Academy Book Awards 2016

on

You might remember that last year I did something called the ‘Academy Book Awards’ where I basically adapted film award categories for books and then told you my picks from what I read in 2016. I did it because there were more books that I wanted to feature than in my top-books-of-the-year post, so I am doing it again this year (although the categories have changed slightly). If you would like to do this next year (or even this year), you can find the different categories here. Without further ado, let us begin!


best-of-category

Best Debut Novel

vintage-childrens-classics-night-circus

Not a 2016 debut, but I can’t imagine how an author managed this as a first novel; it’s incredible. Absolutely incredible.

Best Series Finale

25944798

The fierceness got more and more throughout the series and came to a wonderful, thrilling conclusion! The Beauty of Darkness is the final book in the Remnant Chronicles Trilogy.

Best Graphic Novel

17333322

I only read the graphic novels of these books this year, so I didn’t have many to choose from, but the art in this is gorgeous and was a really great way to recap the story before watching the film!

Best Book Originally in a Foreign Language

b4d203d0-cd88-4506-9d33-1e141aea48f3-665x1020

Whoever translated this did an incredible job; the writing style is preserved and incredible as well as the story.

Best Non-Fiction Book

cover.jpg.rendition.460.707

Beautiful, powerful, inspiring; this tale of a young boy and the letters he sent was a bright spark in darker times.

Best Book under 250 pages

51M6M+BBY+L._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

A lesser known classic which does on of my favourite things; it explores the divides of society within a limited classification system- in this case, a binary sex classification: male and female.

Best Media-diverse Book:

51PU+wgixKL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

I can’t believe I waited so long to read this incredible story. The way it is crafted was intimidating, but now I have only the sincerest of appreciation for these authors; I don’t know how they did it.

Best Classic:

412lq3u6syl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

The book that got me back into Classics and made them far less daunting and a lot more appealing. Jane Eyre is a romance, an adventure and an absolute favourite!

Best Verse/Poetry:

5-to-1

A somewhat scary, somewhat interesting insight on the horrors of the 1-child rule and some of the more far-fetched possibilities of what that could lead to. This novel told in verse left a lasting impression and was easy to follow despite not being told in regular prose.

best-of-category-1

Best Protagonists

29236299
Nik Malikov

Snarky, funny, dangerous- a wonderful addition to the incredible cast of this series.

51xzw82xoyl-_sx303_bo1204203200_
Elsa

So childlike, so imaginative, so passionate.

Best Antagonist

818hhkpufkl
Papa S.

He’s just vile and manipulative and you can’t help but hate him. He has no redemption. He is horrible.

Best Secondary Characters

amren
A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas. Source.

Amren is vicious and smart and beautifully dreadful. The entirety of the Inner Court could be on here, literally any of them. Their friendship, their family, their adventures and their trials make ACOMAF even more incredible.

the-essex-serpent-special-edition
Charles Ambrose

Charles added such a different insight into the main character, making him an invaluable secondary role. It is hard to talk about characters unless you have read the book, so read it because it’s amazing.

Best Writing

b4d203d0-cd88-4506-9d33-1e141aea48f3-665x1020

In the beginning I wasn’t sure if I would like the writing style in this book and I found it slowed down my enjoyment, but after a couple of chapters I was completely hooked and the writing really did add to my enjoyment infinitely.

Best World Building

vintage-childrens-classics-night-circus

The Circus is a beautifully, mysteriously, thrillingly, horrifically crafted masterpiece of creations.

Most Attractive Character

rhys
A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas. Source.

There isn’t a picture good enough to properly portray how attractive Rhys is. Just saying.

Best Styled Character

celia
The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

Celia from The Night Circus, or really any character in the book, is impeccably styled both in and out of the Circus and with Celia’s affinity for manipulating fabrics, there was not a moment where she was not impeccably dressed and uniquely styled.

Best Romantic Relationship

aedion-and-lysandra
Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas. Source.

Aedion and Lysandra are a beautiful couple, with an interesting, blossoming and practical relationship. Sarah J. Maas writes romance like no one else.

Best Platonic Relationship

28110143
Alice and Oliver

You know the trope where the two people start to hate each other and then fall in love? I love that trope. I also love it when it turns into a wonderful, strong, ever-lasting friendship as it did in Furthermore!

Best Cast of Characters

vintage-childrens-classics-night-circus

Everyone in The Night Circus is peculiar, unique and exquisitely crafted with depth and intrigue practically a requirement.

best-of-category-2

Best Cover Design

the-mermaids-sister

The front and back cover of this book besides being gorgeous and soft to touch , connect so well to the events in the book that they’re a golden nugget for those who have read the book and slightly distracting whilst reading the book!

Best Title

a-tyranny-of-petticoats

This collection of short stories is wonderful, but the title itself is quite a special work of art. It’s so hard to come up with titles and I just really like this one!

Best Illustrations

23301545

Chris Riddell is an incredible illustrator and this is definitely no exception. A beautiful monochromatic fairytale concoction.

best-of-category-3

Best Author

sarah-j-maas

Sarah J. Maas is a masterful writer. She has yet to write a book I have not devoured and I will read virtually anything she deigns to put her touch on.

Special Commendation

25327818

Before I read The Night Circus in the last week of 2016, this was my absolute favourite book this year. I loved the characters, the art and the ideas and morals portrayed in this book!

Best Adaptation

51eok8evitl-_sx323_bo1204203200_

The Martian is a book that I read in January whilst away in Russia and then, as soon as I came back home, I watched the film. Whilst they are both reasonably different and the film leaves some things out, both are incredibly funny and heart-breaking.

Overall Best

vintage-childrens-classics-night-circus

How any author can manipulate words in such a way that I never want to leave and how any book can be so special I cannot comprehend. There are no words to describe how special and beautiful this book is. The circus is aptly named, for this was a dream and a nightmare and I never want to leave.


Have you read any of these books? Did you love them as much as me? Let me know! Happy reading, Keira x.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. I love this! It’s such a creative idea.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Thank you 😛

      Like

  2. LyfWithEm says:

    Ooh I’d love to read Miss Peregrines home for peculiar children in graphic novel! I watched the movie and it was really good!!! Other than seeing that movie, I haven’t read any of these books, but thanks for the ideas 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Of course! The art is gorgeous, definitely recommend!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

