Weekly Update: January 15th-23rd 2016

Screen Shot 2016-01-15 at 00.24.46

Hello everyone and welcome to the second weekly update here on Signing On! I didn’t get much response to the last one, but I found it quite helpful for me and a really good way to reflect on how my life is going, so I’m going to keep doing them. I made some new header things for the different sections, but I’m not sure how I feel about them, so let me know what you think!


 

Screen Shot 2016-01-23 at 10.49.30

Well, I started back at school again this week, so I actually only read three books, one of which was for school, but I did read one book that was over 600 pages, so there’s something to be said for that! I also read two new favourites this week, which is a plus although the other book I read for school wasn’t so great.


 

Screen Shot 2016-01-23 at 10.49.39

I didn’t read that many books this week, as you saw, but two of them were in fact on my TBR: Jane Eyre and Kleider Machen Leute, so I have now read 11/18 books. Falling Kingdoms I read for a read-a-long so it would’ve been on my TBR, but I hadn’t decided to join until half-way through the month.

The books that are still on my TBR are:


 

Screen Shot 2016-01-23 at 10.49.49


 

Screen Shot 2016-01-23 at 10.49.55

I have bought some books this month, but I have also received a ton that I didn’t buy (I’ll talk about that later when I talk about what happened throughout the week). I bought 5 books this week and was given 23.

Screen Shot 2016-01-23 at 10.52.57

Screen Shot 2016-01-23 at 10.53.45


 

Screen Shot 2016-01-23 at 10.50.05


 

Screen Shot 2016-01-23 at 10.50.13

My New Years Resolutions were:

  1. Complete my Goodreads challenge of 150 books: well, I’ve read 15 so far, which puts me 10% into my challenge and 7 books ahead.
  2. Read at least a little bit each day: yep!
  3. Complete TBR Jar Challenge: already done mine for this month.
  4. Read half of monthly TBR list: over half way!
  5. Read more classics and graphic novels: I have already read one graphic novel and two classics.
  6. Keep TBR under 80 books: Okay, well, my mum gave me a ton of books (which I’ll be talking about later) so I have over 100 books on my TBR. Not doing to great here then. Oh well, everything else is good, so I’m sure I can manage to get on top of this one.

The Goals I Set Last Week were:

  • Finish Jane Eyre
  • Finish Kleider Machen Leute
  • Read a chapter of Where Do Camels Belong?

 

Screen Shot 2016-01-23 at 10.50.21

My New Years Resolutions were:

  • Write a little bit every day: I’m struggling a little bit with this, but I have written some more. I need to get back into a routine… hopefully now that I have set up my book club, less time will go to the managerial side of that and I can refocus that time.
  • Do my homework when I get it and manage my time more wisely: again, this hasn’t been going great but that is partially because this was the last week of the first semester and we had Earth Summit (massive presentation).

The Goal I Set Last Week was:

  • Write a little bit everyday

 

Screen Shot 2016-01-23 at 10.50.29

My New Years Resolutions were:

  • Be less stressed: Well, sort of. I didn’t get really stressed about my major presentation, which is good, but I’m slightly stressed about doing Design Technology this semester: it was a ton of work for those who had it first semester and I don’t have much time for myself as it is.
  • Ask for help when I need it: This one hasn’t been applicable yet because we’ve been working on stuff that we’re halfway through and so I pretty much understand.
  • Keep my room tidy: This I’m pretty much failing at. I need to tidy up this weekend again. I tidied up last weekend and I can no longer see my floor again.
  • Finally achieve my box splits and my left leg forward splits: …not yet.
  • Exercise at least three times a week outside of dance class and gym class: Yeah, I should probably try and work on this one again. I did dance one time for a rehearsal that wasn’t dance class, though.

The Goal I Set Last Week was:

  • Exercise more

 

Screen Shot 2016-01-23 at 10.50.37

  1. Blog at least four times a week: Just.
  2. Do more personal posts: I’ve still only done one…
  3. Continue Readers Recommendations: I am discontinuing this feature for a bit until I get settled with school and my new book club.
  4. Do a Wrap Up every month: N/A
  5. Do more book reviews- at least two a month: I’ve done two already, but I haven’t done any this week. I plan on doing one this weekend.
  6. Follow more blogs: I actually followed two new blogs this week!
  • Post on four different days (not four posts, four days when I post)
  • Be more active checking my twitter

Screen Shot 2016-01-23 at 10.50.49Screen Shot 2016-01-23 at 10.53.06

Screen Shot 2016-01-23 at 10.53.12

Screen Shot 2016-01-23 at 10.53.17

  • Book Club?

Screen Shot 2016-01-23 at 10.53.22

Screen Shot 2016-01-23 at 10.57.58

Screen Shot 2016-01-23 at 10.53.55


 

Screen Shot 2016-01-23 at 10.50.57

  • I tidied up my already-messy-again room.
  • I had a Birthday Party: we went out for dinner, where we were told to be quiet because we got really excited talking about cutlery (weird, I know) and then two of my friends slept over and the other one went home.
  • My mum went through her bookshelves and gave me 23 books.
  • I had my fist dance rehearsal. I am dancing for a girl’s end-of-school piece (she is graduating this year).
  • I went stationary shopping with my boyfriend (for about 15 minutes, it was freezing).
  • I had Earth Summit, which is this massive presentation thing. I still haven’t received my grade for it yet, although other classes have…
  • I set up this book club and appointed two other moderators: Jackie and Tasha. You guys should definitely check it out here on WordPress and here on Goodreads.

 

Screen Shot 2016-01-23 at 10.51.05Screen Shot 2016-01-23 at 10.51.15

  • Finish Peter Pan and Wendy by J. M. Barrie
  • Finish The Telling Pool by David Clement-Davies
  • Read a chapter of Where Do Camels Belong?
  • Read a story every two days from The Original Folk and Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm
  • Buy only two books: the one I need for school and the one I need for the book club.
  • Read at least two library books.
  • Write 300 words minimum a day.
  • Do my homework after a snack and after 10 minutes of checking social media when I get home each day.
  • Stretch three times (decent length). 
  • Tidy up my room and keep it tidy. Designate 10 minutes a day to keeping it tidy.
  • Post on four different days (reblogs don’t count).
  • Prewrite three posts for whilst I’m away.
  • Follow at least three blogs. 
  • Work on my wrap up and book haul a little bit every day and post them at the end of the week.
  • Write one personal post.
  • Write one review.
  • Write one discussion.

That’s a lot of goals, but I think I can (hopefully manage them). The first colour set is reading goals, the second writing and student, the third personal, exercise and dance and the last blogging.

 

Screen Shot 2016-01-23 at 10.51.27

  • I have a meeting about the ISTA (International Schools Theatre Association) trip on Monday.
  • I start the second semester at school on Monday.
  • I’m getting my new assigned reading on Monday.
  • I have a Maths Test and a French Test on Tuesday.
  • I think I’m starting Debate Club again on Tuesday.
  • I am travelling to Moscow for aforementioned ISTA festival from Thursday to Sunday.

That’s it for this week people! This post took an hour, literally, and I had already planned it all last night.

Happy reading, be happy and you’re beautiful!

Keira x

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Elm says:

    Bloody hell, this is awesome! Have an amazing time in Moscow, and good luck for those tests! Ooh, you have a boyfriend? Sorry 😛 Just curious. And Ahhhhh all those books!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      XD yeah, I do. Those books ruined my TBR!!! Oh well, I’m not complaining. Thank you for the well wishes!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Elm says:

        Hehe any time!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

