Childhood Favourites!

Hello everyone! Today I’m here to go through some of my favourite books from my childhood…. aka, when I was about nine years old. I just want to briefly mention that obviously two of my favourites were the Percy Jackson books by Rick Riordan as well as the Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling. Now, let’s get on to some of the more obscure ones!!


  • ‘In a city called Stonetown, near a port called Stonetown Harbour, a boy named Reynie Muldoon was preparing to take an important test.’– Trenton Lee Stewart, The Mysterious Benedict Society. 
    • I found and still find this an absolute delight of a series. I currently only own the third book in the series, but do plan on acquiring the other two as soon as possible.
  • ‘Silas Heap pulled his cloak tightly around him against the snow.’ Angie Sage, Magyk.
    •  This was like another Harry Potter to me. Not in the sense of absolute, overwhelming love, but in terms of it was magical and the main protagonist was an 11 year old boy.
  • ‘Piper decided to jump off the roof. It wasn’t a rash decision on her part.’ -Victoria Forester, The Girl Who Could Fly.
    •  This was likely my first experience of a dystopian type novel and it had superpowers in it and I absolutely loved it. My copy is a little bit bashed up from the number of times I read this book.
  • ‘When my brother turned thirteen, we moved to the deepest part of inland because of the hurricane and, of course, the fact that he’d caused it.’ -Ingrid Law, Savvy.
    • I reread this book yesterday and I do still really enjoy this book, although just-thirteen Mibs doesn’t really connect to how I was at thirteen: she seems so much younger!
  • “‘I don’t think you ought to be crying at your age. People of fifty-two don’t cry,” said Aunt Hester sternly.’ -Eva Ibbotson, The Dragonfly Pool.
    • I was obsessed with all three of Eva Ibbotson’s upper middle grade books, but this one was my favourite, despite being the only one of the three not to have won an award.
  • ‘Long, long ago a king arrived in the north. They called him the Red King for he wore a scarlet cloak and his shield was emblazoned with a burning sun. It was said he came out of Africa.’ -Jenny Nimmo, Midnight for Charlie Bone.
    • This was another book that filled the void of Harry Potter for me and my mother who also loved them. Again, an 11 year old protagonist and a magic school: but very, very unique. Thank you to my wonderful primary school librarian Ms. Rose for picking this book out for me, along with a few of the other books on this list!

I just wanted to mention three other books that I didn’t like, or in one case didn’t love, when I first read the book, but after rereading the book absolutely love it (whether I reread it then or now). Those books are: Over Sea, Under Stone by Susan Cooper (The Dark Is Rising Sequence #1), The Little White Horse by Elizabeth Goudge and Watership Down by Richard Adams.

What were your favourite childhood reads?

Keira x.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. I loved Magyk back in the day. I even have the sequel I think .. but then I stopped for some reason and I am not sure why.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      😀 I have the first two and then the rest on my Kindle

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ooh I loved Eva Ibbotson when I was younger (and still do) great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Emily says:

    I love(d) Harry Potter, Eragon, and the Sister’s Grimm books!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

