A Long Time Ago, In A Land Far, Far Away | Original Book Tag

on

Hello, welcome. My name is Keira. All of the usual introductory stuff. You may or may not know that I love all things to do with fairy tales and all of they fairy tale tags out there at the moment are about specific fairy tales or specific fairy tale characters, so this is a more general one! I hope you enjoy this tag. If you would like to do it, feel free, but please link back to me so I can see all of the tags you do! I tag The Orang-Utan Librarian, Cristina, Aimal and Cรกtia.


Once Upon A Time.

At least in western fairy-tales, once upon a time is the most common and well-known opening for a traditional fairytale. What book opening makes you feel nostalgic?


potter1

The opening of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J. K. Rowling is so recognisable to me that I even understand it in Latin (which I don’t speak). Opening the page and reading the sentence is like coming back after a long holiday.


In A Land Far, Far Away.

Another common opening which speaks of far off places. What is a book set in a country completely unlike your own?


maxresdefault

Journey to the River Sea by Eva Ibbotson takes place in a historic Brazil in the Amazon rainforest and as I live in England and have only ever lived in Europe, that is very different. (I lived in Germany and Switzerland as well.)


From Mouth to Mouth.

Our oldest fairy tales were told time and time again with no written record, told only in the spoken form. Everyone had their own version of the fairy tales. What is you favourite retelling?


My favourite retelling is actually a very loose retelling, but would have to be A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas, which is a retelling of the Hades and Persephone myth from Greek mythology. (I never said it had to be a fairy-tale retelling ๐Ÿ™‚ ) By the way, if you haven’t checked out the ACOTAR series yet, or anything by Sarah J. Maas, you really should. And for those of you who don’t know, the pictures show two of the main characters in ACOMAF.


Through the Generations.

Fairy tales are told to us as children and so are passed on through the years. What is a book that someone beloved passed on to you?


4038935973_e116c7dff7

My mother and her sister, owned between them a large copy of Fairy Tales retold by Bridget Hadaway which holds some of my most beloved fairy tales complete with beautiful illustrations to match. It’s quite old and the dust jacket is far too big for it now, but I still love it.


A Special Story.

Fairy tales are a big part of our culture and say a lot about who we are as people. What is your favourite fairytale and what does it say about you?


4d3089ee788ec9a40ac56f38d1ea66fd

My favourite fairy tale is Beauty and the Beast (not the disney version, necessarily, although I do like that one: bare in mind- Disney fairy tales are RETELLINGS, not the originals ๐Ÿ˜‰ ). I suppose that means I am a helpless romantic and that I have chosen to ignore Stockholm Syndrome claims. But you know what? The message is beautiful: love comes from personality and not appearance. It is also probably a reflection on how much I identified with Belle’s love of reading and knowledge.


And They All Lived Happily Ever After.

Fairy tales tend to have happy endings. What is a book you’ll love forever?


tumblr_nv3h8dWGsj1r4hs3lo1_500

I could say Harry Potter, but I’m going to go with Watership Down by Richard Adams. Funnily enough, I didn’t actually enjoy this book the first time I read it, but now (for about 5 years) it has become one of my all-time favourite books.


And that is all! Again, please feel free to do the tag and let me know so I can come and check it out ๐Ÿ™‚ Happy reading, Keira x.

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Ahh love this tag! Really looking forward to doing it! And I adore Eva Ibbotson! Agree with you- love Beauty and the beast- I’m a hopeless romantic too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Eva Ibbotson is great. Beauty and the Beast is great. Can you tell it’s midnight? I’m glad you liked it and look forward to seeing your answers ๐Ÿ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      1. She is!! It is! hahaha I know that feeling well lol

        Liked by 1 person

  2. cath278 says:

    This tag looks amazing! Loved your answers and I’m definitely gonna be doing it soon ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Thank you! I can’t wait to see it!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This is such a creative and wonderful tag, Keira! Thank you so, so much for tagging me. ๐Ÿ˜€ โค

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Thank you and you’re very welcome ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  4. Hello Keiii
    Surprise waiting for you on my blog ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      ….

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Princess Sarah says:

    What an awesome and original and cute tag!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

