March Monthly Wrap Up

Hello everyone and welcome to my monthly wrap up for March! I have, unfortunately, continued a bit of my blogging slump for this month as I have had a ton of work, but it, like February, didn’t affect my reading, miraculously. I want to quickly mention that I was culling my books a lot this month so some books from my TBR have disappeared and also, two of them have been moved to next month’s TBR for  read-a-longs. Anyway, this will be a long post, so without further ado… let’s begin!

P.S. The books listed in the next section of this post with a … before their title are the books on my TBR that I had a specific goal to reach in them rather than finishing them and I will talk about the progress I made on them in my April TBR (if they are crossed out it means I completed the progress I wanted to make on them).


 

STARTING WITH THE BOOKS… MY TBR


 

  • Frozen Tides by Morgan Rhodes
  • Angelfall by Susan Ee
  • DarkIsle by D. A. Nelson
  • Modern Romance by Aziz Ansari & Eric Klinenberg
  • Rook by Sharon Cameron
  • Assassin’s Heart by Sarah Ahiers
  • The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black
  • Opposition by Jennifer L. Armentrout
  • The Dark Is Rising by Susan Cooper
  • Die dunkle Prophezeiung des Pan von Sandra Regnier
  • Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo
  • The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig
  • Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton
  • The Mermaid’s Sister by Carrie Anne Noble
  • The Scorpion Rules by Erin  Bow
  • Blackhearts by Nicole Castroman
  • The Shadow Queen by C. J. Redwine
  • Sorcerer to the Crown by Zen Cho
  • Legacy of Kings by Eleanor Herman
  • …A Storm of Swords by George R. R. Martin
  • …Where Do Camels Belong? by Ken Thompson
  • …The Original Folk and Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm (edited by Jack Zipes)

So, of the 21 books I read this month 13 of them were from my TBR and I am currently reading another 4 of the books on my TBR, one of which I completed the progress I wanted to make on. That’s even better than last month, so I’m super happy with that!


ALL THE BOOKS I FINISHED…


  • Angelfall by Susan Ee: I gave this book 3.5/5 stars. It was a very quick read and very enjoyable, but nothing special. It is dystopian, which I’m not super into at the moment, but I had fun reading it. I will not be continuing this series, as the premise no longer really interests me, although I will keep the book in case at some point I do want to continue. I did enjoy it though- a lot, seeing as I gave it 4 stars. I read this as the Anti-Theme read for the book club so there will be a review for it soon. This is the first book in the Penryn and the End of Days trilogy. This book was on my TBR for the month.
  • The Crown and the Arrow by Renée Ahdieh: I gave this book 3/5 stars. It is a very short, 9 page prequel to The Wrath and the Dawn, which tells a scene from the beginning of the novel from Khalid’s POV. I enjoyed it a lot, but it was very short and nothing new, so I can’t give it more than 3 stars.
  • The Royal Ranger by John Flanagan: I gave this book 3/5 stars as well. I enjoyed it, but not nearly as much as the previous 11 books in the Ranger’s Apprentice series; I found it a little bit unnecessary, although it was still interesting.
  • Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton: I gave this book 5/5 stars. I really enjoyed the world, the setting, the plot, the characters and the romance. I found the relationships and the infrastructure and societal norms of the world interesting and found the world building solid. The plot intrigued me and kept me captivated throughout. Absolutely adored this book and can’t wait for the next book in the series. The main character is flawed and badass and the secondary main character (that is a thing, right?) is super mysterious. This book was on my TBR.
  • The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black: I gave this book 5/5 stars as well. I loved the magic, the characters’ relationships and, well, the book in general. The writing was exquisite. If you would like to see my favourite passages from this book (spoilers!), I posted them in a goodreads chat here. I read this for the YA book club read and there will be a review coming. The characters in this book are really flawed, which made them all the more realistic and along with some nice romance, there is a beautiful brother-sister bond. This book was on my TBR.
  • The Shadow Queen by C. J. Redwine: I gave this book another 5/5 stars. I, again, loved the world and the characters’ relationships with each other. I laughed and cried and laughed some more (not because the book is funny, but because of the main character’s snarky comments). It was heart-warming and tragic all in one. This is the first book in a series, but it is a companion series. I want more of these characters, so I hope they show up in the other books in the series. These books are retellings of fairy tales, this one of Snow White (obviously), and was done enchantingly and refreshingly. The main character is super badass. This book was on my TBR
  • Assassin’s Heart by Sarah Ahiers: I gave this book 5/5 stars. I loved the world, the characters, the relationships… with these five star books I really am just repeating myself… I liked the religions in this book; I found them very interesting. I really do have a thing for fascinating social structures, as that is one of my favourite things about this book. This is a standalone, but there will be a companion novel. I read this for the New Release read of the book club, so there will be a review coming. This book was on my TBR.
  • Storm Siren by Mary Weber: I gave this book 3.5/5 stars. I found this book to be quite cliched and somewhat predictable, although I did not see the ending coming. I was not particularly attached to the characters and will not be continuing with the series. That being said, it was an enjoyable, quick read.
  • Rook by Sharon Cameron: I gave this book 5/5 stars. This was my favourite book of last year and I reread it for a class and I loved it just as much the second time around as I did the first. I have a review for this book, which you can read here. Also, I noticed that when Cameron shifts POV or scene (she does so in the middle of chapters) she always connects the two with a similar action or thought, like eating bread.
  • Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J. K. Rowling: I gave this book 5/5 stars. This used to be my least favourite book in the series and now it isn’t… I actually like it more now! These new editions of the HP books feel amazing, by the way… they are so soft!
  • The Mermaid’s Sister by Carrie Anne Noble: I gave this book 4.5/5 stars. This book is glorious: it’s beautiful and it feels good. It also hides a gem of a book. Really interesting, suitably short and unique. This book was on my TBR.
  • Herland by Charlotte Perkins Gilman: I gave this book 4.5/5 stars. This book is incredibly interesting, insightful and thought-provoking. Definitely needed to be taken in context of the time period in which it was written, however, as some of the feminist ideas are not fully developed and the author considers comparing the girls of this society to males a compliment, due to the social structures of the time. However, this book did give a particularly gentle, passive and meaningful look on feminism.

