936

By this point Viviane Lavender had loved Jack Griffith for twelve years, which was far more than half of her life. If she thought of her love as a commodity and were to, say, eat it, it would fill 4,745 cherry pies. If she were to preserve it, she would need 23,725 glass jars and labels and a basement spanning the length of Pinnacle Lane.

If she were to drink it, she’d drown.

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton. It was my first magical realism book and I think that back was kind of misleading! I did a full review, which you can find here.


Earth- A book that you always go back to?

51eUXWtEOfL._AC_UL320_SR212,320_

//quote from Throne of Glass, no spoilers//

“My name is Celaena Sardothien. But it makes no difference if my name’s Celaena or Lillian or Bitch, because I’d still beat you, no matter what you call me.”

Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas. Of all the Throne of Glass books this is the one I reread the most times. A Court of Mist and Fury is a close second, though.


Fire- A book where the hype spread quickly?

Screen Shot 2015-09-27 at 09.05.37

“I don’t know. I don’t actually remember anything from before the surgery.”

His eyebrows rose, his blue eyes sucking in all the light of the room. “The cybernetic opetation?”

“No, the sex change.” The doctor’s smile faltered. “I’m joking.”

Cinder by Marissa Meyer. I technically wasn’t in the online book community when this book first came out, but from looking back at old videos the first book in the series had much the same reaction as the subsequent ones: fast and furious.


Void- Recommend a scary/mysterious read.

Screen Shot 2015-12-29 at 22.37.09

“To have endured horrors, to have seen the worst of humanity and have your life made unrecognizable by it, to come out of all that honorable and brave— that was magical.”

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children: The Graphic Novel by Ransom Riggs & Cassandra Jean. I don’t really read scary books because I get scared easily (especially if there is anything to do with bugs or spiders or blegh urgh), but the graphic novels of the Miss Peregrine’s series do a good job of making an already dark series even more spooky without being overly creepy!


Water- Name a book that flowed nicely.

ill give you the sun.jpeg

“This is what I want: I want to grab my brother’s hand and run back through time, losing years like coats falling from our shoulders.”

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson. I don’t talk about this book enough yet I owe it so much. I’ve always been a reader, but there was about a year after I first got my computer where I hardly read at all. My grandparents bought me this book when they came over to visit us (I was living in Germany at the time) and I read it; it lead me to BookTube and then that lead to me starting this blog, spending all of my money in books and reading a whole lot more! This book perfectly executes not only regular(ish) shifts in POV, but shifts in the time of the character’s lives at which each POV takes place; they are 13 in one POV and 16 in the other and both parts run simultaneously.


Threadsisters and Threadbrothers- Tag your friends!

Hmm, well I don’t know who has done this tag, but I’ll tag some people and you obviously don’t have to do it! I’ll tag The Orang-Utan Librarian, Cristina @My Tiny Obsessions and @Awayinneverland.


That’s all for today! Sorry for my absence this week, I’ve been pretty busy. Also, I am so excited because Anthony @aVeryAwkwardBlog finally posted today so I am also tagging him; we missed him! Happy reading, Keira x.

9 thoughts on “Truthwitch Book Tag

Leave a Reply

