The Greek Mythology Book Tag

I was tagged to do this at the beginning of the month by the wonderful Cristina @My Tiny Obsessions. I really love her blog, so I definitely encourage you to go and check it out! And now, without further ado, let’s go! Also, stay tuned at the end as I have an announcement/opportunity/thingy to talk about!


ZEU8079685S: GOD OF THE SKY AND THUNDER, KING OF THE GODS

What is your favourite book (in a category of your choice)?

I’m going to go for my favourite childhood standalone and for that I will pick The Girl Who Could Fly by Victoria Forester. I love how unique the concept is and the beautiful messages that are woven into the fast-paced and compelling story.


61fdBiQsNuLPOSEIDON: GOD OF THE SEAS AND EARTHQUAKES

What is a book that drowned you in feels?

Okay, well this could quite easily be a Harry Potter one, but instead I’m going to go with The Dragonfly Pool by Eva Ibbotson. This is also one of my childhood favourites and I cry and smile every time I read it.


k

HADES: GOD OF THE UNDERWORLD

What is your favourite book with a dark/ominous plot?

Seed by Lisa Heathfield is definitely ominous and also really intriguing and compelling to read! The whole setting is shifty from the beginning and the amount of corruption in the small part of society in which the live is almost unbelievable and scarily real.


tumblr_o0g710NEvH1r80kcoo1_500HERA: GODDESS OF MARRIAGE AND FAMILY

What is the cutest fictional couple?

The cutest… that makes it hard. Sexiest I could deal with (because I just finished Outlander and am finding it hard to deal with my love for Jaime and Claire). In any case, the cutest fictional couple is probably going to go to Cress and Thorne from Cress by Marissa Meyer, because they are amazing. (Image Source)


ItemImage.aspx_

ATHENA: GODDESS OF WISDOM, HANDICRAFT AND STRATEGIC WARFARE

Which series has the best world-building?

Let’s say the Mistborn Series (well, The Final Empire as I haven’t read any of the others) by Brandon Sanderson, although I could easily go with a lot of other books as well. I really like how unique The Final Empire’s world is, especially with the whole magic system. I’m really looking forward to it being further developed in the rest of the series.


28696452APHRODITE: GODDESS OF LOVE AND BEAUTY

What is the most beautiful cover on a 2016 release?

There are so many beautiful covers on 2016 releases, but I’m going to go with the UK cover for This Savage Song by V. E. Schwab. I haven’t read this yet, although I will be getting it soon and I really want to. This cover is gorgeous and haunting and I really want to see how it connects to the story.


a-game-of-thronesARES: GOD OF WAR AND BLOODSHED

What is the most violent book you’ve ever read?

For this one, I’m definitely going to have to go with Game of Thrones by George R R Martin. It is violent in more than the way of the number of heads that roll, it is sexually violent as well.


tumblr_nd1klhtdit1tdejt6o1_500HEPHAESTUS: GOD OF BLACKSMITHS AND FIRE

Who is the most scorching hot, swoon-worthy character?

Jamie Fraser. Nothing else needs to be said. Mostly because I just finished Outlander. Otherwise this would be an impossible question. Jaime Fraser is sexy in manner, behaviour and appearance and I… well, I wouldn’t mind travelling through time for a partner like that.


Lion_LovegoodARTEMIS: GODDESS OF THE HUNT AND VIRGINITY

Who is your favourite kick-ass heroine?

Luna Lovegood. Not a typical answer, I suppose, but she is definitely kick-ass and a heroine, so I think she fits in fine 🙂 Luna is brave and beautiful and honest and kind, as well as pretty nifty with a wand and sharp as the end of a quill. If that isn’t kick-ass then I don’t know what is.


APOLLO: GOD OF LIGHT AND HEALING

What is a sequel that redeemed its series?

I actually don’t have an answer for this one, mostly because if I don’t like the first book in a series, I won’t continue wasting my time and money on the rest of the books.


Screen Shot 2015-12-29 at 22.36.45

HERMES: MESSENGER GOD OF THIEVES AND COMMERCE

What is the book with the best message?

I really enjoy the message conveyed by the names in A Thousand Nights by E. K. Johnston… or well, the lack of names, so I’m going to pick that as my book for Hermes.


fish-in-a-tree-335x512HESTIA: GODDESS OF THE HEARTH AND HOME

What is the book with the most relate-able story?

Fish In A Tree by Lynda Mullay Hunt isn’t so much relate-able in the story as a whole, but a lot of the problems the main character faces I can identify in my sister as they have the same learning difference (dyslexia) and were, at my time of reading the book, the same age.


rj_hogwDEMETER: GODDESS OF FERTILITY AND AGRICULTURE

What is your favourite bookish setting?

Hogwarts! Did you even need to ask? Although… there are a few places that rival this now.


empire-of-thrones-ukDIONYSUS: GOD OF WINE AND CELEBRATION

What 2016 release are you most anticipating?

Empire of Storms by Sarah J Maas, for sure. I cannot wait to get my hands on it: the need is literally burning me from the inside. The cover is gorgeous and I need more Rowaelin in my life!


Okay, well that took a lot of work 🙂 It was really hard, but I tried not to repeat books or authors and I succeeded (I know, rare occasion). Now, if you may have noticed by my answer for Dionysus, I am a major Throne of Glass fan. If you are also a fan of the series (and have read Queen of Shadows!) and would be interested in doing a Throne of Glass themed collab with me, I would love to work with you: just leave me a comment or drop me an email (keira.signingon@gmail.com). To finish this off, I tag Anthony and Jackie to do this. Happy reading! Keira x.

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Emma The Book Lover says:

    Nice answers !! Ah I love Greek mythology !!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Thank you! Do you know which Greek myth the picture is from though? It’s a tricky one.

      Like

  2. Loved this tag!! Love your answers!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. The questions in this tag are awesome! Love Greek mythology and learning about all the gods and goddesses. It can only be Hogwarts really, can’t it?! I also just finished Seed and I really rated it – it definitely has a dark plot. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Seed- for sure! Hogwarts is just a magical place. I love Greek Mythology, or well, any Mythology really! It’s so interesting!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Ahh I love the cover for this savage song too! And I’m also most anticipating an empire of storms!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      It’s really beautiful! EMPIRE OF STORMS!!! It should be tremendous.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

