August Book Haul

on

Hello everyone! I ended up getting rather more books in August than I meant too (and I still have some to buy at the beginning of September that I didn’t get around to doing this month), largely because my mum was going through her books and offloaded a good amount on to me! Let me know if any of these are your favourites!


  • Paper and Fire by Rachel Caine: YA Fantasy, second book in the Great Library trilogy.
  • Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley: YA Magical Realism, first book in the Magonia series.
  • The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt: Adult contemporary. I got this for 50p and a coffee shop next to my house.
  • Hollow City: The Graphic Novel by Ransom Riggs and Cassandra Jean:
    YA Fantasy, second book in the Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children trilogy (this is the Graphic Novel version of the original). I had this on pre-order.
  • Twelve Kings by Bradley Beaulieu: YA Fantasy, first book in the Song of the Shattered Sands series. I found this book on Piéra Forde’s Booktube channel and I trust her recommendation (she said it reminded her a bit of Throne of Glass).
  • The Beauty of Darkness by Mary E. Pearson: YA Fantasy, last book in the Remnant Chronicles trilogy. I had this on pre-order.
  • Harrius Potter et Camera Secretorum: Middle Grade Fantasy, second book in the Harry Potter series (but in Latin). I bought this as a souvenir from Bath, England.

 

  • A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas. New Adult Fantasy, second book in the ACOTAR series. I already owned this book on my Kindle, but I want to own all of the Sarah J. Maas books in physical copies, so I bought myself the UK paperback (the one shown is the US one, but the only difference is that the background of the UK one is just plain blue.
  • Becoming by Raine Thomas. YA Fantasy, first book in the Estilorians series and the Daughters of Saraqael trilogy. I also already owned this on my Kindle but wanted to reread it in its physical form.
  • The Gantean by Emily June Street. YA Fantasy, first book in the Tales of Blood and Light series. I read The Velocipede Races this month by the same author and needed to try out some of her other work.

These rest of the books are all from my mother, so I didn’t actually buy them, they are just ones that she doesn’t need anymore. There aren’t any descriptions because I didn’t pick them.

  • The Pact by Jodi Picoult
  • My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult
  • Das Geheimnis des Kalligraphen von Rafik Schami
  • Der Teezauberer von Ewald Arenz
  • The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
  • Boating for Beginners by Jeanette Winterson
  • A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess
  • Catch-22 by Joseph Heller
  • The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho
  • The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

23448673

 

In addition to all of these, I also received one review copy through YA Bound Book Tours. The book is The Duchess Quest by C. K. Brooke and you should expect a review for it before the middle of October.

 

 

 


And that is all of the new books that I have acquired in the month of August! Hope you enjoyed and happy reading, Keira x.

Leave a Reply

