January TBR

Screen Shot 2016-01-01 at 21.13.38

Hello everyone and welcome to my January TBR!! For more information on how I am now setting up my TBR each month, please refer to my 2016 Resolutions post. Unfortunately, I have not posted in the past two days because the wifi at my hotel does not allow WordPress to work for some reason. I have now found a way around that issue and should hopefully be posting lots!


 

Screen Shot 2015-12-26 at 23.01.15

Screen Shot 2016-01-01 at 15.37.45January’s challenge is… Read a german language book (not for school)! Which is really quite convenient, seeing as one of the books I am part way through is a german book. So for this challenge, I am going to be reading Das geheime Vermächtnis des Pan von Sandra Regnier. I am more than halfway through this book. I have been reading it for a few months, but not actively and for the last few days of December, I was actively reading it and really enjoying it. As of the 2nd of January, I have finished this book.


Screen Shot 2016-01-01 at 21.21.26

Historical Fiction

  • A School for Unusual Girls by Kathleen Baldwin: This is a book that I received for my birthday. I have taken this book with me on my ski trip, but have not yet read it.
  • Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin: This book arrived on the 4th of January, but I purchased it as a gift from my dad on my actual birthday.

Contemporary

  • Everything Leads to You by Nina LaCour: This is another book that I received for my birthday. This book has a LGBTQIA+ character, which makes me really excited, especially because the main character is lesbian and there aren’t a lot of main lesbian characters in literature- for some reason, it is mostly gay characters… I have brought this book with me on holiday.
  • Night Owls by Jenn Bennett: Another one I received for my birthday!!!! Both this and the previous book i mentioned are quite romance heavy, I think. Anyway, this is a really short one so hopefully I can fly through it.

Classics

  • Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë: I have been reading this for about a month and am on page 149 (24%).
  • Peter Pan and Wendy by J. M. Barrie: I have been reading this book for about a month as well and am on page 132 (49%).
  • The Original Folk and Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm, translated by Jack Zipes and illustrated by Andrea Dezsö: I have been reading this book since July 2015, but as it is a short story collection, I am somewhat okay about that. I am currently on page 232 (42%) and wish to finish at least 7 short stories by the end of the month.

Non-Fiction

  • Where do Camels Belong? by Ken Thompson: This is another book I have been reading since July 2015. I don’t want to finish this book (well, I want to, but that is an unrealistic goal) but I do want to read three more chapters. I am on page 130 (49%).

 

Fantasy

  • Icicles Like Kindling by Sara Raasch: This is a prequel novella to Snow Like Ashes and is only 28 pages. As of January 5th, I have read this book. This book is only available online (free!) and you can find the link on the goodreads page for the book.
  • Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch: This is the first book in a new fantasy series that was #1 on my ‘must read series’ of the year list. As of January 5th, I have read this book. This book was bought on my birthday by my dad as a gift and I have brought it with me on my skiing holiday.
  • The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson: This book was a christmas present. I read Warbreaker by Brandon Sanderson last year and have wanted to read more of his work ever since… it is pretty massive though.
  • The Ice Dragon by George R.R. Martin (Illustrated by Luis Royo): I have quite a few George R.R. Martin books on my TBR, but as I have so many fantasy books on my TBR this month, I have decided to pick the shortest one. This is a middle grade standalone based in the same world as the ASOIAF series and is filled with beautiful illustrations as well.
  • A Thousand Nights by E. K. Johnston: This is another book that my dad ordered for me as a birthday present and is a retelling of 1000 Nights. As of January 4th, this book is read and I brought it on my skiing holiday.

 

Graphic Novel

  • Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs and Cassandra Jean: This is the graphic novel format of a book that I read a few years ago and need to refresh my memory of before I finish the series- still need to read the graphic novel of the second book though. As of January 3rd, this book has been read (I brought it on my skiing holiday).

 

Science Fiction

  • The Martian by Andy Weir: I hear that this book is amazing and that the movie is incredible, so I really want to read the book and watch the movie when it comes out on iTunes or DVD.
  • The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness: I received this book for Christmas and it seems really interesting, so I want to read it. Even if it is massive.

Required Reading

  • Kleider Machen Leute von Gottfried Keller: I’ve been reading this novella since December for German class and I have no idea when we’re going to finish it.

 

That’s it for this month’s TBR. Sorry for how late it came, I meant to publish it two days ago, but my WordPress wasn’t working, so sorry about that. Have you read any of these books? What did you think? Are there any books you want to see reviews for when/if I read them?

Happy reading, Keira x

Twitter: Rogan Tallulah

Goodreads (actually, I switched my goodreads account so follow me on my new one- I was having issues with my shelves on the old one): Keira

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

