Books I Want to Reread in 2016

on

Hello everyone! So, I used to reread books all the time. But since joining the bookish online community, my TBR pile has increased and I’m not rereading as much. In fact, I feel GUILTY for rereading books when I have so many that I haven’t read already and I shouldn’t. So, here is a list of the books I want to reread in 2016.


#14: The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Screen Shot 2016-01-24 at 22.14.30Well, I tried to read this one time already and DNF’d it, but everyone seems to love it and I was really young when I tried to read it, so I’m giving it one last chance.

#13: Runes by Ednah Walters

Screen Shot 2016-01-24 at 22.14.20This is the first book in a series (or trilogy, or something, I don’t know) that I also own the second book two, but forgot quite a bit of what happens in this book, so I want to reread it to refresh my memory before reading the second book. I remember just thinking this book was okay, so I hope either my opinion changes for the better or the next book(s) get even better.

#12: Imdalind series by Rebecca Ethington (books 1-4)

Like with the Lux series, I read these awhile ago and only really remember what happens in the beginning of the first book. I don’t own all of the books in this series, so I’m going to read the first four that I own to see whether I want to continue reading the series, as I remember really enjoying it the first time around.

#11: The Man from Pomegranate Street by Caroline Lawrence

Screen Shot 2015-10-31 at 12.21.54I have been wanting to reread the last book in the Roman Mysteries series for a long time now. I only remember the first chapter (where the lovey-dovey stuff is in full swing and isn’t in the main time of the story, if I remember correctly) and so I want to reread just this last book (not all eighteen in the series, just this one). This was a favourite series of mine and my mum’s when I was about seven or so and I reread it a lot back then, so I’m looking forward to seeing how much my opinions have changed in the last seven years or so.

#10: Lux series by Jennifer L. Armentrout (Books 1-4)

Out of all of the rereads on this list, this is the only one that is on my TBR list of books. That is because it was so long ago that I read these books, that I literally only remember the first few chapters of Obsidian. I own all five books in the series, but only the first four will be rereads, hence me not including the last book in this list. I hope I enjoy these books as much the second time I read them as I did the first time reading them.

#9: Magic Secrets by Linda Chapman

Screen Shot 2016-01-24 at 22.11.26This is a throwback to when I was about nine, when I was obsessed with the Stardust series. I reread those books almost as much as I did Harry Potter and so it no longer really matters which book I reread, seeing as I am incredibly familiar with the story. I picked this one to read because a) I remember it being really intriguing and there being a slight darkness to it, b) there is still training of the main character going on and the plot starts to build a lot in this book, if my memory serves me correctly, and c) it is one of the two books that I have on my kindle and therefore I won’t need to borrow it from my little sister… or temporarily steal it.

#8: The Princess Curse by Merrie Haskell

Screen Shot 2016-01-24 at 22.12.35This was one of my favourite reads of last year and, admittedly, I also want to reread this book for the romance scenes largely, which come later in the book. This book is still very fresh in my mind, so I will be most likely rereading this book towards the end of the year.

#7: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Screen Shot 2016-01-24 at 22.13.03Well, this is the second Sarah J. Maas book on this list. The next book comes out in May, and as with Queen of Shadows, I read this book so quickly that I have forgotten some of the major plot points, almost certainly, and definitely some of the more hidden nuances which make Maas’ writing so incredible!

#6: Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

Screen Shot 2016-01-01 at 15.06.53The main reason I want to reread this book is, I will admit, the awesome Baz and Simon scenes. After finishing this book I went back and reread those scenes multiple times…

#5: Rook by Sharon Cameron

23399192This was my overall favourite book for 2015, so I feel like it deserves a reread, although probably not for a little bit as it was pretty much the last book I read in 2015, if not the last book. I absolutely adore this book and can’t wait to read the story again! Maybe I’ll miss something that I didn’t see the first time I read it. I have actually done a review for this book, which you can look at here if you would like: it’s spoiler free!!!  The characters, the world, the romance, I am in love with everything in this book and I can’t wait to immerse myself into this glorious piece of art yet again.

#4: DarkIsle trilogy by D. A. Nelson

The next series I want to reread is the DarkIsle trilogy by D A Nelson. I actually haven’t read (and do not yet own) the third book in this series and plan on reading it this year, hence the reread. Also, it is one of my favourite books. I have as-of-yet unannounced news regarding this book that you should definitely stay tuned for!

#3: The Dark is Rising Sequence by Susan Cooper

This reread is actually coming close! The first book in this series, ‘Over Sea, Under Stone by Susan Cooper’, is the Middle Grade pick for February in the my book club, which I host alongside the wonderful Jackie and Tasha. I absolutely love this series and, like with Harry Potter (and the Throne of Glass series, for that matter) I have reread them multiple times and can’t wait to do so again. It helps that they are bogglingly short.

#2: Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

Screen Shot 2016-01-24 at 22.13.14I am seriously debating asking for this whole series in the US hardcovers for my Christmas and Birthday this year, or at least the UK paperbacks. I currently have them on my Kindle and it feels wrong not to be able to touch and look at one of my favourite series of all times…. but anyway, I loved this book and it is always too long to wait until the next one in the series. I also feel like I whizz through them so quickly the first time that I end up forgetting major plot points, so like I reread Heir of Fire last year, I am going to be rereading this one this year…. I have already been putting it off because of other things I need to read and because the release date of the next book is so far away…

#1: Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling 

 

I plan on reading the whole series from start to finish, except I’m going to read the Illustrated Edition of the first book rather than the normal edition, which I reread in September or something of last year and then never kept reading, let’s hope I don’t repeat that incident again this year! I will not be rereading the extra books, though.

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Excellent choices- HP and Book Thief are well overdue a reread for me. And even if I just read Carry On in December, I’m desperate to reread it asap

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

