December Wrap Up

on

Screen Shot 2016-01-01 at 19.11.03

Hello everyone! Here is my wrap up for December 2015!! I didn’t read as much as I had hoped this month, but I still read a fair amount, which I am happy with.


TBRWISE…..

  • The Honour Code by Kwame Anthony Appiah
  • Das geheime Vermächtnis des Pan von Sandra Regnier
  • Escape from Witchwood Hollow by Elizabeth Jordan
  • Uglies by Scott Westerfeld
  • Peter Pan and Wendy by J.M. Barrie
  • The Original Folk and Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm
  • Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë
  • Where do Camels Belong? by Ken Thompson
  • The Waters & the Wild by Francesca Lia Block
  • Snake Ropes by Jess Richards.
  • A Whole Life by Robert Seethaler
  • Magic Study by Maria V. Schnyder
  • Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling
  • The Man from Pomegranate Street by Caroline Lawrence
  • Winter by Marissa Meyer
  • The Heart of Betrayal by Mary E. Pearson
  • White Hot Kiss by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Okay, so the red ones are actually ones that I had just begun at the beginning of the month but decided to put down and read at a different time and so I kind of removed them from my TBR. The pink ones are oes that I am currently reading but made no progress on and the blue one is one that I DNF’d and don’t plan on reading again. The purple ones are books that I have made progress on but haven’t finished and the crossed out ones are the ones I did finish.

So I finished four books on my TBR, I’ve made progress on three others, I DNF’d one book, removed two from my list, didn’t make any progress on two of the books I was reading and didn’t read any of the others. I’m actually okay with this outcome. I set myself an overly-ambitious TBR and I did read quite a bit. So now on to what I read. As usual, all summaries are taken from goodreads.


The Heart of Betrayal by Mary E Pearson

Screen Shot 2015-07-13 at 23.08.19

Screen Shot 2015-10-12 at 21.28.19

I really, really enjoyed this book and gave it 5 out of 5 stars. I liked the progression of the story and the character development. This is the second book in the Remnant Chronicles and as such, I will not be including a description of this book, rather of the first one.  I voted the antagonist in this book BEST ANTAGONIST in the Academy Book Awards 2015 which I am holding.

A princess must find her place in a reborn world.

She flees on her wedding day.

She steals ancient documents from the Chancellor’s secret collection.

She is pursued by bounty hunters sent by her own father.

She is Princess Lia, seventeen, First Daughter of the House of Morrighan.

The Kingdom of Morrighan is steeped in tradition and the stories of a bygone world, but some traditions Lia can’t abide. Like having to marry someone she’s never met to secure a political alliance.

Fed up and ready for a new life, Lia flees to a distant village on the morning of her wedding. She settles in among the common folk, intrigued when two mysterious and handsome strangers arrive—and unaware that one is the jilted prince and the other an assassin sent to kill her. Deceptions swirl and Lia finds herself on the brink of unlocking perilous secrets—secrets that may unravel her world—even as she feels herself falling in love.

 

The Honor Code by Kwame Anthony Appiah

Screen Shot 2016-01-01 at 20.30.47

Screen Shot 2016-01-01 at 14.54.05

This is a non-fiction book which I studied for English last month and this month. It is about honour and moral revolutions and I found it fascinating and interesting as well as being written in an accessible and readable way. I nominated this book for BEST NON-FICTION in the Academy Book Awards 2015 which I am holding.

Long neglected as an engine of reform, honour strikingly emerges at the centre of our modern world in Kwame Anthony Appiah’s The Honor Code. Over the last few centuries, new democratic movements have led to the emancipation of women, slaves, and the oppressed. But what drove these modern changes, Appiah argues, was not imposing legislation from above, but harnessing the ancient power of honour from within. In gripping detail, he explores the end of the duel in aristocratic England, the tumultuous struggles over footbinding in nineteenth-century China, and the uprising of ordinary people against Atlantic slavery. Finally, he confronts the horrors of “honour killing” in contemporary Pakistan, where rape victims are murdered by their relatives. He argues that honour, used to justify the practice, can also be the most effective weapon against it. Intertwining philosophy and historical narrative, Appiah has created a remarkably dramatic work, which demonstrates that honour is the driving force in the struggle against man’s inhumanity to man.

Escape from Witchwood Hollow by Jordan Elizabeth

Screen Shot 2016-01-01 at 20.31.44

23351890

I DNF’d this book half way through. I received this as a free copy from the author. I did a full review on this book, which you can find here (I gave it three stars in that post but have since changed my mind).

Everyone in Arnn – a small farming town with more legends than residents – knows the story of Witchwood Hollow: if you venture into the whispering forest, the witch will trap your soul among the shadowed trees.

After losing her parents in a horrific terrorist attack on the Twin Towers, fifteen-year-old Honoria and her older brother escape New York City to Arnn. In the lure of that perpetual darkness, Honoria finds hope, when she should be afraid.

Perhaps the witch can reunite her with her lost parents. Awakening the witch, however, brings more than salvation from mourning, for Honoria discovers a past of missing children and broken promises.

To save the citizens of Arnn from becoming the witch’s next victims, she must find the truth behind the woman’s madness.

How deep into Witchwood Hollow does Honoria dare venture?

