UK vs. US Covers

Hello everyone! Today I’m going to compare and judge some UK covers and some US covers, albeit not many because I couldn’t think of many books that I owned with significantly different US and UK covers. The UK cover is on the left and the US cover on the right.


Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. Can you guess which is the British one? I can. The one with the real title. I am not over the fact that the US publishers decided to change the title of the book…. it actually really annoys me, but I’ll talk about that another time. I really love the feel of the UK cover as well as the TITLE BEING RIGHT, but the US cover is also quite pretty. UK wins this one though!

A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab. This is actually a really difficult one, because I really like both of them. I haven’t read the books, but I feel like the colours of the Londons and the patchwork on the quilt of the UK cover is significant to the story, from the little I know about the novel. I love the simplicity of the US cover, but I think I’m going to have to go with the UK cover for this one.

 

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas. I am doing the newest editions of each cover, by the way. I like both of these, but I think I prefer the US cover because it looks more harmonious and the flames in the background are shaped more prettily. The first win for the US!

Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen. Okay so I have three pictures for this one because the UK paperbacks and hardcovers have different covers. With the second book I prefer the UK Hardcover, but the amount of grey on the UK hardcover for this book detracts from the power of the grey crown. Whilst I like the US cover, I feel like it doesn’t really capture the essence of the book as well as the UK covers. I really love the UK paperback, so I’m going to have to pick that one as my favourite!

Graceling by Kristin Cashore. The covers of this series are a bit up and down for me. I don’t like either of the covers for the third book, UK or US. I prefer the UK cover of the 2nd book but I really hate the UK cover for this first one and I much, much prefer the US one, although the eye reflection in the sword annoys me a little bit. But still, a US win for this one!

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor. Well the UK picture here is a bit blurry, but I couldn’t find a bigger picture, so sorry. I prefer the UK covers for this book. The red door is actually quite vibrant, by the way. I feel like the UK covers are much more sophisticated and give the book a somewhat more grown-up, mysterious feel, which I feel fits the book a little better. The reason behind the difference in these covers, if you are interested, I believe lies in the target audience: YA for the US, Adult for the UK.


And that brings this cover war to an end! In the end, the UK won with 4 points to a US 2. These were just my thoughts though, what do you think?

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I agree with all your choices! Nice post!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

