Assassin’s Heart by Sarah Ahiers: Book Review!!

on

Assassin’s Heart by Sarah Ahiers

fantasy, companion, young adult

Screen Shot 2016-02-26 at 09.19.28
5 stars

This was the New Release read of February for the It’s Not Just A Book Club. It is the first book in a YA Fantasy companion duology- it stands alone but there will be another book, about which I know nothing other than the fact that it is a companion and I’m super excited!

This book has a slight Throne of Glass vibe in terms of assassin’s, but nothing apart from that. I liked how the changes in love weren’t really a love triangle at all and I also loved how the main character new what she wanted and really stuck to her decisions and convictions. I found the religious systems as well as the social structure really intriguing and I loved the idea of individual bone masks, which I thought was quite original.

Lea Saldana, the main character, is not only badass, she is also really caring and flawed and has an epic dress sense. The love interests are both very different  and quite realistic and I liked the complicated family ties that existed in the book. The plot was fast-paced, but detailed and the world-building comprehensive and original.

Overall, I would reccomend this book to anyone who likes fantasy, especially YA High Fantasy, or for people looking to get into it. I probably wouldn’t reccomend it to someone who doesn’t like Fantasy, or someone who only likes Fantasy with magic in it, because really the only magic in this book comes through the religion. This was definitely one of my favourite books that I’ve read this year so far (I have a lot of favourites, though).

Leave a Reply

