June Book Haul

on

‘Absence makes the heart grow fonder, but it also makes the fingers forget.’ -Keira Charters, 2016.

Hello everyone! First and fore-mostly, I would like to apologise for my overlong absence. I was gone on a course for three weeks, which I’m sure I will talk about in more detail at a later date. Then, whilst visiting some relatives (as I am currently still doing), one of the worst tragedies known to bloggers occurred: the WiFi was broken. They got a new router today, so now it is working again! In any case, this is very delayed and although it is not the most interesting of posts, I am still putting it up in order, albeit a month late. A few more monthly posts after this one and then into some more original things, hopefully!

I had originally, after failing to post this in an acceptable time frame, intended to combine this with my July Book Haul, but… well, you will see in the next few days why that would have been a very LONG mistake. So it is separate. And now, without further ado… let us go!


Okay, so these first three books weren’t really bought. The first two were given to my mum as a present and after reading them, she has ‘lent’ them to me. She knows as well as I do that she will never get the back now (unless I don’t like them, in which case she is most welcome to them). The third, she owned on her Kindle and therefore I simply downloaded it from the archived items. I do, however, one day wish to one the entire Outlander series in full sized paperback editions. That day, however is not now.

  • The Reader on the 6.27 by Jean-Paul Didierlaurent.
    This book was originally written in French and unfortunately, although I am learning this romance language, I am not yet proficient enough in it to feel comfortable reading French novels. Therefore, I am very glad that this book has been translated.
  • All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doer. This book is one that I have been eyeing for awhile, so to get it off my mum was wonderful! I hope it lives to the wondrously high praise it so often receives.
  • Dragonfly in Amber by Diana Gabaldon.
    The second book in the Outlander series. Jamie. Jamie. Jamie. There is no more to say and I will speak more of this in my wrap up of July.

These next two books are the only books this month (or well, last month) that I actually needed to get hands on, as they were the books I hosted in July for the book club Jackie and I run. I bought Kindle Editions of both of them. I will not say any more of them here, but stay tuned for my July Wrap Up where I will speak about them some more.

  • The Orphan Queen by Jodi Meadows.
  • We Were Liars by E. Lockhart.

These three books were bought in case I had a lot of freetime on my course (which I didn’t) and were all Kindle Books that I downloaded just before leaving for my course and so they were the last books that I bought in June.

  • The Glass Arrow by Kristen Simmons.
  • Uprising by Heather Sunseri.  Both this book and Renaissance are part of the Emerge series by Heather Sunseri which I began reading in June. It is not the best series, by any means, but it is fun light reading if I want a quick book that isn’t particularly fluffy in the lightest.
  • Renaissance by Heather Sunseri

These next five books I don’t really have anything to say about individually, so I will just say here that Karstadt (a German department store thing) was having a massive sale on books (german books). One book for 99c. Three of the below books are hardcovers and one of them an expensive paperback. Altogether I paid €4.95.

  • Wie ein Falke im Wind von Gabriele Beyerlein.
  • Schicksalsreiter von Astrid Frank.  I will say one thing about this book- it is unfortunately for some reason, not catalogue on Goodreads, so when I read this I will have to make note of it so that I can add it to my challenge, or else find away to get it added.
  • Im Land des Voodoo-Mondes von Kathleen Weise.
  • Unter meinen Füßen die Straßen von Wendelin Van Draanen.  One thing about this book too- it was originally written in English, something which I did not find out until after I purchased it. No matter, though 🙂
  • Der Tränenpalast von Ralf Isau.

And those are all of the books that I bought/acquired in June 2016: 6 eBooks and 7 physical books (only because of the deal, though, and stealing some of mums). Happy reading! Keira x.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Marilyn says:

    Welcome back. Great haul,enjoy!
    Marilyn

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Thank you!

      Like

  2. I was so intrigued by the Astrid Frank book cover. It looks awesome. I wish I could speak/read German. Sigh.
    x The Captain

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Maybe you should learn! It’s a difficult language, but very fun… Especially when I’m angry at someone. Even something like ‘why would you do this to me’ sounds meaner 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

