February Wrap Up

Hello everyone and welcome to my monthly wrap up for February! I have had a bit of a blogging slump this month, but it hasn’t affected my reading so I have A LOT of books to talk to you about today (like over 20) as well as the progress I am making on my goals. This will probably be a long post…. so let’s begin!


STARTING WITH THE BOOKS… MY TBR


  • Temeraire by Naomi Novik
  • The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson
  • Over Sea, Under Stone by Susan Cooper
  • Truthwitch by Susan Dennard
  • A Storm of Swords by George R. R. Martin
  • The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson
  • Uprooted by Naomi Novik
  • Das dunkle Prophezeiung des Pan von Sandra Regnier
  • Rebel Spring by Morgan Rhodes
  • Gathering Darkness by Morgan Rhodes
  • Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin
  • Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher
  • Just One Day by Gayle Forman
  • Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
  • Night Owls by Jenn Bennett
  • The Original Folk and Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm
  • Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
  • Animal Farm by George Orwell
  • Modern Romance by Aziz Ansari
  • Where Do Camels Belong? by Ken Thompson
  • Ruins by Dan Wells
  • Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
  • Song of the Sparrow by Lisa Ann Sandell

So, I read nine books off of my TBR this month, as well as DNF’ing one, and I am currently reading another four of them. I’m pretty happy with that, although I am changing the way I’m doing my TBR again… watch out for that 😉


ALL THE BOOKS I FINISHED…


Rebel Spring by Morgan Rhodes, Gathering Darkness by Morgan Rhodes

These are the second and third books in the Falling Kingdoms series and I am absolutely in love with it! I have rated every single book so far 5 stars and well-deserved ones too… they keep getting better! Also, these covers are incredible. I love the variety of budding romances, rivalries and more. I am reading these for the Conquering Kingdoms Read-a-long and you can find information about it here if you would like to participate in reading the fourth book in the series! I will hopefully being doing a review for books 1-4 when I read the fourth one.

Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

Screen Shot 2016-02-26 at 13.36.46
5 stars.

The fourth book in the Throne of Glass series was a reread for me. I bought the beautiful hardcover copy of this book at the beginning of the month and almost immediately sat down and reread the whole 600+ pages in one night and one day. It reminded me AGAIN of how much I love this book and made my incessant need for the next book even greater!! I honestly can’t deal with the anticipation and spent a good half-hour ranting to my boyfriend about it yesterday and about another ten minutes ranting about it to my TOG-obsessed friend Twisha (I actually did a guest post with her a long time ago…). Anyway, needless to say I absolutely adore this book.

Animal Farm by George Orwell

Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 19.50.40
3 stars.

I had to read this for English class this month and had to write a short essay on it… which I may or may not post when I get it back. I am not quite done with it as I have to write a comparative essay (which I’ll talk more about in my TBR). Anyway, the ending of this annoyed me: I know it was a political statement and blah-blah-blah but it was still somewhat frustrating.

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

26802894
4 stars.

This was the New Release pick of February for the It’s Not Just A Book Club. I have already posted a review for this, so you can view my in-depth thoughts here. It is completely spoiler free. Basically, this was iffy in the beginning and got progressively better and better throughout and I am looking forward to book 2.

The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson

Screen Shot 2016-01-20 at 19.01.33
4 stars.

This was the YA pick of February for the It’s Not Just A Book Club. I will be posting a review for this in the next few days, so I won’t be going in to tons of detail, but basically, I liked the concepts explored and especially enjoyed the ending and am looking forward to reading the next book, but it wasn’t a complete wowser, if you know what I mean. This is the first book in a trilogy.

Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi

13188676
5 stars.

This was another reread for me. It was inspired by a post that Cristina did around Valentine’s Day and I just had to reread it… two hours later I was done. I still love Warnette and hot damn there are some sexy scenes in this one 😉 This is the third book in the Shatter Me trilogy.

Song of the Sparrow by Lisa Ann Sandell

51vsrvspgyl-_sy344_bo1204203200_
4 stars.

This was the Verse pick of February for the It’s Not Just A Book Club, so I will be posting a review very soon. Therefore, again, I will not be going into massive detail about this book. It is a King Arthur story told in prose, beautifully written and easy to connect to, a nice romance and a realistic love triangle.

Magic by Moonlight, Believe in Magic, Magic in the Air, Stolen Magic by Linda Chapman

These are the first four books in the Stardust series by Linda Chapman and I read them in about two hours (each one is only about 150 pages long with massive font and pictures: they are for very young readers). These were a favourite of mine when I was younger and I still enjoy them, although definitely not as much or in the same way, of course. I gave all of these books four stars.

Over Sea, Under Stone by Susan Cooper

Screen Shot 2016-01-24 at 22.33.21
4 stars.

