Books That Took Me Forever To Finish | Top 5 Wednesday

on

Hello everyone! Top 5 Wednesday is hosted by Sam @Thoughts on Tomes. I am only including books that I have already finished here, otherwise the answers would literally be the books I’m reading at the moment.

  1. A Storm of Swords by George R. R. Martin. This took me three months of continuous slow reading to finish.
  2. Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson. This took me a couple of months, but in my defence I was reading it for German class so we had to read it at the pace dictated by the teacher.
  3. Das geheime Vermächtnis des Pan von Sandra Regnier. This German book took me a month to read, primarily because it was in German, which makes it in need of more concentration for me to read, in addition to slowing down my reading speed.
  4. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë. This took me two months to read, but I’m still making it number 4 and not number 3 because I spent two days reading it and then put it down for a month and then finished the rest of it in a week. So really, it wasn’t quite as long. Despite taking me so long to read, this one of my favourite books ever.
  5. A Clash of Kings by George R. R. Martin. Yes, this one only took me three weeks compared to the three months I needed for its sequel, but I read only one other book in the time it took me to read this one, whereas I read over 50 in the time it took me to read A Storm of Swords. In addition to this, I was actively reading this book for three weeks, whereas I was only occasionally reading A Storm of Swords. I found this one quite lagging.

And that is all! Happy reading, Keira x.

P.S. I was so tired writing this that I contemplated not doing it, so please excuse any errors I have inevitably made.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. I think that each of Game of Thrones books has taken me a long time as well, good choices!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Thank you! Yes, the GOT books are massive and all the names are the same. Also, George R. R. Martin changes the POV so much that just as you get engrossed in one characters story, you have to switch to another one.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Exactly and with so many characters it takes a while to get back to the same storyline.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Keira says:

          Yes!

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

