YA Debuts 2016 | Bookmas Day 2

On the second day of Bookmas my true love gave to me 2 YA Debuts… Happy Bookmas everyone! Bookmas is hosted by Hailey in Bookland over on YouTube and is done every year for the twelve days before Christmas (13-24 December). This one was unbelieveably hard: I read so few debut novels this year! In the end I just went on the Goodreads Choice Awards and picked two of my favourite YA Debuts off their ‘Debut Goodreads Author’ page.


rebel-of-the-sandsI read this way back at the beginning of the year when it first came out and absolutely loved it! I have been really enjoying desert-y/middle eastern settings for the past two years, so this was really good for that. Amani and Jin are great characters! The second book in this series, Traitor to the Throne, comes out next year and I’m really looking forward to the political intrigue.

Rebel of the Sands has great romance, great plot and awesome fantasy; the world is really unique but not so complicated that it is impossible to understand within a short space of time- a good thing, as the book is only about 350ish pages or so, as far as I can remember. This is obviously YA and Fantasy.


25950053This is another one I read at the beginning of the year. I think I was much more on top of the new releases then 😀 This is also YA Fantasy and the first book in a series. I see a theme here. The second book will be out in 2017 and is called The Ship Beyond Time.

The thing I love most about this book is that as it is set on a ship that can travel through time, we get to see all sorts of settings- from modern day New York, to 1884 Hawaii and even to places that only exist in myths and fairy tales. I love seeing all of these different places around the world.

I also really enjoyed the dynamics within the crew on the ship, especially between Nix and her father. One thing I really loved about this book is how much I could relate to Nix. As someone who has spent the majority of their life abroad because of my father’s work, I too can find it hard to find a sort of ‘home’ or national identity and I really related to the struggles of never completely settling, although unlike Nix, I can go back to the places I’ve been. Luckily!


That is it for Bookmas day 2! I am trying not to reuse books so that I still have something to say, but sometimes it just can’t be avoided! Happy reading, Keira x.

Leave a Reply