 

  • The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury: I gave this book 4/4 stars. I really enjoyed this book and found it very enjoyable, however I found that it could have been improved with some more foreshadowing, as some events were not alluded to enough and seemed entirely out of the blue and hard to wrap my head around. Apart from that, I found the characters interesting, however they weren’t particularly strong, in terms of how much they stuck in my head.  I found the world intriguing, although mostly the worlds around the world in which this book is set rather than the Kingdom in which this book takes place. I also thought the religious commentaries in this book were well-placed and inoffensive (or at least as inoffensive as religious commentaries can be when arguing one side).
  • The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig: I gave this book 5/5 stars. This was absolutely incredible. I loved the characters, the different parts of the plot and the world, the historical elements and the romance. The fantasy was intriguing, the history both real and new to me and I loved the character and relationship development that took place throughout this book. This book was on my TBR.
  • Sorcerer to the Crown by Zen Cho: I gave this book 4.5/5 stars. Overall, I really enjoyed this book. Found the world and the main character interesting, the magical system intriguing. There were two things in this book that prevented me from giving it five stars, as I am being particularly picky (or trying to be anyway). In the beginning, Prunella had a tendency to annoy me at times with the way she reacted to certain situations. As her character developed, however, she became much more agreeable/pleasant to read about as well as more interesting, so that was well done. The other thing is that I would have liked to know more about sorcery in other parts of the world and more about the different fairy worlds, but I hold hope that I will get to see that in the next books in the series! This book was on my TBR.
  • The Just City by Jo Walton: I gave this book 4.5/5 stars. I had an issue with the ending: it was all very sudden and I felt like their could have been some more build up. Other than that, I highly enjoyed the whole book and will look forward to reading the next book in the series: I found both the world, the relationships and the characters highly interesting.
  • Frozen Tides by Morgan Rhodes: I gave this book 5/5 stars. Incredible. Love the turns and twists and the development of the different relationships and magic. There was a lot less world-building in this book, a fair amount of politics and a lot of betrayals. I can’t wait for the next book!! This book was on my TBR.
  • The Moth and the Flame by Renée Ahdieh: I gave this book 3/5 stars. This is a prequel novella (about 40 pages) to The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh. I really, really enjoyed this, but felt like there was a chapter or two missing that needed to be there! Apart from that, I found it very interesting and the writing was glorious, as usual.
  • Legacy of Kings by Eleanor Herman: I gave this book 5/5 stars. I loved this! There were some horrible characters… but horrible in a good way! I loved the complicated romance that wasn’t too overpowering and the lovely platonic relationships in this book. Amazing characters in general and I loved the way different folklores were blended in to the main plot! I can’t wait for the next book. This book was on my TBR.
  • The Dark is Rising by Susan Cooper: I gave this book 5/5 stars. I love this series. I’m rereading it again at the moment and am enjoying just as much as I did the other three of four times I’ve read it. I love the world, the story telling and, I will admit, the brevity. Amazing! This book was on my TBR.
  • DarkIsle by D. A. Nelson: I gave this book 4.5/5 stars. I really enjoyed this book (it was a reread), although the beginning felt a bit… off, I suppose, in terms of the writing. I think Morag was very old for her years and could have done with being a bit more child-like, perhaps. Apart from that, I loved returning to the magical world of this series. This book was on my TBR.

ON TO OTHER THINGS…


  • I found out that I’m moving to England…. and broke up with my boyfriend. I wrote a post on that, which you can see here.
  • I got some new band music from school, including Centuries- Fall Out Boy.
  • I went to Luxembourg for a GIN Conference: I learnt a lot and really enjoyed myself. GIN stands for Global Issues Network. Not the drink.
  • I upped my reading challenge from 150 books to 200 books and am still __ books ahead of schedule (before I was at like 22 or something). I’ve read __ books this year already!
  • I got rid a ton of books because we need to get rid of some stuff to move… I didn’t chuck them out, we’ll be giving them away (we being my family and I).

That was all for my March Wrap Up!!! How was your reading month?

Happy reading,

Keira x

4 Comments Add yours

  1. happyalexx says:

    How much you read is incredible, your brain must be a huge and wonderful place full of all that information 🙂 wishing you a wonderful April (oh my gosh how is it April already)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Thank you! Isn’t it still the 30th of March…?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. happyalexx says:

        Yes, but it’s April soon! x

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Keira says:

          True 😀 Sorry xD

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

