February Book Haul

Hello everyone! Today I will be doing my February Book Haul as I have absolutely zero intention of buying any more books before the end of the month (in four days). I bought quite a lot of books this month: they are all YA Fantasy, with the exception of two YA Science Fiction and one Non-Fiction. I’m not complaining. If you click on the title of the book, it will lead you to the Goodreads page.


PRE-ORDERS


I really love pre-orders. It is like a little surprise gift coming for you in the post! Or arriving on your Kindle/e-reader. I have three pre-orders that arrived this month: one which I ordered on the last day of 2015, one which I ordered in the last week of January and one which I ordered four days before it came out…. there is a little bit more to the story, but I’ll explain that after I show you the books!

1: Modern Romance by Aziz Ansari. This is a non-fiction investigation written by comedian Aziz Ansari, with the help of sociologist Eric Klinenberg. I have started reading it, although I am not very far. This was released on the 2nd of February, and I pre-ordered it in late January. This book explores how romance has changed in the era of technology in a positive light. This is actually the hardcover US edition in the picture, which has been out since last year, but I got the UK paperback, which came out this month. This is the Non-Fiction pick of February and March for the It’s Not Just A Book Club Book Club.

2: Assassin’s Heart by Sarah Ahiers. This is a YA Fantasy novel about rival assassins, murder, and possibly a bit of romance, if the blurb is anything to go by. May I just say that the texture and appearance of the cover is gorgeous? I pre-ordered this one at the beginning of the year and it is the New Release pick of March for the It’s Not Just A Book Club Book Club

3: Blackhearts by Nicole Castroman. This book is a reimagining of J. M. Barrie’s Peter Pan and Wendy, set before the events of the play/book. It follows the back story of Captain Hook (who I believe is called Teach, if I am reading the summary correctly) and what lead him to be the one-hooked, one-handed pirate with a ticking crocodile and a boy who never grows up to be his enemy. There is some romance, some heartbreak and I’m super excited!!! I also really, really love this cover: it’s gorgeous! This was released early in the month, but Amazon had none in stock even though I pre-ordered it a little bit before, so it didn’t come until a week after it was released. Oh well!


KINDLE BOOKS


4: Qualify by Vera Nazarian. This book was recommended to me by the lovely Elm, so thank you! It was free for Kindle download, so I decided to get it! It seems to be a science-fiction story, with a trial/competition, so I’m looking forward to getting to it at some point!

5: Emerge by Heather Sunseri. This is another free-to-download Kindle purchase YA Science Fiction. In this book, there is some kind of disease that is thought to be extinct and comes back and a person has to find a cure and his old best friend and I don’t really know, but it seems really interesting, so I’m looking forward to reading it. I also really like the cover!

6: How I Found You by Gabriella Lepore. I bought this on Valentine’s Day at the beautifully reduced price of 99p when I saw Benjamin @Benjaminoftomes tweet about him putting it on sale. This book has to do with a girl who gets some mysterious and disturbing dreams. I think it’s a paranormal romance-y type book.

7: In My Dreams by Cameo Renae. Another book about dreams, this time I think the girl sees her dead boyfriend in them. Not quite sure though. I really like Cameo Renae’s books: they’re very fun, quick reads so I anticipating the same thing from this one.

8: Wings of Vengeance by Cameo Renae. This is the final book in the Hidden Wings series by Cameo Renae. Again, a fun and quick read that was released last month. I have already read this, so I’ll let you know my thoughts more in my Wrap Up.


ALL OF THE REST


9: Angelfall by Susan Ee. This is a gorgeous cover. Thank you for giving us pretty covers! This is about the apocalypse and angels, from what I can gather and apparently has a rather nice guy named Raffe in it 😉 Not nice, but nice if you know what I mean. Also, how do you pronounce that name?? This is the Anti-Theme pick of March for the It’s Not Just A Book Club Book Club.

10: The Sleeper and the Spindle by Neil Gaiman. In this beautiful, beautiful book illustrated by Chris Riddell… well, I don’t know where I was going with that, but this is a Sleeping Beauty retelling and it seems really interesting. This is also the Graphic Novel pick of March for the It’s Not Just A Book Club Book Club. Okay, a question for this book too: do you call her Sleeping Beauty, Aurora, Briar Rose…. or something else?

11: The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig. I bought this book yesterday in a bookshop in a nearby town (I do most of my shopping online, because I live in Germany so books are expensive and also because it is hard to get to the main bookshops). This is about time travel and romance and maps and seems really epic!

12: Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas. I actually already own this book, but I am re-purchasing this book in the hardcovers (I currently only have the Kindle editions). I re-read this one during the month as well! I still love it just as much as before, if not even more. Also, I CANNOT POSSIBLY WAIT UNTIL AUTUMN FOR BOOK 5. HOW? HOW?

13: Seide und Schwert von Kai Meyer. This is a german book (the title in english would be ‘Silk and Sword’. I have one other (also unread) book by Kai Meyer and this seems really interesting. It seems to be about Chinese folklore, dragons and cloud people (the name of the series, Wolkenvolk, literally translates to mean cloud folk).

14: These Vicious Masks by Tarun Shanker and Kelly Zekas. I am super excited for this one because…. it is fantasy set in 19th Century England!!!! 18/19th Century Britain is my favourite to read about and the world in which my book I am writing will be set in something based off of that. This also has an interesting concept and will, I hope, have some good romance, maybe?

15: The Shadow Queen by C. J. Redwine... I just realised how similar this title is to Queen of Shadows! Anyway, this is a Snow White retelling, which sounds awesome, and it has dragons and a map. It is also the first book in a new series! I am incredibly excited for this! This book was also released during the month!


Okay, well those are all of the books that I bought in February 2016! Before you go, I have a few questions for you that I’d like to know your answers to!

  1. How would you pronounce the name Raffe?
  2. What do you call Sleeping Beauty? Aurora? Briar Rose? Sleeping Beauty?
  3. Do you like retellings and if so, what retellings do you like the most?
  4. Do you like how I’ve been using word clouds of all of the words in the post as the header images?

Let me know what you got your hands on this month and whether you’ve ready any of the books I got by leaving me a comment!


 

Happy reading, Keira x

Goodreads for Book Group , Blog for Book Group , Twitter , Goodreads , Pinterest

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

