My Birthday | 2015

Screen Shot 2015-12-29 at 23.04.49

Hello everyone! Today (or yesterday, because I probably won’t be able to finish this before midnight) I had my birthday!!! I had a wonderful day.

So, my parents and my sister woke me up by singing Happy Birthday to me, which was nice of them and then I went through to the sitting room (pictures above). We opened presents and then had a slice of cake, which was homemade ginger and caramel cake which my mum had to make the recipe up for as there wasn’t one already (also pictured above). After lunch, which was welsh cakes, I went to the bookshop in town with my mum and bought some books with the money my grandparents sent me and she bought me some books too and then we came home.  My dad and sister did shopping elsewhere as my sister doesn’t like books and is still at an age where it would be unenjoyable (my mum and I spent about an hour in the shop). We had dinner- kebabs (with garlic for me, so my breath probably stinks), naan bread and cake. Then, my dad placed some pre-orders for me (a post will come later) and ordered four more books for me. Then, my mum gave me her old copies of some Shakespeares and spent awhile looking through them and reading some passages to me and now I’m here! All in all, I had a very enjoyable day.


IMG_0121

Now, on to the presents I received. I just want to say that I am super grateful for everything I got and I’m not trying to brag or anything, I just really like seeing these types of videos and reading these types of posts, so I thought I’d do one of my own. Quick warning- there are a lot of books. I really am going to need to reorganise my bookshelves. I also really need to tidy up my room but now I’m going off topic…

These first gifts are from family friends in the UK. They sent me a really eye shadow palette with really pretty colours and three mini notebooks. Two of them are lined- the pink one, which says ‘thinky thoughts’ and the purple one which says ‘I love lists’, which I do- and one of them is plain- the red one which says ‘YAY!’ on it.

Now, these next three gifts are from my paternal grandparents. I picked out both my Christmas and birthday gifts from them although I didn’t know what I was getting for each celebration. I got The Sorcerer to the Crown by Zen Cho and Night Owls by Jenn Bennett. I also received a gorgeous top which is really hard to see here, but it has a cut out section in the back which is a design thing and is really beautiful but means I can’t wear it to school. It is a gorgeous maroon colour too, which is a school colour.

These next gifts are from my maternal grandparents. They actually only bought me two of the books and then the money but I went to the bookshop as I said previously and used that money to buy two other books. So, the books that they bought me are Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone: The Illustrated Edition by J. K. Rowling and Jim Kay (which is gorgeous) as well as The School for Unusual Girls by Kathleen Baldwin. Then, with the twenty euros they gave me (and a few euros of my mums) I bought Persuasion by Jane Austen and Das dunkle Prophezeiung des Pan von Sandra Regnier (which is german).

Now moving on to gifts from my Aunt and Uncle on my mothers side, I am actually going to have split this into two or three sections because they were so super generous. The first thing they bought me is this gorgeous bookmark. It is the ‘Summer Songbirds’ bookmark from Peter Pauper Press and the quote on it says ‘If you have a garden and a library, you have everything you need’-Marcus Tullius Cicero. Whilst I don’t really garden, I do love flowers, especially roses. They also bought me two basic nail files and a gorgeous, gorgeous book-shaped box thing. You know those Russian dolls which open up and there is another doll inside and they keep getting smaller and smaller? Well I got one of those, except they are designed to look like books. They have gorgeous bookish spines and the sides look like pages and they have gorgeous peacocks on the fronts. They are beautiful, don’t you think. I mean, the picture is a bit small, but I think you can see how gorgeous they are.

So then my Aunt and Uncle also bought me a lot of books. They bought Everything Leads to You by Nina LaCour, The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson, Legacy of Kings by Eleanor Herman, The Mermaid’s Sister by Carrie Anne Noble, The Once and Future King by T. H. White and A Midsummer Night’s Dream by William Shakespeare.

If you’ve read quite a few of my blog post you may know that I have a slight obsession with chocolate, to the point where it is like a necessity in my life, so my mum got be this little piggy bank tin thing that says Emergency Chocolate Fund on the side and she put chocolate coins in it, which I have already eaten…

Also from my parents, I got a gorgeous new Kindle cover, a see-through case for my new iPhone that was a joint Birthday and Christmas present and some amazingly good quality new headphones. The Kindle cover I got off of amazon and it is called ‘Circulation’. I can’t remember the company (it might’ve been caseable or something like that) but they do a lot of different, really gorgeous designs if you are interested.

So my mum also bought me a toiletry bag because I always have to borrow one of hers. One side says ‘Be Yourself and’ and the other side says ‘Feel Beautiful’, which is nice. Inside the bag I got a few beauty goods as well- I got a foundation tester and a perfume tester but more excitingly (and more usable for me too) I got a Maybelline Mascara and two eyeliner pens– one dark blue-green and the other black. My mum also bought me a beautiful bracelet with a turquoise stone (that you can’t really see in the picture) which she bought because the packaging thing said ‘December: Confident and Free-loving’. My parents and my sister then also bought me a snood (you know, the headscarf things that cover your nose for when you go skiing). Is it only my family who call them snoods or is that an actual thing?

