Christmas Cracker Book Tag

Twas the night before Christmas, when all through the house

Not a creature was stirring, not even a mouse.

The stockings were hung by the chimney with care,

In hopes that St Nicholas soon would be there.

-Clement Moore


A book with a wintry cover

23627690

“Adara liked the winter best of all, for when the world grew cold the ice dragon came.”

The Ice Dragon by George R. R. Martin with illustrations by Luis Royo. Ice, white and in the middle of a years-long winter, this book can hardly get more wintry. This, if you didn’t know, is a Middle Grade companion novel to the A Song of Ice and Fire series.


A book you’re likely to buy as a present

23301545

“It would be the end of her life, she decided, if life was a time of choices. In a week from now, she would have no choices.”

The Sleeper and the Spindle by Neil Gaiman. It’s an interesting retelling and although very short and slight, an absolute stunner of book. The illustrations are so beautiful and the cover art is gorgeous.


A festive themed book

I don’t really read ‘festive themed’ books, so I don’t have an answer. The only festive themed book I have read was about the first chapter or so of A Christmas Carol + the Barbie-movie version when I was about 9. I hate Charles Dickens, so its not something I particularly want to try again. I think I also had a collection of Christmas stories when I was about 10, but I don’t have any idea what it was called.


A book you can curl up with by the fireplace

2544359

“You cannot stop the birds of sorrow from flying over your head, but you can stop them nesting in your hair.”

The Dragonfly Pool by Eva Ibbotson. This book is historical fiction, which is always nice during the winter time, but it is also one of my favourite books from when I was younger; the adventures of the children in this book are so nostalgic that no matter what dreadful things occur, reading this book always makes me happy.


A book you want to read over the festive period

vintage-childrens-classics-night-circus

“The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not.”

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. I’ve already started this book and it’s quite magical, so it seems perfect for this time of year. That and I want to finish all of the books I’m currently reading before the end of the year (although I doubt that is going to happen at this point).


A book going on your Christmas wishlist

30065028

Newt Scamander: See, they’re currently in alien terrain, surrounded by millions of the most vicious creatures on the planet. Humans.

Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them: The Screenplay by J. K. Rowling. I saw the film and it was incredible (Eddie Redmayne is one of my favourite actors, so that probably helped). I can only imagine that the screenplay would be equally good, but mostly it adds to my ever-increasing Harry Potter collection!


And that is all! What book are you hoping you get for Christmas? Happy reading, Keira x.

Leave a Reply

