The Musical Instruments Book Tag: ORIGINAL

on

Hello everyone! Back in December, I did a collab with Anthony and we never got around to doing the second half! Because that post was from such a long time ago and for convenience of the tag being all together, I will be posting the whole tag! Also, I just wanted to mention how sorry I am for being so absent! I will try and keep on top of things now, I promise, but I’m not sure how much I will be able to as I got some major news that requires a lot of work… I’ll tell you about it in another post. Anyway, I’m sorry and without further ado, let’s begin!


THE RULES


  • Link the creators Keira and Anthony so that they can see all of your answers!
  • Thank the person who tagged you.
  • Answer the questions
  • Have fun
  • Tag five or more other bloggers!

PIANO- A CLASSIC YOU LOVE

Piano is definitely a classic instrument and one that used to be called the piano forte. For this category, pick a book that has gone down in history.


 

Keira’s Answer:

Watership Down by Richard Adams. A few honourable mentions would have to go to The Little White Horse by Elizabeth Goudge and Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë. I honestly have a very difficult time choosing between them, but if I had to, it would be Watership Down, just based on how many time I’ve read it. It is heartwarming, thrilling and posses’ an interesting perspective (I mean, the main characters are rabbits).

Anthony’s Answer:

I consider Harry Potter a classic, no matter what you have to say (whoops). So obviously that. If I had to choose a ‘classic’ classic, it would be Les Misérables by Victor Hugo.

(Keira’s Comment: I love the musical/movie of that, but I’ve never read the book!)


KEYBOARD- A RETELLING OF A FAMOUS STORY

The keyboard is a modern version of a piano, with some slight modifications. For this category, pick a book that is a retelling: of a classic, a fairy tale, a folk tale, a fanfiction.. your choice!!


 

Keira’s Answer:

I’ll have to go with The Princess Curse by Merrie Haskell. It is a retelling of a lot of different fairy tales such as The Twelve Dancing Princesses and The Seven Pomegranate Seeds. This is a standalone, but I wish it weren’t- I want to read more about the characters in this book!

Anthony’s Answer:

I don’t know!!! What does this mean?! I don’t know any retellings! Ohh! Can I pick Miranda Sings’ retelling of the Story of Christmas? If anything’s the best, it’s that.

(Keira’s Comment: Anthony is obsessed with Miranda Sings…)


GUITAR- A POPULAR BOOK YOU LOVE

The guitar is an immensely popular instrument! What book do you share the love with everyone else with?


 

Keira’s Answer:

Well, this is an obvious one: Harry Potter. Enough said. And I refuse to pick a favourite book in the series. So hmph.

Anthony’s Answer:

Since that’s the obvious one, I’ll try to think of something else.

That was not easy. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green, I guess.


CELLO- A BOOK THAT GAVE YOU CHILLS

The cello is a compelling instrument with a powerful sound that can be quite creepy. Name a book that gives you the shivers.


 

Keira’s Answer:

SO MANY! Let’s go with Stolen by Lucy Christopher. This one gave me chills in the best way possible. I was sobbing for ages after finishing it.

Anthony’s Answer:

The Perfectionists series by Sara Shepard!! It’s honestly THE best. And it freaked the freak out of me.

(Keira’s Comment: We both picked very bright books for this one!)


VOICE- A BOOK WITH A UNIQUE WRITING STYLE

Did you know that voice is classified as instrument? Which book plays with its words?


 

Keira’s Answer:

The Shatter Me series by Tahereh Mafi definitely has a unique writing style…. it has things crossed out!!

Anthony’s Answer:

According to someone (winkwink), it’s A Million Little Pieces by James Frey. I haven’t read it yet, but I’ve seen a couple of pages and it really is unique.

(Keira’s Comment: winkwink???? Also, I accidently wrote A Million Pieces of You because James Frey rhymes with Claudia Gray, who wrote A Thousand Pieces of You….. don’t know how my brain figured that one out.)


TRIANGLE- A BOOK THAT YOU DON’T LIKE TO MENTION READING

There is absolutely no shame in playing the triangle and it is much harder than one might imagine- I’ve tried! Name a book that people give you shame for liking.


 

Keira’s Answer:

In the post that Anthony did on his blog (which included this as the last question), Anthony asked why Triangle, hence why all of these categories now have explanations 😀

Um… well, maybe Twilight. But only because people are so judgemental! Sure, they are not the best books (the main series I don’t particularly like anymore, but the new gender-flipped one I liked a lot more), but judging others based on a book is just stupid.

Anthony’s Answer:

I don’t think I’ve read many embarrassing books. Maybe in my childhood? Yeah, that’s probably it. I used to read girl magazines like W.i.t.c.h. because there were literally no magazines for boys except comics. I also read kids books.

(Keira’s comment: No such thing as a ‘girl’ or ‘boy’ magazine… or at least there shouldn’t be!)


FLUTE- A BOOK THAT YOU THOUGHT WAS GOING TO BE ONE THING AND THEN WASN’T

The flute looks like a beautiful, pretty, delicate thing, but can produce some powerful sounds (not that they aren’t pretty). Name a book that was something unexpected.


Keira’s Answer:

The Just City by Jo Walton: I thought this was going to be about someone who stumbled across this city on their travels and went in, only to find out he couldn’t get out and then join rebels to fight the tyrannical rulers of the city. Boy was I wrong. This is essentially the commentary of an experiment based on Plato’s Republic. However, just because I was wrong doesn’t mean I was disappointed… I gave this book 4.5 stars!!

