The Sequels of 2016 | Bookmas Day 7

On the seventh day of bookmas my true love gave to me, seven spectacular sequels… Merry bookmas! I’m finally catching up with these posts again, so I am mentally saying I am giving myself a pat on the back, but really I’m just relieved. The following 7 books were nearly all published in 2016, but one of them is from 2015.


  • Gemina by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff. This is the sequel to Illuminae, which I also read this year. This series in general is an absolutely incredible masterpiece. Gemina managed to give us tantalising glimpses of the amazing characters from Illuminae, whilst making us fall deeply, madly in love with the new characters at the same time.
  • Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas. The 5th book in the Throne of Glass series. How sad it is that this is soon coming to a close. This was a book of epic proportions and it has absolutely destroyed my life. I don’t think I will reread this one for awhile; I’m not sure my heart could handle it. It hurts more than even the end of ACOMAF, and that was hard enough to deal with.
  • The Rose and the Dagger by Renée Ahdieh. This is the 2nd and final book in the Wrath and the Dawn duology. The writing in these books are so beautiful and this one was actually quite different to the first. Whereas the first was a lot more focused on relationships, this was a lot more action and politically heavy.
  • A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas. First of all, any author who can deliver two 600+ page books each year deserves serious props. That’s got to be hard. Especially when they are just so good! The romance, the world, just everything. I really liked ACOTAR, but ACOMAF is beyond words.
  • The Beauty of Darkness by Mary E. Pearson. This is the final book in the Remnant Chronicles Trilogy and it was amazing. So full of action and drama and just sheer fierceness on all accounts.
  • The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkoski. This was the third and final book in the Winner’s Trilogy which I absolutely adore. It has been ages since I read this, so I should probably read the final page to fully remember what happened, but I know distinctly that this pulled at my heartstrings and was by far the best book in the series.
  • Frozen Tides by Morgan Rhodes. I read all four of the Falling Kingdoms series that were out at the beginning of the year in about a month along with a lot of other people in a read-a-thon. As I have not yet read Crystal Storm, this is the latest book in the series that I have read and it just gets better. I absolutely adore Lysandra and all of the other characters; the drama just gets more intense as the story goes on and I can’t imagine what happens next.

And that is it for this post! Yes, I know, I cheated a little and did it in Wrap Up/Haul style and did it in bullet points, but it takes so much less time to do it this way and I honstly can’t have that much to say about all of these books! Happy reading, Keira x.

 

Leave a Reply

