January Wrap Up 2016

Hello everyone and welcome to my January Wrap Up! After I do this post I will be doing three different book hauls (I need to split it up, the pile is so big) and then finally by February TBR, so look out for those! I will also be posting my It’s New News feature post for February…. or maybe the TBR will be posted before this (I know it doesn’t make sense chronologically, but it might be faster. Who knows.

I read a total of 18 books in January, including a novella, so I’m really happy with that: it means I am 12% into my Reading Challenge for 2016 (150 books) and 6 books ahead.

My average rating was 4.1 stars, which is pretty good considering I am trying to be a lot harsher with my rating this year and not give out 5s so freely, because I had amazing books stuck with good books in my 5 star range last year.

I started a new feature: Weekly Updates, which are biweekly for the first/last week of the month (last week of previous month, first week of next month) because of Wrap Ups: too many updatery posts at once. I am achieving some of my resolutions, others I am pretty much failing, but I’ll only address the book and blog ones here, as I do talk about them every week in the Weekly Update.

Reading Resolutions:

  1. Complete my Goodreads challenge of 150 books: I am well on my way, as I talked about before.
  2. Read at least a little bit each day: Not every day because, well, I have school and I just got back from Moscow actually (which I will do a post on, at some point), but most days I have read.
  3. Complete TBR Jar Challenge: For this month, it was actually the first books I read!!! The challenge was to read a german book and I read Das geheime Vermächtnis des Pan von Sandra Regnier, which is the first book in the Pan trilogy.
  4. Read half of monthly TBR list: Well, I did. I’ll talk about it in more detail in a minute.
  5. Read more classics and graphic novels: Yep!
  6. Keep TBR under 80 books: This is the one I’m failing here. I am at 146 books, but largely because I downloaded a ton of books that my mum owns on to my Kindle and she gave me loads of her books as she raided her bookshelves (hence the three part book haul).

Blogging Resolutions:

  1. Blog at least four times a week: Apart from this last week, I have done it (although I only barely made it one week).
  2. Do more personal posts: I did one and have one planned as well, so yeah, I guess.
  3. Continue Readers Recommendations: this is no longer a resolution, as I have put it on a hiatus until I have more time.
  4. Do a Wrap Up every month (as well as a Haul and a TBR): I’m writing my first one now!
  5. Do more book reviews- at least two a month: I actually did do this. I reviewed Rook by Sharon Cameron and A Thousand Nights by E. K. Johnston. I have a load on my to-read list, though, which I will talk about in a bit.
  6. Follow more blogs: I followed a few….

All of my Posts (not including irrelevant ones or reposts):

1st: So It’s Personal….., Academy Book Awards: My Nominations, December Wrap Up

2nd: 2016 Resolutions

5th: January TBR, Top 15 of 2015, Change in Web Address

7th: December Book Haul 2015

11th: Rook by Sharon Cameron | Book Review, New Year’s Resolutions Book Tag, Book Fangirling Award

15th: A Thousand Night by E. K. Johnston | Book Review, January 1st-14th 2016 | Weekly Update

16th: Social Media Book Tag

22nd: The BFF Book Tag

23rd: Weekly Update | January 15th-23rd 2016

26th: Books I Want to Reread in 2016

27th: Total TBR | End of January 2016

29th: Identifying With Characters | A Discussion Worth Having

My To-Review Pile:

Feel free to let me know which of these you most want to hear my thoughts on:

  1. Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch (or I could do a series review when I’ve read the last book???)
  2. A School for Unusual Girls by Kathleen Baldwin
  3. The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness
  4. Everything Leads to You by Nina LaCour
  5. Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes (or do a part-way through series review when I finish all of the books that have come out so far??)

I ALSO STARTED A NEW BOOK CLUB IN JANUARY, OUR FIRST READS START FEBRUARY (SO TODAY AS I AM WRITING THIS). I WILL LEAVE LINKS BELOW WHEN I SIGN OFF.

Now on to the reading wrap up…..


 

TBR….

