The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

on

‘“Father once said the real language of diplomacy was in the space between words.”’- Roshani Chokshi, The Star-Touched Queen

You might think, by now, that I would have given up trying to write summaries for books. In pretty much every review I write, I mention how absolutely awful I am at writing summaries. Practice does, however, make perfect… or at least better, so I’m not stopping! The Star-Touched Queen tells the story of a girl who’s horoscope promises a marriage of ‘death and destruction’. I don’t really want to say anymore than that, but it involves Indian Mythology and beliefs as well as giving Hades/Persephone vibes so if you like either of those things, or high fantasy with beautifully heart-wrenching romances, well, yeah.

The writing in this book is absolutely gorgeous: a perfect balance between poetic and readable. I think we can rely on Roshani Chokshi’s quote at the beginning of this post for diplomatic language tips: she is the goddess of beautiful writing. The characters are interesting and fun to read about. The romance is easy to root for and painful to watch at the same time (in a good way). All in all, this book is really, really enjoyable. However, it is a standalone and I didn’t feel like I could connect to the characters enough and there was also way more insta-love than I would have liked and the explanation… well, it makes sense but I still don’t like it.

So apart from the insta-love and plot cop out, I really loved this book. I found the different courts intriguing…. I feel like it would have been better as a longer book or a series with more of a plot than just the romance and more exploration of the courts and Indian cultures. However, I really enjoyed this book and found it fabulously written, even if there were aspects I would have liked to have seen more developed and explored. If you are interested, I gave this book 4.5 stars and I would definitely recommend it to anyone who likes fantasy, folklore, mythology or Hades/Persephone.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

