My Letter.

on

On the 23rd of June, 2016, the United Kingdom voted to leave the European Union. On the 24th of June the Prime Minister, David Cameron, resigned. My name is Keira. I am fourteen years old. This affects me. I haven’t lived in England since I was five, but I’m moving back there this summer. The EU has allowed me to live in Germany for the majority of my life. It has allowed me to travel freely and has assured me of certain rights that I have. It has given me possibilities to explore the world and see different places and people.

The pound dropped 7% overnight, I no longer know how my life will work. There are no certainties for my university education, where I can work, where I can travel. My family has lost a lot of money overnight. I woke up this morning and I am scared. I’m travelling by myself for the first time in a week and I’m scared at how people will react to my passport. I am no longer proud of my country. I am angry, I don’t want to be English. In fact, for today I was Scottish. Or rather, I ignored the fact that I was half English. I am absolutely terrified at how the decisions of others will affect my entire future, my life and my dreams.

Everyone is entitled to their opinion. I’m sure there are plenty of reasons why people voted leave and I respect that you have your views and I have mine. However, I would like to say, don’t forget the amazing things that the EU has done for us in the new ‘Independent Britain’. And also know, I will not be celebrating the 23rd of June as British Independence Day as supporters of Leave have been dubbing it.

I want to leave with just one more thought for you to contemplate. Donald Trump is not adverse to the Brexit. In fact, he said that it was ‘purely historical’ and I suppose you can interpret that however you like. President Barack Obama, however, has warned about the repercussions of leaving the EU. I am not in any way trying to press my political views on you and likewise I know that this will not change the outcome of the vote, but take this one example and think: who do I trust more? It is an interesting parallel, that is all. A man who is racist and homophobic and radical or a man who has, despite the flaws in his presidency, passed laws of anti-discrimination and made the US and the world at large a better place. I would also finally like to say that David Cameron should not have resigned. He gave the people of my country the vote and he should deal with the repercussions until the rest of the country chooses otherwise.

This is my letter to the world and I know it probably won’t be heard but just in case it is please remember: the vote you have made will affect me, my sister, my friend, my mother, my father, the world, for long after you are dead. Whether this can be turned around for good, we may never truly know.

Today was my WordPress anniversary. I have been blogging for a year. I am sorry my year has been marked by this.

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Elm says:

    Speak your mind. Your words are amazing AND pwouful. I wish I wasn’t British right now. It upsets, and scares me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Thank you! I wish I wasn’t English right now 😀 I disowned my English half today and was fully Scottish. I wish people had more common sense. There have been a surge in google searches from the UK with questions like… ‘what is the eu’ and ‘how many countries are in the eu’ and ‘what will happen now that we’ve left the eu’…. I kind of think you should of looked that up before you voted, don’t you think?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Elm says:

        Woah yeah, that’s insane 😦 Are you in England right now?
        Ugh I’m just so sad

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Keira says:

          Nope, I’m flying to Scotland next week, then England a month after that, but right now I’m in Germany.

          Liked by 1 person

            1. Keira says:

              Thanks 🙂 I’m going to study creative writing and theatre, so it should be really fun!

              Liked by 1 person

            2. Elm says:

              Ooohh that is going to be so amazing!

              Liked by 1 person

  2. mahjabeen says:

    Exactly!!finally some one says this!!the eu has done more good for us than anything, and this is gonna affect so many of my friends!!just hating on england right now…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Not everywhere though! Have faith in London and our university towns!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. mahjabeen says:

        ohh lol yeah, i suppose we are luckier than loads!!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