  • Das geheime Vermächtnis des Pan von Sandra Regnier
  • A School for Unusual Girls by Kathleen Baldwin
  • Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin
  • Everything Leads to You by Nina LaCour
  • Night Owls by Jenn Bennett
  • Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë
  • Peter Pan and Wendy by J. M. Barrie
  • The Original Folk and Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm, translated by Jack Zipes and illustrated by Andrea Dezsö
  • Where do Camels Belong? by Ken Thompson
  • Icicles Like Kindling by Sara Raasch
  • Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch
  • The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson
  • The Ice Dragon by George R. R. Martin
  • A Thousand Nights by E. K. Johnston
  • Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children: The Graphic Novel by Ransom Riggs, art by Cassandra Jean
  • The Martian by Andy Weir
  • The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness
  • Kleider Machen Leute von Gottfried Keller

So, there were 18 books on my TBR and I read 13 of them (and am currently reading two others). The bold ones I am currently reading, the ones in a different colour I just didn’t read.


 

Das geheime Vermächtnis des Pan von Sandra Regnier

Screen Shot 2015-12-19 at 21.44.04

Dieses Buch ist das erste Buch in die Pan-Trilogie von Sandra Regnier. Ich habe es vier Sterne gegeben (4 stars) und ich habe es sehr toll gefunden, auch wenn es ziemlich viele Monate gedauert hat. Hoffentlich kann ich die nächste Buchen im Trilogie ein bisschen schneller lesen. Dieses Buch war mein TBR Jar Challenge für Januar: ,,Read a german book”. Dieses Buch ist ein Fantasy Geschichte für Jugendliche.

 


 

A Thousand Nights by E. K. Johnston

Screen Shot 2015-12-29 at 22.36.45

This is one of the books that I did a review for, so I will link that on the title of this book, so make sure to check it out. It is a retelling of Arabian Nights and really intriguing and interesting. I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars, because I am trying to be more harsh. I am not going in to too much detail, because you can just have a look at my full spoiler-free review. This is a fantasy, retelling YA.


 

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children: The Graphic Novel by Ransom Riggs, Art by Cassandra Jean

Screen Shot 2015-12-29 at 22.37.09I actually already read Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, but I forgot a lot of the plot (like most of it) and so I am going to reread the first two books in this series in graphic novel form before reading the third book in regular format (which I already own). The Graphic Novel of the second one doesn’t come out until near the end of the year, so I might give up and reread the regular book in-between. Who knows. Anyway, I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars, just because I felt like it was a bit too skeletal. This is a paranormal, fantasy and reasonably creepy YA.

 


 

Icicles Like Kindling by Sara Raasch

There is no cover for this book, hence the absence of a picture. It is about 28 pages total, so it is really short. It is the prequel novella to the Snow Like Ashes series, which I read before reading Snow Like Ashes and gave 3 stars. This is a YA Fantasy.


 

Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch

Screen Shot 2015-12-29 at 22.37.52

This is the first book in the Snow Like Ashes series and I gave it 4 stars. I will hopefully do a full review for this soon, but it is the love that made me hold back from giving it a five. The world, however, is really interesting. This is YA Fantasy.

 

 


 

The School for Good and Evil by Soman Chainani

Screen Shot 2016-01-05 at 23.25.27

This is another first book in a series, which I will probably get to the second book of, although I’m not sure it is entirely necessary…. thinking about it, I might just leave this as a standalone, it wrapped up pretty well and I hear the second book isn’t as good. This is a middle grade fantasy novel.

 


A School for Unusual Girls by Kathleen Baldwin

Screen Shot 2016-01-01 at 21.23.23

This is one of the few books I awarded with 5 stars this month. It was great and set in one of my favourite time periods: the 1800s. I can’t wait for the next book to come out and I am super excited. I hope to do a review for this book as well. This is a young adult alternate historical fiction.

 

 


 

The Ice Dragon by George R. R. Martin

Screen Shot 2016-01-01 at 22.14.14

This was really short with some incredible illustrations and really made me want to continue A Song of Ice and Fire again. I gave it 4 stars as I felt it could have been developed a bit more had it been a little bit longer. This is middle grade fantasy.


