Villains I Kind of Like | Top Ten Tuesday

Hello everyone! This weeks Top Ten Tuesday was all about villains, so I decided to talk about villains that I actually kind of liked! I’ll be doing this in no particular order, because I can’t think that clearly at 10pm. Okay, so I cheated with a few because they’re only villains for part of the book, but I was running out of options! Please be ware that there are minor spoilers.


AIDAN


img_0297

AIDAN is from Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff and is artificial intelligence. Although AIDAN makes some dubious choices and is often the villain, I found myself falling in love with him like I would a real person, which was both slightly disconcerting and fascinating.


Mance Rayder


300px-diego_gisbert_llorens_mance_rayder

Mance Rayder, or the King Beyond the Wall is from the A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R. R. Martin (please no spoilers, I’ve only read the first three books). Although, in a way, everyone in this book is the villain to someone, The King Beyond the Wall is a threat to the majority of the other Kings and Queens, but I actually, well, respect him. I might not like him, but I do respect him. A lot.


Grolkinei


screen-shot-2016-10-03-at-21-41-03

Grolkinei is from the slightly less known series Daughters of Saraqael by Raine Thomas. I absolutely detest Grolkinei, especially after the third book, but he has still some how managed to make me like him a little bit. He’s razor sharp wit and intelligence for strategy are quite awe-inspiring. Perhaps once again I do not like him, but I have respect for his abilities to problem solve and innovate, even if he is a hard-headed piece of trash.


Queen Levana


56dad7d069c7fb5608c69afa_572e57599c99b4a86f788fe6_320

Okay, well, I don’t like Queen Levanna in the main books, but I do like her or at least feel a lot of sympathy for her in Fairest by Marissa Meyer. She didn’t have the best time of it and although it by no means excuses her actions, it does make her a more well-rounded character and for that I am appreciative.


Rhysand


de8b6decfab4a86dd6a7a094c9592508

Please allow me to specify that I am talking about Rhysand in A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas, and not in the second book. In addition this, yes, I know it is a bit of a cheat, but he is very morally ambiguous in the first book, so I’m counting it. And I loved him from the very first page his name appeared. Ok, maybe not, but very soon afterwards.


The Komizar


screen-shot-2016-10-03-at-21-55-21

The quote above refers more to my love for the Komizar, than for the Komizar himself, who is quite power-hungry and nasty. The Komizar from The Heart of Betrayal by Mary E. Pearson (the sequel to The Kiss of Deception) is both alluring, mysterious and deadly.


The Red Queen


cfb17aee6a98afd0eec23b19200f6d7a

The Red Queen in The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen, is evil, no two ways about it, but also very alluring and interesting, which is why I enjoyed reading about her.


Premier Allemande


70a73b3ec2320ca3b80844859be00cf3

I detested LeBlanc in Rook, so as Allemande was being played by him, I therefore felt slightly sorry for Allemande, even if he was also awful.


Ignifex


the_beauty_and_the_beast_by_lehuss-d6d3ojn
Source

Ignifex from Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge, is only sort of a villain. I mean, its a Beauty and the Beast retelling. Is it rude if I say ‘work it out’? Yes? Ok. Please, do feel free to draw your own conclusions and I apologise for my laziness in not spelling it out for you explaining it more clearly.


Sebastian Morgenstern


6911085764_243287bdba_b-225

I kind of felt bad for the kid; he couldn’t help certain things happening to him (no more info because SPOILERS :D). Sebastian is from The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare.


And that is all for today’s Top Ten Tuesday. Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Happy reading, Keira x.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Sebastian was a great choice! He’s horrible.
    My TTT.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Thank you, he really is a nasty piece of work!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

