It’s New News | August 2016

on

Hello everyone, welcome! I am very sorry and ashamed of myself that I did not manage to do one of these for July, but the biggest release of the month (as I’m sure we all know) was Harry Potter and the Cursed Child. Unfortunately, I was not able to go to a launch night event and I also do not have tickets to see the play, but if (when) the play tours the UK, I will be sure to get tickets (or I’ll try at least). For now, though, let’s take a look at some of the releases I am most interested in this month!


2nd-

The Beauty of Darkness by Mary E. Pearson

25944798

Well, no description for this one as, uniquely on this list, this is a sequel. Or rather, it is the conclusion to the wonderful trilogy that is the Remnant Chronicles! I’m looking forward to more badassery, love and politics and plan on getting a hand on a copy immediately.

Beauty and the Clockwork Beast by Nancy Campbell Allen

27218553

When the first line of the description for this book said ‘Jane Eyre meets Beauty and the Beast’, I knew I had to include it. Beauty and the Beast is my favourite Disney movie and is one of my favourite fairytales, whilst Jane Eyre is one of my favourite books. Then, I read this review and was sure I had to read it. Basically: Victorian era Steampunk romance. In any case, I encourage you to read the review I linked for it is very detailed and definitely persuaded me to read it. This is the first book in a new series.

Wax by Gina Damico

23454794

This book is a bit more horror than I typically read, but sounds most brilliantly original and so I had to include it. Poppy Palladino comes from Paraffin, Vermont. Paraffin is home to the world-renowned Grosholtz Candle Factory, but as some of the dark secrets behind the factory are revealed and Poppy stumbles upon a room of lifelike wax statues, people in Paraffin start not to seem so human…

9th-

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

26114463

Assassins, traitors, schools and vengeance. Set in a land where three suns almost never set, this latest adventure from Jay Kristoff seems like it will be a thrilling ride. Also, according to Jay Kristoff, the setting is a collision between Ancient Rome and the Venice of the Middle Ages.

The Girl Who Drank the Moon by Kelly Barnhill

28110852

This seemed to me, at first, like a stereotypical type of story with a place giving a sacrifice to a witch in hope that it will stop her from terrorizing the town. But the witch isn’t that evil and blah blah blah. However, the unique thing that piqued my interest is that the witch, who’s name is Xan, rescues the ‘abandoned’ children and delivers them to families on the other side of the Forest. This is described as a ‘epic coming-of-age fairy tale destined to become a modern classic’.

All the Ugly and Wonderful Things by Bryn Greenwood

26114135

I don’t know much about this book, except that it deals with ugly and wonderful things and that one of/the main character(s) is the daughter of a meth dealer. The thing that really convinced me to add this book was actually the answer to a question. Someone asked ‘Is this book going to horrify me?’ and the answer showing was: ‘I think this book is very far form horrifying. It’s sad, touching and exe opening more than anything. For me, this is the realest love I’ve read about in a book for a long, long time.’

23rd-

The Wrong Side of Magic by Janette Rallison

25688984

I first clicked on this book because the cover reminded me somewhat of Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi, which is also being published this month, which piqued my interest in what it could be about. That and that the bright colours stand out a lot. This is a middle grade novel about a boy who stopped believing in magic until he is thrust into a magical world without knowing any of the rules. Naturally, chaos ensues and the only person who can help him is a) the person who got him into the mess in the first place and b) is someone who requires a favour from him in return: a big favour.

30th-

Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi

28110143

This cover is gorgeous and I loved Ignite Me so I can’t wait to see what this middle grade novel bring with a protagonist whom colours seems to evade who loves her Father so much that she will do anything to bring him back. This seems like it will be a magic filled adventure and I am up for the ride.

The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee

24921954

This is a New York City of the future: a city of innovation and dreams, but where everything wants something and everyone has something to lose. It seems, from the description, that the higher up you live, the more important you are, which seemed really interesting and I am interested in exploring the world that (I hope) Katharine McGee has artfully explored.

Tell Me Something Real by Calla Devlin

28954078

This seems like a deeply thoughtful and compelling novel. I almost didn’t include it, except for a wonderful review someone who received an ARC of it made. (Find the review here.) This is a Young Adult Contemporary about three sisters who have a mother with leukemia. The story is told from the middle sister’s point of view- Vanessa, who is a talented pianist. The novel explores the bonds between the sisters and their mother. The actual summary obviously does a much better job of explaining this than I do, especially seeing as I haven’t actually read any of the books on this list, but is much too long to include here.


And that is all. What books are you anticipating this month? Happy reading, Keira x.

Leave a Reply