When my mum and I went into town to the bookshop she bought me two books- Rubinrot von Kerstin Gier (Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier) and A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms by George R.R. Martin, which takes place a century before A Game of Thrones.

These are the books that I ordered off of amazon today that my dad bought me and with the exception of Stormdancer by Jay Kristoff (which I bought on my Kindle) they haven’t arrived yet, obviously, but should be in the next few days. In addition to Stormdancer, I also bought Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch, Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Chilren: The Graphic Novel by Ransom Riggs and Cassandra Jean as well as A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston.

When my mum and I were in the bookshop, I saw a copy of Much Ado About Nothing and said I should get it because I was studying it this year and she said I could have her copies (and write in them with pencil, I did ask). So I have her copy of Much Ado About Nothing, As You Like It, Macbeth and Hamlet by William Shakespeare.


Okay, so that is it for the celebratory posts!! I will be mentioning what my paternal cousins get me when it comes in the post. I will also be doing a pre-order list post as well as a December book haul where I talk about all of the books I have got in December (not just for my birthday and christmas) in a bit more detail, so expect that soon! There will also be a lot more #2015herecomes2016 posts in the next few days, as well (which is the tag all of my end of year posts are under, if you didn’t know).

Before I go, I just wanted to mention this really awesome app that I have recently discovered a new app called Colorify and I absolutely love it. Aren’t the pictures I’ve made pretty?!

That’s it for this post. Another 1500+ post!!!! I’ll talk to you guys again soon. Bye!! Keira x.

 

 

 

39 Comments Add yours

  1. happyalexx says:

    Happy belated birthday 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Thank you!!!

      Like

  2. Marilyn says:

    Happy Belated birthday. Have a great year. You certainly received a lot of nice presents. Enjoy all of the gifts. Wishing you and yours a Happy,healthy New Year full of blessings.
    Marilyn

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Thank you so much! Have a wonderful new year yourself.

      Like

  3. Happy birthday!! Hope you had a great one!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Thank you. I did.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Kelly @ Stellar Scrutiny says:

    Aww, happy birthday! I’m super jealous of your beautiful kindle cover! ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Thank you. It’s gorgeous, isn’t it!!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Dziey says:

    Wow! Hally belated belated bday!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dziey says:

      Happy*

      Like

    2. Keira says:

      Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Dziey says:

        You’re welcome 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  6. LyfWithEm says:

    You got some lovely presents and sound like you had a good day! Happy late birthday!!x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Thank you! I did have a good day!!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. simplyme says:

    Happy birthday, hope you had a great day! Your presents look amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Happy Birthday!!! (Sorry for being late) You got some really great presents! I really enjoyed Everything Leads to You, it’s such a sweet book. Rubinrot is nice too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Thank you! I hope I love them!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. londonblind says:

    I really enjoyed reading this, and I can’t wait yo see what you think of some of the books! Please let us know; my book list is short at the moment 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      I definitely will let you know! That’s a shame!!! I do a lot of things to do with books on my blog so if you want some recommendations let me know!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. londonblind says:

        I could really do with some suggestions, if it’s not too much trouble 🙂 x

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Keira says:

          Not at all 🙂 what kind of books do you like? Genre? YA or Adult?

          Liked by 1 person

          1. londonblind says:

            I’m a teenager, but I like young daily books. Dystopia I quite enjoy 😀

            Liked by 1 person

            1. Keira says:

              YA books are aimed at teens 😀 okay…. Is it okay if I do a post on this??

              Liked by 1 person

            2. Keira says:

              Okie!! I’ll do that now and let you know!!

              Liked by 1 person

            3. londonblind says:

              Awesome – thank you so much XX

              Liked by 1 person

            4. Keira says:

              Not problem, it’s a pleasure!

              Liked by 1 person

            5. Keira says:

              No problem.

              Liked by 1 person

  10. Late happy birthday! It looks like you got some great gifts 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  11. xclaudiasthoughtsx says:

    HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAAAAY

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  12. HAPPY BIRTHDAY KEIRAA!!!
    I swear it was on my calendar, but I had a trip yesterday and I only just remembered and dashed here.
    I hope this year is going to be filled with sweet surprises and success, because you honestly deserve all of it. You are honestly one of the sweetest and kindest bloggers I have met, and I hope we’ll always stay blogger friends 🙂
    Oh and congrats on all the presents, especially the books, they look AMAZING!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Aww thank you so, so much!!!!!!! I hope you will have a wonderful year as well.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

