Unpopular Opinions Book Tag 2.0

Hello everyone! Today I am going to do the Unpopular Opinions Book Tag. I did this back when I first started blogging, so I wanted to do it again! This has been around for ages, but I’m going to tag Jackie and Tasha! Without further ado, let us begin!


A POPULAR BOOK OR SERIES THAT YOU DIDN’T LIKE.


Screen Shot 2016-02-28 at 12.40.21

I actually DNF’d this book today, at about 18%. I’ll talk about why later in more detail, but basically I had an issue with one of the tropes.


A POPULAR BOOK OR SERIES THAT EVERYONE ELSE SEEMS TO HATE BUT YOU LOVE.


 

Screen Shot 2016-02-26 at 13.36.46

Some people hate this, some people love it. I’m obviously part of the second category on this one. SPOILER ALERT NOW. Most people that don’t like this book, have a problem with it because of the Rowan-Aelin ship where they ship Chaol-Celaena and they say that she shouldn’t have made another relationship and that the relationship between Chaol-Aelin was too hostile and didn’t make sense in the character development etc. I have a few things to address here.

I was a massive Chaol-Celaena ship. I am a massive Rowan-Aelin ship. Notice how the names aren’t the same? Chaolaena and Rowaelin involve to different people. During the course of Heir of Fire, Celaena goes through some major character development and becomes Aelin at the end, signfiying her accepting who she is. She is not nearly the same person she was when she left. Chaol was always not-too-accepting of her Fae part and was scared of it, so the hostility made sense. In my opinion, of course. But that is just my two cents. Chaol and Celaena were good for each other, Chaol and Aelin would not be. Just like Rowan and Aelin are good for each other, whereas Rowan and Celaena would not be. SPOILER SECTION OVER.


A LOVE TRIANGLE WHERE THE MAIN CHARACTER ENDED UP WITH THE PERSON YOU DID NOT WANT THEM TO END UP WITH/ AN OTP THAT YOU DON’T LIKE.


 

Screen Shot 2016-02-28 at 12.59.12
Source

Dorian and Celaena. I always pictured them better as friends than as romantic partners and I was definitely routing for Chaol and Celaena. This was an instance when the romantic drama was done right.


A POPULAR BOOK GENRE THAT YOU HARDLY REACH FOR.


 

wmhlogowebMystery. It’s just not really my thing, although I do read a tiny bit.


A POPULAR OR BELOVED CHARACTER THAT YOU DO NOT LIKE.


maxon_schreave_by_chrysalisgrey-d75xvl9
Source

Maxon Schreave. Okay, so hear me out here. I do not dislike Maxon. I simply do not like him as much as people seem to. For me, he was a little bit annoying, sometimes sweet and altogether a not-particularly-out-of-the-ordinary-or-interesting character.


A POPULAR AUTHOR THAT YOU CAN’T SEEM TO GET INTO.


scottauthor_1200Scott Westerfeld. I read the first 50 pages of Uglies and just couldn’t get into it, although I am hoping to try again at some other point possibly, when I’m in the mood for science fiction.


A POPULAR BOOK TROPE THAT YOU’RE TIRED OF SEEING.


couple-cute-hot-kiss-favim-com-1304072This is where my… dislike…. for Anna and the French Kiss comes in. I don’t like it where there is a pre-established relationship and one or more people still are interested in/pursue the person in the relationship. I also hate that it is always girls still after the relationship. It tends to cause a lot of repetitive drama, as well, which I also hate.


A POPULAR SERIES THAT YOU HAVE NO INTEREST IN READING.


Screen Shot 2016-02-28 at 12.47.46I don’t really have anything to say about this: I’m just not interested.


THE SAYING GOES ‘THE BOOK IS ALWAYS BETTER THAN THE MOVIE’… WHICH ADAPTATION DID YOU LIKE BETTER THAN THE BOOK.


die-tribute-von-panem-mockingjay-teil-2-posterThat’s the german film poster, by the way. I thought that the films of these were superb and I found the book a little bit rushed, so yeah!


That’s it then! Let me know whether you agree or disagree with any of my picks!

Happy reading, Keira x

Goodreads for Book Group , Blog for Book Group , Twitter , Goodreads , Pinterest

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Thank you for tagging me Keira! I will get to the tags soon, promise 😀 I am full on agreement for Anna and the French Kiss, though I did like it more than I thought I would.

    I haven’t read the Throne of Glass series yet, but it seems to me that Celaena has way too many romantic relationships… :/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Hm, see, the thing is that Celaena doesn’t really. There is a very brief love triangle (very brief, done well, in my opinion) between Dorian and Chaol in the first book, but then stuff happens and Rowan comes after the other two are out of the picture. And it is set over a long period of time, so it isn’t all happening within a few months! Don’t let the romance put you off: I really enjoy it. Yes, Anna was not for me.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Excellent to hear! I am definitely still going to read it!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Keira says:

          Yay! When you do… I hope you like it. I need to someone to talk to about it.

          Liked by 1 person

            1. Keira says:

              You’ve been posting so many book reviews of all the books…. I think mine will bleed into the beginning of March at least.

              Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

