Fates Divided by Jules Barnard | Book Review

unspecified

Hello everyone! Today I will be reviewing Fates Divided by Jules Barnard as part of a promotional blog tour going from today until the 30th of September! As part of the blog tour I received a free eRC (eReview Copy) in exchange for an honest review. I gave this book 3.5 stars and really enjoyed myself. If you haven’t already looked at where I explain my ratings (in the footer), 3.5 stars to me means: ‘I really enjoyed it and there were few issues: any that existed were small.’ Stay tuned for the end as there is a giveaway, but if you want to skip some of the extra stuff, well, I know I always do ;).


About the Book:


Fates Divided is a YA Paranormal Romance. It is the first book in the Halven Rising series and was released on August 31st 2015.

Elena’s goals are simple: 1) be the first in her family to graduate college 2) become a kick-butt chemist. Until she comes into her half-Fae powers from a mother she never knew. The Fae are willing to harm the last of Elena’s loved ones if she doesn’t use her power over the elements to cure them of a deadly disease.

Her brooding neighbor, Derek, isn’t the friendliest guy, but he has access to an off-hours lab and is willing to help Elena create the antivirus. He has his own secrets to keep, and this business Elena is mixed up in could blow his cover. But when Elena and Derek get together, more than chemicals spark fire–and they soon discover just how complicated attraction can get when they find themselves on the other side of the portal, fighting for survival.

Lives collide, and allegiance and love are tested, in Fates Divided.


Fates Divided made me laugh three times. Now, that may not seem like a lot but please allow me to make the distinction between smiling and laughing. It is quite a feat to make me laugh whilst reading: it typically comes from some kind of witty banter, so if you have managed to made me laugh it means that your dialogue is most likely very natural-sounding as well as hilarious in perhaps a bit of a dark, twisted or perverse way. I am the first to admit that my sense of humour is sarcastic and dirty. In any case. I laughed. That is a good thing.

The two main characters of this story (Elena and Derek) were not my favourite characters. I absolutely adored Keen and Reese and the relationship that builds there (so I will definitely be reading the second book in this series, as it is about them). I also really loved two of the older side characters that we meet in Tirnan, which is the Fae realm: Camille and Deirdre. They were really cool, kickass ladies and there abilities were awesome.

The idea of a super virus wiping out the Fae race was really interesting and original. Unfortunately, there were also some not so original parts that I didn’t feel were manipulated in such a way that made them less cliched. A few of these cliches or tropes include: finding powers at 18, the Fae not acknowledging their half-human offspring and that causing tension and the romance was also a bit cliched.

Speaking of the romance, I found Elena and Derek’s relationship to be moving a bit fast. It is said that they must find a cure for the super-virus within a week, so everything in the book must of happened within that week. Going from neighbours to well, how far they got in a week was a bit far-fetched. Perhaps I am wrong, because time does work differently in Tirnan, but certainly before they got to Tirnan, it was moving too quickly. I also found the romance a bit drama-heavy for my liking. However, that being said, the romance scenes between both couples were very cute and did make me smile. The Kingdom names were a bit clichéd, but I actually don’t mind that.

I also really loved how responsibly sex-positive the book was and I am, as always, a massive fan of guys eating a ridiculous amount of food because they are ‘growing’ men. Not like, gorging on junk food, but need-a-lot-of-food-to-keep-me-alive. Don’t ask, I just like it. Speaking of which, I really wish I could cook as well as Elena. Also, Elena is mixed-race: she is part hispanic and part caucasian, which is definitely a plus. As such as someone who is not mixed-race can tell, the author did a good job of at least touching on the issues that brings, although she could of perhaps tied it in more whilst in Tirnan, because it sort of got forgotten about. The only other thing that I didn’t like is not really a dislike, but I would say that some of the suspicions people had were introduced too blatantly and ruined a bit of the mystery. That is to say, the reader knew concretely what would happen before the characters, which I am not a fan of.

Overall, I really enjoyed the book and despite having a few things which I did not like as much, I do recommend this book if you want a nice book to curl up with and get some smiley-romance with a magical twist. I will definitely be reading the next book and look forward to finding out more about Keen and Reese!


About the Author:


jj

**Click here to sign up to Jules Barnard’s New Release Newsletter. You’ll be the first to learn about new releases and gain access to subscriber freebies, including FREE extra scenes.**

A RITA-nominated author, Jules Barnard began her publishing career in 2014 with Deep Blue, the first book in the contemporary Blue Series, hitting bestseller lists on Amazon, iBooks, and All Romance. In 2015, she launched Fates Divided, the first of a romantic fantasy series Library Journal calls “…an exciting new fantasy adventure.” Whether she’s writing about beautiful Lake Tahoe, or a Fae world embedded in a college campus, Jules spins suspenseful stories filled with realistic characters who have heart and humor.

When Jules isn’t in her sweatpants writing and rewarding herself with chocolate, she spends her time with her husband and two children in their small hometown on the California coast. She credits herself with the ability to read while running on the treadmill or burning dinner.

You can join Jules Barnard’s Facebook Fan Group here.

Twitter | Facebook | Website | Goodreads


Money Stuff Links:


Buy the Book:  Google Play | Kobo | iBooks | Amazon US | Barnes and Noble | Amazon UK |

Enter the  Rafflecopter giveaway for a $15 Amazon Giftcard


And that is all! Of course, if you didn’t want to read all of the extra stuff then you probably aren’t here right now, but I do hope you at least enjoyed my review!                                  Happy reading, Keira x.


nnn
Book Tour Organised by YA Bound Book Tours

Book Tour Organised by YA Bound Book Tours

3 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

