Over Sea, Under Stone by Susan Cooper: Book Review!!!

on

Over Sea, Under Stone by Susan Cooper

Fantasy, Middle Grade, Reread

Screen Shot 2016-01-24 at 22.33.21
4 stars.

This was the Middle Grade pick of February for the It’s Not Just A Book Club and a reread for me. It is the first book in the Dark is Rising Sequence.

Let me start off my saying that the only reason I gave this book four stars is because I have read this series already and I think some of the other books are better than this one. So yes. I’m being very picky. I read this book for the first time when I was about seven (so, like seven years ago) and have reread the whole series three times since. I will be continuing with my reread of this series as (with the exception of the third book, which I remember being my least favourite), the books just keep getting better.

This book combines mystery with fantasy and does it exquisitely. This has more legend than magic in it… so far, at least. There is Latin, amazing sibling relationships, double-agent cooks, mysterious old maps, nasty people with nice masks and rich Welsh history. Also, one of the adult characters (which the children have good, realistic relationships with!) is called Merry. He is incredible. Just saying.

Definitely read this book if you are interested in mysteries, adventure, fantasy, old Welsh history and folklore, sailing (because two of the children in the family that are the main characters in this book love sailing) and well, any kind of good old-fashioned fantasy!

Well, that is it for this review. Short and sweet, but I think no matter how much I wrote I could never do this book justice. It sounds like a five star review, doesn’t it…. hehe.

Happy Reading,

Keira x

Goodreads for Book Group , Blog for Book Group , Twitter , Goodreads , Pinterest

One Comment Add yours

  1. Keira says:

    Reblogged this on It's Not Just A Book Club and commented:

    My review for the february Middle Grade pick!

    Like

Leave a Reply