 

Graceling by Kristin Cashore

Screen Shot 2016-01-08 at 18.31.24

This is the first book in another new series that I will be continuing (in fact, I already have the second book). I read this in one sitting and somehow it reminds me of Throne of Glass, but not quite as good yet. I gave this book a harsh 4 out of 5 stars. This is young adult fantasy.

 

 


 

The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

Screen Shot 2016-01-01 at 22.23.12

This is the first book in a YA Sci-Fi series with the most incredible twist at the end: I did not see it coming at all. I gave this book 5 of 5 stars and absolutely loved it. The friendship, social structure and adventure were all incredible. I still can’t get over that end…. I hope I will be able to do a review for this book as well.

 

 


 

Ice Like Fire by Sara Raasch

Screen Shot 2016-01-11 at 22.59.59

This is the second book in the Snow Like Ashes YA fantasy trilogy and I had the same problems and likes as in the first book, although I thought the conflict was more developed in this book, which I liked. I gave this book 4 stars as well.

 

 


 

Everything Leads to You by Nina LaCour

Screen Shot 2016-01-01 at 21.49.36

I wanted to enjoy this more than I did (I really enjoyed it and gave it a 4 star rating) but there are a few things that I wish Nina LaCour would have done that she didn’t. I won’t go into specifics, as I want to do a review for this book. I really did like the film aspect of the book and it was a good LGBTQIA+ book, in my opinion. This is a YA Contemporary.

 


 

Kleider Machen Leute von Gottfried Keller

Screen Shot 2015-12-04 at 21.55.05

This was my required reading. Interesting, but tedious and the language was hard to understand. I pretty much have no strong feelings about this book whatsoever.

 

 


 

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë

Screen Shot 2015-11-15 at 12.09.25

This is a classic. It was incredible and I gave it 5 stars. It is probably my third favourite classic of all times, tied with Romeo and Juliet. I have nothing more to say about this book, other than: I found the middle 200-300 pages or so a bit slow, but the beginning and the end faster. I can’t wait to read more Charlotte Brontë.

 

 


 

Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

Screen Shot 2016-01-12 at 19.36.33

I read this book for the Conquering Kingdoms (or is it called Falling Kingdoms, I really don’t know) read-a-thon which is currently taking place in which we are reading the entirety of the published Falling Kingdoms series. I really enjoyed this book and can’t wait to continue with the second book, Rebel Spring by Morgan Rhodes. I gave this YA Fantasy 5 out of 5 stars.

 


 

The Telling Pool by David Clement-Davies

Screen Shot 2016-01-22 at 22.11.44

When I first started reading this book, I seriously debated DNFing it, but I’m glad I didn’t, because I did enjoy it. I wanted to DNF it because it was being slow (which I don’t have an issue with) as well as being about a time period I really don’t like: the crusades. I feel like maybe this needed to be continued, now that I think back on it, but I would not be continuing if it were continued, so it doesn’t really matter. This is a middle grade fantasy and I gave it 3 stars.

 


 

Peter Pan and Wendy by J. M. Barrie

Another book that doesn’t have a cover (although, it does have a cover, it just isn’t on Goodreads, but oh well. I was reading this for awhile before finally finishing this one night when I couldn’t sleep. The original (this one) is much more malicious than the Disney one, that is for sure.


 The Martian by Andy Weir

51eok8evitl-_sx323_bo1204203200_

 

This was just as good as it was hyped to be and I gave it 5 stars. I really need to see the film now…. I honestly don’t really know what to say here. I found it really interesting and, although technical and information heavy, fast-paced and interesting. As many have said, the voice of the protagonist and his humour is incredible.

 

 


 

 

That is it for the January Wrap Up!

Happy Reading,

Keira x

Goodreads for Book Group

Blog for Book Group

Twitter

Goodreads

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow, that is an impressive January, you should be very proud of yourself. I wish you all the best for February! X

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

