July Book Haul

‘Sometimes, less is not more. Sometimes, more is more.’

Hello everyone! I bought so many books this month. Or well, half of these I bought this month. The other half I bought in April, May and June and had shipped to my grandparents house in England so that I could have them when I arrived. In any case, this will be a long one, so let’s just start.


These first two books were the last books I ever bought in Germany; I bought them at Franfkurt Airport as I needed to use the rest of my euros before leaving or else they wouldn’t be much good to me.

  • And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini. This is an Adult novel about a sister and a brother with a very strong connection.
  • Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen. This is a classic.
  • The Art of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson. This is a contemporary YA novel dealing with the process of transition as a transgender person. I have already read this book, so if you would like my opinions on it, please take a look at my July Wrap Up.
  • If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo. This is a contemporary YA novel which also has a transgender main protagonist.
  • The Girl of Ink and Stars by Kiran Millwood Hargrave. This is a fantasy Middle Grade novel about a girl who is the daughter of a cartographer. I have already read this book, so if you would like my opinions on it, please take a look at my July Wrap Up.
  • Eliza Rose by Lucy Worsley. This is a historical fiction, upper Middle Grade novel set in the Tudor period. I have already read this book, so if you would like my opinions on it, please take a look at my July Wrap Up.
  • The Fellowship of the Ring by J. R. R. Tolkien. Everyone knows what this is: it is a fantasy and a modern classic. I have already read this book, so if you would like my opinions on it, please take a look at my July Wrap Up.
  • Belle by Paula Byrne. This is a historical Adult novel and is based on a true story. I am not sure whether or not the account is entirely true. I bought this book whilst visiting Scone Palace, as one of the characters is the Earl of Mansfield, to whom the Palace belongs.
  • And I Darken by Kiersten White. This is a YA Fantasy set in the time of the Ottoman Empire. I have already read this book, so if you would like my opinions on it, please take a look at my July Wrap Up.
  • Paper Butterflies by Lisa Heathfield. This is a YA Contemporary with a not-so-wonderful family and a boy who offers a girl freedom.
  • Greek and Roman Political Ideas by Melissa Lane.
    This is a Non-Fiction novel exploring how Greek and Roman Political Ideas affect our current ones and what we can learn from the Empires of the past in terms of politics.
  • The Essex Serpent by Sarah Perry. This is a historical novel about two people with entirely different ideas about how the world works, but with a common interest and a strong connection.
  • Dear World, How Are You? by Toby Little.
    This is a powerful non-fiction novel which collects some of the letters that Toby Little wrote to the world and some of the responses he received. I have already read this book, so if you would like my opinions on it, please take a look at my July Wrap Up.
  • The Colour of Magic by Terry Pratchett.
    This is the first book in the incredibly long account of Discworld history and is Fantasy.

The next five books I actually already own, but wanted the paperback editions of all of them as this is one of my all-time favourite series. The series is YA High Fantasy about a girl with many names.

  •  Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas.
  • Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas.
  • Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas.
  • Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas.
  • The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Maas.
  • The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater. This is a YA Fantasy novel with a group of boys and a girl called Blue.
  • Red Rising by Pierce Brown. This is a science fiction novel where not everything is as necessary as it seems.
  • The Philosopher Kings by Jo Walton. This is the second book in the trilogy accounting Athena’s social experiment based on Plato’s Republic.
  • The Memory Keeper’s Daughter by Kim Edwards. This is an Adult novel that promises to make me think.
  • This Savage Song by V. E. Schwab. Good versus evil and the balance between the two. This is a YA Fantasy novel.
  • Pull by Anne Riley. This is a YA novel where some people have the power turn back time just enough to prevent something from happening.
  • The Black Prism by Brent Weeks. An adult fantasy novel where magic takes its toll.
  • The Fever Tree by Jennifer McVeigh. A historical fiction Adult novel set in colonial South Africa.
  • The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood. A modern classic set in a world in which women have no rights.
  • Passenger by Alexandra Bracken. A YA Novel with time travel.
  • The Well of Ascension by Brandon Sanderson. The second book in the Mistborn Trilogy, an Adult Fantasy in which magic comes from metal.
  • The Hero of Ages by Brandon Sanderson. The third book in the Mistborn Trilogy, an Adult Fantasy in which magic comes from metal.
  • Air Awakens by Elise Kova. A YA Fantasy novel with an Empire and a girl who could change everything with her power.
  • Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff. A YA Sci-Fi novel told in an extraordinarily odd way.
  • The Velocipede Races by Emily June Street. An Adult (or YA depending on who you ask- I haven’t read it so I don’t know) historical fiction novel about a girl who wants to race her bike and can’t.
  • Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J. K. Rowling, John Tiffany & Jack Thorne. The highly anticipated script of Harry Potter’s eighth story.

Have you read any of these books? Are you as excited for the Harry Potter script as I am? Happy reading, Keira x.

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Oooh so many fabulous books!! Particularly Lord of the Rings! And Red Rising is amazing!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      I’m looking forward to reading them all!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Kitty says:

    I’m really looking forwards to The Cursed Child!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      I’m forcing myself no to read it until I finish rereading the series again (I’m on the 4th book) and it is agony.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