Anthony’s Answer:

An Abundance of Katherines by John Green. I actually thought it was going to show us how to calculate our chances with our crushes! Maybe not that much, but I thought it would contain, like, more maths. Oh well.


 

PICCOLO- A BOOK THAT WAS OVERHYPED

Piccolo’s are great except if you’re the person sitting next to it: ear plugs are needed. Pick a book that you didn’t love as much as everybody else.


Keira’s Answer:

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins. I really didn’t like this book. In fact, I DNF’d it after about 90 pages. I really hate situations where two people are already in a relationship and then someone else tries to break them up or something, which is basically this entire book.

Anthony’s Answer:

Hmmmm. I really can’t think of any. Maybe A Casual Vacancy by J. K. Rowling? I still haven’t read it and don’t know much about its era, but it has got to be overhyped.


OBOE- A BOOK NOT MANY PEOPLE HAVE READ

The oboe. A glorious instrument that a lot of people don’t play. Name a book that you read, but most people haven’t. 


Keira’s Answer:

Fish In A Tree by Lynda Mullay Hunt. This is an absolutely incredible middle grade novel that deals wonderfully with the topic of learning disabilities, specifically dyslexia, something near to my heart: my sister has dyslexia. This book made me cry. A lot.

Anthony’s Answer:

The Perfectionists series by Sara Shephard immediately came to my mind because it’s so absolutely fantastic and deserves more promo.


HARP- A BOOK THAT IMMEDIATELY CHARMED YOU

The harp, another instrument steeped in tradition with a compelling sound. What book did you completely fall in love with?


Keira’s Answer:

I’m going to go with something other than the obvious one (hint hint, Anthony picked it) and say The Mermaid’s Sister by Carrie Anne Noble. Now, I didn’t give this book 5 stars- I gave it 4.5- but I was immediately charmed by it and I did love it. I found the voice and writing style absolutely beautiful, so that would have to be my pick for harp!

Anthony’s Answer:

Harry Potter of course. Can’t let a book tag go by without including Harry, right? But really, I was hooked since the first time I read the books. I also rememer being immediately charmed by Allie Brosh’s Hyperbole and A Half. She’s so sweet, I can’t.


ACCORDION- A BOOK SET IN MULTIPLE TIME PERIODS

A timeless instrument that fits in some places… and not in others. Name a book set in multiple time periods.


Keira’s Answer:

This could mean many things: a book with multiple perspectives from different times, a book where there are lots of flashbacks, or, as is the case for the book I’m talking about, a book with time travel. That book is The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig. I absolutely love this book and I love the specific sort of time tr

Anthony’s Answer:

I keep twisting my neck to look at my bookshelf for inspiration xD. I don’t know… I’ve never read a book like that, I guess. Let’s twist the question: I’ll say If I Stay by Gayle Forman, because it alternates between present and past stories. I know that’s not what the question meant, but that’s the best I can come up with.


BAGPIPES- A BOOK WITH A COMPLICATED PLOT

Bagpipes, a complex instrument that can make an awful sound if played incorrectly. Name a book with a complicated, hard-to-figure-out plot. 


Keira’s Answer:

I’m going to go with an obvious answer for this one and say Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin. I’m sure I could come up with something different, but is currently the wee hours of the morning and so I’m cutting myself some slack.

Anthony’s Answer:

The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith one very intriguing plot and though it was hard to keep up with at times, it was still a fantastic read and I can’t wait to keep up with the rest of the series.


VIOLIN- A BOOK THAT STARTED OFF SHAKY AND GOT BETTER AS IT WENT ALONG

Ever listened to a beginner play violin? It hurts. Name a book that started off rough and got better along the way. 


 

26802894

Keira’s Answer:

For this one I have a few books that I could go with, but I think I’m going to pick Truthwitch by Susan Dennard. This book started out around a 3 stars for me and the end was around 5 stars (hence my 4 star rating of the book). If you want to know more of my thoughts on how much better the ending of this book is than the beginning, I did a review which you can see here.


Okay, well Anthony wanted Violin to be an extra one entitled ‘a book that made you feel sorry and regret your life choices’ so that he could publicly apologise to me (which is totally sweet and unnecessary), but I decided to give violin an actual category without him knowing (hence why he has no answer for it), so here is his apology:

Violin- a book that made you feel sorry and regret your life choices:

It’s a very nice book called ‘Keira I’m So Sorry This Took Me So Long I’m Honestly A Shitty Blogger And I Deserve To Be Dragged For This’. Honestly guys I was a douche and forgot about this post and now I have the nerve to do it like foreal I should be banned from collaborating. I thought I’d make a public apology to Keira and thank her for being so patient with me because tbh if I were her I would have dissed the hell out of that lazy person. Instead she sent me a small reminder with a cute emoji like HOW NICE CAN SOMEONE BE.


Well that is all for the tag! You guys should definitely check out Anthony- he’s great. Also, if you liked this tag, you should check out my other original tag here. I tag Cátia, The Orang-Utan Librarian, Jackie, Bianca and Leannaatc, as well as you!

Happy reading,

Keira x.

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. ooh this is an exciting tag!! It looks like a lot of fun!! But I imagine I’ll have as hard a time choosing as you! I love Jane Eyre too! and Harry Potter (of course). Ooh Stolen gave me chills too- good choice! And GOT is excellent for a complex plot- love that series!! Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Thank you!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re welcome! Looking forward to hearing your news as well 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Keira says:

          😀

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Why haven’t I seen this yet!! You made such an awesome job with the design and the category descriptions! 😀 thanks Kei

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Thank you!!!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