Winter by Marissa Meyer

Screen Shot 2015-07-13 at 23.08.19

Screen Shot 2016-01-01 at 14.57.37

This is the thrilling conclusion to the Lunar Chronicles series. Although Cress remains my favourite of the series, this is a close second. I loved the world building and the way the various romances developed. I nominated this book for BEST SCI-FI, this series for BEST SERIES and Cress, the third book in this series for BEST TYPOGRAPHY in the Academy Book Awards 2015 which I am holding (nominations still open). The summary below is of Cinder, the first book in the series.

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

White Hot Kiss, Stone Cold Touch, Every Last Breath by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Screen Shot 2016-01-01 at 20.30.47

I read this trilogy over the two days that I was sick and I thought they were quick, fast-paced and enjoyable, although nothing particularly special. The summary below is of White Hot Kiss only.

One kiss could be the last.

Seventeen-year-old Layla just wants to be normal. But with a kiss that kills anything with a soul, she’s anything but normal. Half demon, half gargoyle, Layla has abilities no one else possesses.

Raised among the Wardens—a race of gargoyles tasked with hunting demons and keeping humanity safe—Layla tries to fit in, but that means hiding her own dark side from those she loves the most. Especially Zayne, the swoon-worthy, incredibly gorgeous and completely off-limits Warden she’s crushed on since forever.

Then she meets Roth—a tattooed, sinfully hot demon who claims to know all her secrets. Layla knows she should stay away, but she’s not sure she wants to—especially when that whole no-kissing thing isn’t an issue, considering Roth has no soul.

But when Layla discovers she’s the reason for the violent demon uprising, trusting Roth could not only ruin her chances with Zayne… it could brand her a traitor to her family. Worse yet, it could become a one-way ticket to the end of the world.

Misty Falls by Joss Stirling

Screen Shot 2016-01-01 at 20.31.58

Screen Shot 2015-12-20 at 12.03.47

I enjoyed this book but some things about the characters annoyed me and I felt like the plot could have been executed better. This is the fourth book in the series, but it is also the first book in a new trilogy within the series and you don’t need to read the other trilogy first, so the summary below if for this book.

Misty is a one-girl disaster zone. Born with a Savant ‘gift’ that means she can never tell a lie, her compulsive truth-telling gets her into trouble wherever she goes.

So when she meets Alex: gorgeous, confident, and impossibly charming, Misty instantly resolves to keep her distance . . . Someone so perfect could never be hers, surely?

But a dark shadow has fallen across the Savant community. A serial killer is stalking young people who have these special mental powers. Soon one of them will be taken to the edge of death . . . and beyond.

Rook by Sharon Cameron

Screen Shot 2015-07-13 at 23.08.19

Screen Shot 2015-12-30 at 12.14.31

This is my number one read for 2015, so I obviously liked it a lot. I nominated it for BEST YOUNG ADULT NOVEL, I nominated the main character, Sophia, for BEST PROTAGONIST and I nominated it as the BEST OVERALL in the Academy Awards 2015 which I am holding.

History has a way of repeating itself. In the Sunken City that was once Paris, all who oppose the new revolution are being put to the blade. Except for those who disappear from their prison cells, a red-tipped rook feather left in their place. Is the mysterious Red Rook a savior of the innocent or a criminal?

Meanwhile, across the sea in the Commonwealth, Sophia Bellamy’s arranged marriage to the wealthy René Hasard is the last chance to save her family from ruin. But when the search for the Red Rook comes straight to her doorstep, Sophia discovers that her fiancé is not all he seems. Which is only fair, because neither is she.

As the Red Rook grows bolder and the stakes grow higher, Sophia and René find themselves locked in a tantalizing game of cat and mouse.

Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma

Screen Shot 2016-01-01 at 20.31.51

Screen Shot 2015-12-18 at 21.15.31

The main characters in this annoyed me a lot with the back-and-forth conflicts, but I did like the end.

She is pretty and talented – sweet sixteen and never been kissed. He is seventeen; gorgeous and on the brink of a bright future. And now they have fallen in love. But… they are brother and sister.

Seventeen-year-old Lochan and sixteen-year-old Maya have always felt more like friends than siblings. Together they have stepped in for their alcoholic, wayward mother to take care of their three younger siblings. As defacto parents to the little ones, Lochan and Maya have had to grow up fast. And the stress of their lives—and the way they understand each other so completely—has also also brought them closer than two siblings would ordinarily be. So close, in fact, that they have fallen in love. Their clandestine romance quickly blooms into deep, desperate love. They know their relationship is wrong and cannot possibly continue. And yet, they cannot stop what feels so incredibly right. As the novel careens toward an explosive and shocking finale, only one thing is certain: a love this devastating has no happy ending.


That’s it for this month’s wrap up. I will be doing a January TBR and a December Book Haul soon as well as the rest of my end-of-year and beginning-of-year posts. There are so many!!!! And I need to pack for holiday tomorrow!

Lots of Love and Happy Reading,

Keira x

 

 

 

 

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Cátia says:

    The end Forbidden destroyed me. It left me in pain. To be honest I knew that something like that would have to happen but I was heartbroken

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      The ending made me less annoyed with the characters which I liked. But yes, it wasn’t pleasant. I wasn’t destroyed because I didn’t like the book so much, though

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Cátia says:

        I did loved that book so it helped a little bit

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

