August Wrap Up

In addition to all of the books that I read in the month of August, I also went and reread my favourite parts of Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas. Despite rereading most of the rest of the series (something which was also unnecessary as I have read it multiple times), I have read the book 3 times this year already and think every word is pretty much engrained onto my brain by this point and really if I only read my favourite parts (which is the majority of the book, but still) I would still be prepared for Heir of Fire.


Progress made… my TBR.


  • Passenger by Alexandra Bracken
  • Half Bad by Sally Green
  • The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender
  • Die Erwählte von Sarah J. Maas
  • Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys
  • The Complete Poetry of Edgar Allen Poe
  • The Essex Serpent by Sarah Perry
  • Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J. K. Rowling
  • Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J. K. Rowling
  • Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J. K. Rowling
  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J. K. Rowling
  • Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J. K. Rowling, John Tiffany & Jack Thorne
  • Modern Romance by Aziz Ansari and Eric Klinenberg: 1 chapter
  • The Original Folk and Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm: 7 stories.
  • The Art of Dramatic Writing by Lajos Egri: to the end of the next chapter

Not great and I wish I could have made the progress I wanted to on the three progress-books, which I didn’t, but oh well: it could of been worse.


  • Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys. I really enjoyed the second half of this book, but at the beginning especially I found it hard to get invested in the story as there were so many POVs and the chapters were very, very short. However, this worked in the latter parts of the story and I really became invested in the characters and their relationships. I gave this book four stars.
  • The Complete Poetry of Edgar Allen Poe. I really enjoyed some of them, but others I did not, as is typical when reading collections of poetry. Therefore, I gave it 3.5 stars. I have ear-marked my favourite ones to go back to them in the future should I choose. The poems I liked most were: Alone, The Sleeper, To One in Paradise, To F-, Dream-Land, The Raven, Eldorado.
  • Air Awakens by Elise Kova. I really, really enjoyed this. At one point, I was concerned about some relationship drama, but my concerns were thankfully alleviated. Like the characters and romances, but can’t wait to read more. I gave this book 4.5 stars.
  • Passenger by Alexandra Bracken. This was amazing! It was suspenseful, intense, romantic, daring and absolutely bloody brilliant. I love the characters and the world which Alexandra Bracken has created. The only thing is: I want to see more of Jack the Cabin Boy! Among other things, naturally, which would be spoilers. But we can meet the crew again please? Thank you! I gave this book five stars. This was one of the It’s Not Just A Book Club books of the month.
  • Die Erwählte von Sarah J. Maas. Ich habe diese Buch schon viel mal auf Englisch gelesen, also habe ich schon die ganze Geschichte gewissen, aber es hat nichts von mein Vergnügen des Buches abgezogen. Die Erwählte ist ein toll-geschriebener, meister Stück Literatur. Ich habe diese Buch 5 sterne gegeben. (english: I’ve read this book many times in English already, so I already knew the whole story, but it didn’t detract at all from my enjoyment of the book. Throne of Glass is a well-written, masterful piece of literature. I gave this book 5 stars.)
  • The Strange and Beautiful Sorrwos of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton. This was my first foray into magical realism and I now understand why people like it so much. This book was both poignant and beautifully written and I couldn’t have wished for a better introduction to the genre. It was told in a manner which I may have typically found boring, but in this case found riveting. An absolutely excellent and profoundly eloquent read! I gave this book 5 stars. This was one of the It’s Not Just A Book Club books of the month.
  • The Glass Arrow by Kristen Simmons. I enjoyed this book enough, but it wasn’t anything special and the characters didn’t really make me fall in love with them. It felt like a guilty pleasure type holiday read that wasn’t all that pleasurable. Even though I read it in one go, I ended up giving this 2.5 stars.
  • Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas. Of course I loved this book as much as ever. There is nothing really to say about these books other than that they are utter perfection and I seriously envy Sarah J. Maas’ writing skill. 5 stars, obviously. This is the second book in the Throne of Glass series.
  • Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas.I love this book more and more each time I read it and I’m sure my love for it will only continue to increase. I love Fae males. How could I give this book anything but 5 stars?
  • The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater. I really enjoyed the psychic elements of this book, which was really interesting, as well as the relationships between characters. I think this can be developed into a really interesting series and I’m looking forward to it. I gave this book 4.5 stars.
  • Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J. K. Rowling. What could I give this book except five stars? It used to be my favourite book in the series and to do this day remains one of my favourites. Harry Potter is love.