This was a reread and also the Middle Grade pick of February for the It’s Not Just A Book Club. I will be, again, reviewing it soon (see a pattern here? I think I need to write reviews when I finish the book for the March reads maybe). I like this just as much as the first, second and third times I’ve read it and will be continuing my reread of the series. The only reason this doesn’t have five stars is that the books just get better, for the most part. Also, it is incredibly difficult to get a good picture of this book, so sorry for the blurry image. This has to do with King Arthur as well….

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

Screen Shot 2016-02-22 at 22.25.28
4 stars.

This was the Anti-Theme (Bullying) pick of February for the It’s Not Just A Book Club. The only reason that this didn’t get five stars was because it didn’t completely hold my attention the whole time. As with the other book club reads… I will be posting a review of this shortly, so you can see my full in-depth thoughts when I do that! However, this was compelling, tragic and very real.

Wings of Vengeance by Cameo Renae

Screen Shot 2016-02-26 at 10.28.41
3 stars.

I bought this book during the month and read it very, very quickly (in one night) as I do with all of the Cameo Renae books- at least the ones I have read so far. This is the 5th book in the Hidden Wings series and whilst I felt it unnecessary to the story, which was rounded up nicely in the fourth book, and I didn’t enjoy it as much as some of the other books, I still thought it was a fun, contagious read.

Obsidian, Onyx, Opal and Origin by Jennifer L. Armentrout

These are the first four books in the Lux series… I read all four in two days whilst on holiday and I plan on finishing off the series asap. I love the romance and the tension… although there seems to be a LOT of things happening- problem after problem after problem and each book ends on a cliffhanger. These books are all at a five star for me at the moment, but the third/fourth might move down to a four stars once I have time to think about it. I actually think the second one is probably my favourite. I would say first, but there is a bit too much romantic drama and stuff for it to be my favourite of the whole series.

Temeraire by Naomi Novik

ADULT BOOK CLUB: FEBRUARY 2016
5 stars.

This was the Adult pick of February for the It’s Not Just A Book Club. I have posted a review for this already, which you can view here (of course, non-spoilery). Let me just say that this one of my new favourite books. I can’t gush enough about how much I love it, so do check out my review where I list the ten reasons you should read this book.

The Sleeper and the Spindle by Neil Gaiman

Screen Shot 2016-02-26 at 12.58.10
Graphic Novel: 4 stars.

This is the Graphic Novel pick of March for the It’s Not Just A Book Club. Yeah. I read it before March. Oops 😀 I really enjoyed this retelling of Sleeping Beauty and found the illustrations gorgeous. It is more of an illustrated novella than a graphic novel, but I am definitely not complaining. It doesn’t have five stars… well, I’ll explain that in the review I will write for this book 😉

These Vicious Masks by Tarun Shanker and Kelly Zekas

Screen Shot 2016-02-28 at 20.02.06
4 stars.

I didn’t love this book as much as I had hoped: it was just the wrong kind of thing for me to love, but I did really enjoy it and it was definitely a quick read. I got a little bit of Regency England in it, which I loved, although the fantasy was different from what I usually like and the book has a more mad-scientist kind of villain than what I like, which kind of spoilt it a bit for me, but I still really enjoyed it and can’t penalise it for not being what I love, so it still gets four stars.


ON TO OTHER THINGS…


  • I am 16 books ahead in my reading goal for 2016 (I have read forty books this year already out of the 150 that I want to read… if I’m still going at this pace in July, I might up my goal)!
  • I have started a new novel. I didn’t have enough planning in the other one I was writing and there were things that I wanted to put in but couldn’t, so I’m putting that one aside and focusing on this new one, which surrounds fae and things of that nature.
  • I’ve realised that book reviews are much better when I don’t write them as if I was analysing the book for a school project and rather talk about what I liked/disliked and include the elements I was previously talking about into that. It is much quicker and more enjoyable to write that way. So you can expect more reviews coming your way… which also has something to do with the fact that for the It’s Not Just A Book Club, Jackie, Tasha and I (the mods) write book reviews for all the books we read for the club!

As I previously mentioned, I am still currently reading some books from my TBR, but I will be talking about those in my TBR, so I’m not going to here.

Happy reading,

Keira x

Goodreads for Book Group , Blog for Book Group , Twitter , Goodreads , Pinterest

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. That’s so many books! I wish I could read so fast 😦

    Anyway, I’m glad you loved Ignite Me. I have my eye on the series and plan on starting it sometime this year.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Oooh, I hope you enjoy it! I found the last book better than the first two. And thank you…. I have been reading really quickly at the moment, it isn’t usually quite so many, that I can assure you. Normally only in the summer when I have nothing to do 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

