April Wrap Up

on

Hello everyone and welcome to my monthly wrap up for April! I have planned out a ton of blog post ideas and am trying to prewrite as many as possible due to moving and a possible lack of WiFi paired with a definite lack of time, but I hope you have been enjoying them so far! Anyway, let’s go!

P.S. The books listed in the next section of this post with a … before their title are the books on my TBR that I had a specific goal to reach in them rather than finishing them and I will talk about the progress I made on them in my May TBR (if they are crossed out it means I completed the progress I wanted to make on them).


STARTING WITH THE BOOKS… MY TBR


  • My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises by Fredrik Backman
  • The Luminous Life of Lily Aphrodite by Beatrice Colin
  • Much Ado About Nothing by William Shakespeare
  • Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin
  • A Tyranny of Petticoats (e.) by Jessica Spotswood
  • Greenwitch by Susan Cooper
  • DarkIsle: Resurrection by D. A. Nelson
  • Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
  • Die dunkle Prophezeiung des Pan von Sandra Regnier
  • Seide und Schwert von Kai Meye
  • Blackhearts by Nicole Castroman
  • The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton
  • The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkoski
  • The Professor by Charlotte Brontë
  • Night Owls by Jenn Bennett
  • Fire by Kristin Cashore
  • Ash by Malinda Lo
  • …The Original Folk and Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm
  • …Modern Romance by Aziz Ansari and Eric Klinenberg
  • …A Storm of Swords by George R. R. Martin

So of the 22 books I read this month 8 of them were from my TBR and I am currently reading another 4 of the books on my TBR, none of which I completed the progress I wanted to make with them 😦


