Books Published in 2016 | Bookmas Day 9

On the ninth day of bookmas, my true love gave to me, 9 books published in 2016… Merry bookmas! I am actually pre-writing a post and feeling very proud of myself. Admittedly, I have a review going up tomorrow that has to be up by 1pm and must be the top post of the day so…. I do kind of have a bit of a major incentive as I don’t get up particularly early at the moment. But still- its 6pm and I already posted today and have one post scheduled for tomorrow. This is incredible! Anyway, that is completely besides the point: today I will be talking about 9 of my favourite books that were published this year.


  • Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi. I loved the main characters, the world and the writing. The balance between simplicity and poetic-ness that Tahereh found in the final book of the Shatter Me trilogy was continued into this incredible middle grade novel.
  • And I Darken by Kiersten White. Vlad the Impaler? Hell yeah. This was dramatic, political, epic and a massive dose of I-need-the-sequel-ten-years-ago.
  • The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan. Kane Chronicles? Eh. Magnus Chase? Ok. Heroes of Olympus? Alright. The Trials of Apollo has finally brought Rick Riordan back to his glory of Percy Jackson, at least for me. This was hilarious and perfection.
  • A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas. How could I not include this book? I have read it four times, it hurt and healed my heart, it was beautiful. The world, the characters, the romance, the friendship. Everything was perfection and I could not have asked for more. I liked ACOTAR a lot, but ACOMAF is beyond words.
  • The Essex Serpent by Sarah Perry. I loved this. It won Waterstones Book of the Year this year and it isn’t hard to see why (I also need the new special Waterstones edition very badly). The characters are incredible, the story unique and the writing phenomenal.
  • Truthwitch by Susan Dennard. This was so long ago. It earns a place because a) why not and b) Windwitch is coming out soon and I’m super excited!
  • Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas. This book destroyed me.
  • A Bond of Venom and Magic by Karen Tomlinson. This was my perfect ‘guilty pleasure’: mates, fae, romance, action.
  • Heir of Thunder by Karissa Laurel. I have a review coming for this today and this is definitely not influenced by that, because Heir of Thunder was great. I tried to spotlight a couple lesser-known releases in this post and this was great, so why not!

And that is all! Merry bookmas, Keira x.

Leave a Reply