  • Hollow City: The Graphic Novel by Ransom Riggs and Cassandra Jean. I really enjoyed this Graphic Novel version of Ransom Rigg’s Hollow City, although of course you do get more with the novel. The artwork in these graphic novels is truly stunning. 4 stars. This is the second book in the Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children series.
  • The Velocipede Races by Emily June Street. This was possibly one of the best finds of my reading life! I loved it and it’s publisher! It was captivating and stunning and I can’t wait to read anything else Emily June Street might write. I will be writing a full review on this shortly. 5 stars.
  • Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J. K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany. I enjoyed this but had some major issues. Firstly, the time twister thing: in the original series it is determined that if you travel back in time and do something, the people in that time will see it, meaning you’ve already done it. That means, that you if you are living in the now and you go back and change something, it won’t change your ‘now’ because when you changed the past you made that ‘now’ (sorry, that is probably a very bad explanation, but anyway). Also, I felt that Albus and Scorpius’ relationship had a far more romantic tone to it than platonic but this really wasn’t done well. In addition to this, a lot of the characterisation seemed off. Therefore (with the exception of the Albus/Scorpius thing which was an issue anyway), I really enjoyed this, but more of as its own individual play than as a continuation of the series. I was reading a post which also pointed out the alarming similarities to the A Very Potter Musical produced by StarKid, which I have not seen.I loved Scorpius as a character and wish he was his own book character not associated with this. Apart from that, I think that Harry’s portrayal as a bad father was somewhat inaccurate as he did have father figures and it was somewhat of an insult to prior characters. I will still get tickets to see the play if possible, because I think the play will be better and I will be able to separate it more. It kind of works as a separate novel but not with the canon. This also read more like fan-fiction than an actual book. 3 stars.
  • The Essex Serpent by Sarah Perry. I very much enjoyed this book and its characters, however I felt that the very ending was slightly unclear and a bit too rushed in how it tried to determine where each character was in their lives. However, the story was interesting, the characters exciting and compelling and the setting both mysterious and well-known. The contrasts in character between Cora and William worked very well. 4 stars.
  • The Beauty of Darkness by Mary E. Pearson. It was so good, but I’m kind of sad its over. AmaZING is all I have to say. 5 stars. This is the third and final book in the Remnant Chronicles.
  • A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas. As this is the second time I have read this book this year, it does not count to my Goodreads challenge. I loved it just as much this time as the first time and need the next book very badly. This is the second book in the ACOTAR trilogy.
  • Becoming by Raine Thomans. Another reread- this month really has been a reread month. I look forward to rereading the rest of this series as well. I love this series, but I do find the books a bit short, like they really need to be read back to back, as they are all sort of small snippets of something that could happen in a bigger book. 3.5 stars. This is the first book in the Daughters of Saraqael trilogy.
  • Central by Raine Thomas. I really enjoy this series, but the dialogue sometimes seems quite forced and not very natural. Despite this I still love the books and will give it 3.5 stars. This is the second book in the Daughters of Saraqael trilogy.
  • Half Bad by Sally Green. I really, really loved this book and thought that the voice was really interesting. I can’t wait to see how the story progresses and give it 4.5 stars. This was one of the It’s Not Just A Book Club books of the month.
  • Foretold by Raine Thomas. The books in this series just keep getting better. Still a 3.5 stars, but better and longer than the previous two. This is the third book in the Estilorians series and the last book in the Daughters of Saraqael trilogy.

And there you have it, all of the books I finished in the month of August! I wonder what I’m still reading and what I have in store next month: I guess we’ll find out soon! Happy reading, Keira x.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Lisa says:

    As with the last few times as well, I really enjoy the way you’re doing your wrap ups! Also, as I was skimming over the short thoughts of each book, the German stood out to me (as a native German speaker). The first time I skimmed that part, I thought you were a native speaker too, that’s how well the order in that sentence was. There are some small errors (which I could correct you and privately send you if that’s what you wanted idk sorry), but other than that you are doing very well!
    How do you read so many books, though?? That’s a lot of progress there!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Thank you! I lived in Germany for awhile, but yeah I still make mistakes xD I don’t know how I read so many books! Summer holidays and fast reading speed, I guess 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