ALL THE BOOKS I FINISHED…


  • Ash by Malinda Lo. I gave this book 3.5/5 stars. I really enjoyed this and I liked how nonchalant the lesbian part is. However, I do have a few issues. The first one being that Ash starts out very young and we then aren’t certain of how old she is when she starts seeing Kaisa and the Fairy and she still seems quite childish, which makes the book seem to be a little bit…. uncomfortable at times, where grown women and men are thinking about a possible-child-who-really-knows romantically. Again, some clarity would have fixed that up. I also found that a lot of those aforementioned romantic feelings were told and not shown, which made me root for them less and also less able to fall in love with a pairing that I know I could have loved. Apart from that, this was a very enjoyable and loose retelling of Cinderella.
  • Greenwitch by Susan Cooper. I gave this book 5/5 stars. I really love how Cooper mixes the different folklores and cultural customs into these books and in a good amount of detail, despite how short they are! I remember not liking this book as much as the others because I found the Greenwitch to be just meh when I was younger, but now that makes me like it more; I found the descriptions really interesting!
  • The Grey King by Susan Cooper. I gave this book 5/5 stars. I really love how Cooper weaves the old folklores into her fantastical tales, it makes the experience not only enjoyable, but also culturally enriching! Enjoyed this installment and the developments to the storyline.
  • A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas. I gave this book 4/5 stars. This was a reread for me. I love this book. No doubt about it. I think Sarah J. Maas could write about a rubbish bag and I would love it: she is just so good and making me fall in love with characters and ship people. I noticed two things whilst rereading it that bumped it down from like a 4.5 star to a 4 star: firstly, the beginning is just way too much like the beginning of The Hunger Games…. like, it makes sense to the story, but couldn’t it have started a little bit differently? Secondly, I’m not as crazy about Rhysand. I still love him as a character, but I definitely ship Tamlin WAY more this time around… although that second reason was just an observation and not something that brought my rating down. So apart from a largely cliched beginning and quite a stereotypical character development arch (because it was quite stereotypical, let’s be real), I really enjoyed this book!
  • The Glittering Court by Richelle Mead. I gave this book 4.5 /5 stars. This was a book where the end was better than the beginning, although I can’t really pinpoint anything I didn’t like with the beginning, which is why I didn’t give 5 stars to this book.. I liked the romance, the society and the writing. One thing I thought could have been better was the development of the side characters. Whilst I didn’t feel like the characters were underdeveloped or that all of them needed to be developed, I thought that the ones who were developed, like Tamsin or Mira, could have had more of the book dedicated to their stories, as I think that would be really interesting…. maybe that will happen in the future books that I am highly anticipating! I have reviewed this book and you can find that review here.
  • City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare. I gave this book 4/5 stars. This was probably my favourite book in the Mortal Instruments series, although I still think the series went on for far too long. I look forward to now being able to read Lady Midnight, but I’m not sure if I’ll enjoy it…. I loved the Infernal Devices but not so much The Mortal Instruments.
  • Seed by Lisa Heathfield. I gave this book 4.5/5 stars.  I thought this book was intriguing and all too believable, something which reflects poorly on certain parts of our society. I thought there were a few things that didn’t add up, hence my not giving it 5 stars, but apart from that I enjoyed it greatly and finished it in one sitting.
  • Princess of Tyrone by Katie Hamstead. I gave this book 5/5 stars. Wonderful retelling of Sleeping Beauty.
  • Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas. I would have given this book 5/5 stars if I could enter it in Goodreads, but as this was my second time reading this in 2016, it does not count for the Reading Challenge. I love this book, and especially this series, so much. Chaol and Dorian are the best guyfriends I have ever had the pleasure to read about, something which I really noticed when reading it this time around! I also really paid more attention to Asterin and her story this time: I found it heartbreaking and heartwarming at the same time. I really, really need Empire of Storms in my hands, like, now.
  • 5 to 1 by Holly Bodger. I gave this book 5/5 stars. This was incredible. It was not only entertaining and original, but it touched on some very serious topics in a fresh and tasteful way. I loved the story and found the commentary being made through this book glorious. Usually, I dislike plot-driven stories where the characters aren’t a major focus (or majorly developed), as well as books that take place over a few days, but it really did work in this case and I loved the writing style.
  • Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin. I gave this book 4/5 stars. I really enjoyed this book and found it incredibly well-written, but I didn’t make as deep of a connection with any of the characters as I would have liked to. The ending was definitely unexpected. There will be a review for this book (mini or full, I’ve not decided yet).
  • Fire by Kristin Cashore. I gave this book 5/5 stars. Delightful, fun read with beautiful relationships and intriguing characters!
  • Savvy by Ingrid Law. I gave this book 4.5/5 stars. I greatly enjoyed reading this book. I read it for the first time, probably when I was about 9 and saw it in my library and decided to reread it. I love the characters and the quirkiness of them and their family, as well as the beautiful, unique writing style of the book. I did find it hard to lose myself in the book, though, because Mibs was 13 and I’m 14. That wouldn’t be an issue, but Mibs doesn’t feel 13 to me, or even just-turned-13. But then I think of my sister, who is 12, and think that Mibs is possibly more mature than her, so it is a little bit difficult to go with, especially when the age is such an important part of the book.
  • Princess of the Midnight Ball by Jessica Day George. I gave this book 3.5/5 stars. I really, really, really, really hate Angier and Father Michel. With a deep, burning passion. And I generally make it a point not to hate anyone. That being said, I prefer my antagonists (and I do consider them like side-antagonists) to be a little more morally grey. I enjoyed this book and it was a quick read. I found Galen to be an interesting character and liked the relationships between the princesses, but I didn’t love it.
  • The Scorpion Rules by Erin Bow. I gave this book 4.5/5 stars. The end of this book destroyed me.
  • Maresi by Maria Turtschaninoff. I gave this book 5/5 stars. Absolutely loved this and can’t wait for the next book!
  • The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury. I gave this book 5/5 stars. I loved this retelling, although I missed Aladdin’s monkey.
  • A Tyranny of Petticoats (edited by Jessica Spotswood). I gave this book 5/5 stars. This was really, really interesting. All of the stories were intriguing, well written and I absolutely loved this collection! Just as good as I had hoped. I will be writing a mini review for this book soon.
  • The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkoski. I gave this book 5/5 stars. This was absolutely incredible, a wonderful conclusion to the series. It was also a book that is sad on an underlying level that I only tapped into after thinking about the book since having finished it.
  • The Reflections of Queen Snow White by David Meredith. I gave this book 4.5/5 stars. I really enjoyed this book, but I won’t say much more as I have a review coming for this book soon. Thank you to David Meredith for sending me a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review!
  • Much Ado About Nothing by William Shakespeare. I gave this book 4/5 stars. I had to read it for school and also for the book club, so there will be a review coming soon. I loved Beatrice.
  • My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises by Fredrik Backman. I gave this book 5/5 stars. It made me cry. Multiple times. A review will be coming soon.

ON TO OTHER THINGS…


  • My Grandparents came to visit!
  • I went to Cambridge and visited the school I’m going to go to, as well as looked at some houses.

 


That was all for my April Wrap Up!!! How was your reading month?

Happy reading,

Keira x

 

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Some books here I defiantly need to read. Your right, Sarah J Mass could probably write about a rubbish bag and it would still be fantastic.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Awesome! And yes, SJ Maas is incredible.

      Like

      1. She’s wonderful. Have you see the give-away she’s running on her tumblr?

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Keira says:

          I haven’t! Could you give me a link?

          Like

            1. Keira says:

              Thanks!

              Like

            2. You’re very welcome. 🙂

              Liked by 1 person

  2. Nicola Alter says:

    I also loved Fire and Queen of Shadows, and a friend has told me I absolutely must read the Winners series so I plan to start that soon. Some of the others on your list look great too, I’ll have to check them out!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      The Winners series is definitely a good one 🙂 Let me know if you like it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

