The Duchess Quest by C. K. Brooke | Book Review

on

I’m not going to explain the plot of this book, because I am absolutely crap at summarising stories and I couldn’t do even the worst book justice. Not that this is the worst book, because it definitely is not. I received a free e-copy in exchange for an honest review through YA Bound Book Tours

Let me start with the negatives and then we can talk about the positives. Sort of ending on a high note. The beginning of the story was quite cliché and the whole trope of a long-lost family member who is searched for by someone who doesn’t necessarily want them just for the sake of finding them is overdone a lot in YA and this book didn’t put enough of a twist on it for me. That being said, the end was less cliché than the beginning and it was still enjoyable.

Both Max and Cosmith annoyed me, especially Max at the end. However, this isn’t necessarily a bad thing. The author managed to make me form opinions about the characters which is always a good thing and it helped develop my greater feelings towards the characters. The whole love shape at the beginning is a bit too much for me. I prefer a complete lack of love triangle or a well-thought out one, but certainly no love squares or anything like that.

I wanted to see more of Priya and Paxi (the people who brought Dainy up) because they were really interesting characters and I loved the relationship they had with Dainy. By the end, I loved both of the established relationships between the main characters and fully supported the character’s decisions. I also found that the way the author manipulated the romance and chemistry between characters in the beginning of the book led itself nicely to the twist and turns of the later storyline without being too obvious.

Overall, whilst there were certain things I didn’t like very much or wanted more of, I really enjoyed this book and gave it 3.5 stars.

Leave a Reply

